How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

A place to discuss Joomla! translation matters.

Moderator: infograf768

Locked
User avatar
sarves
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sarves » Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:58 am

Last edited by sarves on Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sarves (Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran)
Member of the Tamil (Sri Lanka) Joomla Translation Team
Forge : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/j_l10n_ta_lk/
Community site : http://joomla.tamil-it.org

 
User avatar
sarves
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sarves » Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:04 am

Sarves (Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran)
Member of the Tamil (Sri Lanka) Joomla Translation Team
Forge : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/j_l10n_ta_lk/
Community site : http://joomla.tamil-it.org

smsimonk
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:33 pm

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by smsimonk » Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:59 pm

I am really searching the web for more than 5 hours to find solution to my question.
I have installed a new Joomla 1.5.9 site,. I wanted to add articles in Tamil. While writing the article I am able to type in Tamil using the unicode concept. But while saving it makes it as question marks like this ????????????????. What to do where I am making the mistake. What needs to be set right?

PLEASE HELP ME!

User avatar
sarves
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sarves » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:57 am

smsimonk wrote:I am really searching the web for more than 5 hours to find solution to my question.
I have installed a new Joomla 1.5.9 site,. I wanted to add articles in Tamil. While writing the article I am able to type in Tamil using the unicode concept. But while saving it makes it as question marks like this ????????????????. What to do where I am making the mistake. What needs to be set right?
It seems there is a problem in your database. You may need to change the collation of your table. Do you use MySQL? Are you familiar with phpMyAdmin? If so please have a look on this video. This tells about solution.

http://www.[youtube].com/watch?v=E28nYtXawuQ&fmt=18
Thank you Madharasan for this video.

Sarves
Sarves (Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran)
Member of the Tamil (Sri Lanka) Joomla Translation Team
Forge : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/j_l10n_ta_lk/
Community site : http://joomla.tamil-it.org

smsimonk
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:33 pm

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by smsimonk » Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:21 pm

Thanks Sarvas.
I got a clue from http://amiworks.co.in/talk/akindicplugi ... nd-joomla/ also.

I am writing below steps if anyone else also have similar problem.

1. The problem: I installed Joomla for website development and to type/see content in Tamil. Although Tamil characters were appearing while typing but was getting converted to ‘????’ after saving.

2. Root cause: The data was not getting stored properly in the content tables in database at the time of save.

3. Steps to resolve:

a. Access database collation using using phpMyAdmin
b. Select ‘Character Sets and Collations’
c. Select ‘Databses’
d. Click on your database where all the website information is getting stored
e. Under ‘Structure’ tab, ‘jos_content’ table will appear. Open the table by clicking on button ’structure’.
f. Change all parameters to utf8_general_ci. All these collations were earlier had latin1_swedish_ci.

Regards
Simon

User avatar
sarves
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sarves » Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:42 pm

T
smsimonk wrote: I got a clue from http://amiworks.co.in/talk/akindicplugi ... nd-joomla/ also.

I am writing below steps if anyone else also have similar problem.
Great Simon, Many thanks to you.

Sarves
Sarves (Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran)
Member of the Tamil (Sri Lanka) Joomla Translation Team
Forge : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/j_l10n_ta_lk/
Community site : http://joomla.tamil-it.org

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18987
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by infograf768 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:37 pm

smsimonk wrote:Thanks Sarvas.
I got a clue from http://amiworks.co.in/talk/akindicplugi ... nd-joomla/ also.

I am writing below steps if anyone else also have similar problem.

1. The problem: I installed Joomla for website development and to type/see content in Tamil. Although Tamil characters were appearing while typing but was getting converted to ‘????’ after saving.

2. Root cause: The data was not getting stored properly in the content tables in database at the time of save.

3. Steps to resolve:

a. Access database collation using using phpMyAdmin
b. Select ‘Character Sets and Collations’
c. Select ‘Databses’
d. Click on your database where all the website information is getting stored
e. Under ‘Structure’ tab, ‘jos_content’ table will appear. Open the table by clicking on button ’structure’.
f. Change all parameters to utf8_general_ci. All these collations were earlier had latin1_swedish_ci.

Regards
Simon
It is likely that other tables AND their fields are not correctly collated too, which would cause further problems.
I suggest you correct them too.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

sathiyaseelan8
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 7:31 am

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sathiyaseelan8 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:53 am

smsimonk wrote:Thanks Sarvas.
I got a clue from http://amiworks.co.in/talk/akindicplugi ... nd-joomla/ also.

I am writing below steps if anyone else also have similar problem.

1. The problem: I installed Joomla for website development and to type/see content in Tamil. Although Tamil characters were appearing while typing but was getting converted to ‘????’ after saving.

2. Root cause: The data was not getting stored properly in the content tables in database at the time of save.

3. Steps to resolve:

a. Access database collation using using phpMyAdmin
b. Select ‘Character Sets and Collations’
c. Select ‘Databses’
d. Click on your database where all the website information is getting stored
e. Under ‘Structure’ tab, ‘jos_content’ table will appear. Open the table by clicking on button ’structure’.
f. Change all parameters to utf8_general_ci. All these collations were earlier had latin1_swedish_ci.

Regards
Simon
hi.. i am new to joomla.. i am creating a newsportal where can upload news in english and tamil.
i had some problem to type news in tamil. i have tried as how you writen above. but still i cant create an article using tamil characters in joomla.
i have downloaded a tamil software called azhagi at http://www.azhagi.com. i used this sofware and created an article in tamil. then i copy and paste it in joomla 'create new article'. afta i saved and published it on front page. its not shows the article in tamil. its showing in some symbols,
can anyone help me???

User avatar
sarves
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Sri Lanka
Contact:

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by sarves » Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:34 am

sathiyaseelan8 wrote: hi.. i am new to joomla.. i am creating a newsportal where can upload news in english and tamil.
i had some problem to type news in tamil. i have tried as how you writen above. but still i cant create an article using tamil characters in joomla.
i have downloaded a tamil software called azhagi at http://www.azhagi.com. i used this sofware and created an article in tamil. then i copy and paste it in joomla 'create new article'. afta i saved and published it on front page. its not shows the article in tamil. its showing in some symbols,
can anyone help me???
Dear Sathiyaseelan,

Please make sure that you are using Unicode
Also make sire that Collation of the database and table are set to utf.
If you ensured these then you should be able to use Tamil in Joomla! without any issues.

Regardsing Azhagi, I am not sure what type of encoding does it use. If it provides TAB/TAM or Thibas or any other encoding, of course you cant see the pages correctly.

Let us know if you have any issues.

Sarves
Sarves (Kengatharaiyer Sarveswaran)
Member of the Tamil (Sri Lanka) Joomla Translation Team
Forge : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/j_l10n_ta_lk/
Community site : http://joomla.tamil-it.org

needhelpp
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:20 pm

Re: How to type in Tamil (In Unicode)

Post by needhelpp » Sat Oct 02, 2010 3:12 pm

I am a newbie to joomla..
Forgive me if my question is wrong.
You people have told to edit the article in unicode for tamil language..
How should i create the tamil language in unicode other than azhagi sofware..
pls help me..
I've create articles in tamil..
i've installed 'ta-LK' language. but i dont know how to work withm.. Pls help me soon. :(

 

Locked

Return to “Translations”