Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

How to support more than one language on your site.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:07 pm

Hi
translatum.gr wrote: I do not see much progress on the xliff front. Has it been dropped?
No but this is really a diffuclt one. We have scheduled this for 2.0 not for 1.8. And even if we are implementing it we do not have decided how and with which technique.
th3d wrote: Frontend translation would be quite useful thing, so it would be easy to build community that would have ability to translate completly page. Now can we use dirty hacks to bring (backend) component to frontend.
?? This already existis in 1.7.

Frontend translation for all contents is existing already a while.

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

th3d
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:53 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by th3d » Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:58 pm

?? This already existis in 1.7.

Frontend translation for all contents is existing already a while.
It is maybe not for this topic, but how to enable frontend translation? I saw checkbox to enable it, but on frontend ... how to.. ???

tnx,

Dean

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:18 pm

It is always enabled - just change to the language you want to translate and then edit the content.

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

buddhaboa
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by buddhaboa » Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:00 pm

Is there a rough ETA on 1.8?  The lack of metadata translation is killing my site.  The only way I can see to get it working (having different meta description and meta keywords on each article) is to keep seperate databases for each langauge - which takes away the whole multilingual thing  ???

Even a rough ETA would be good to know.  It will help me decide if I need to seperate all content into seperate databases.


Cheers

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:49 am

There is already a workaround described in the JoomFish site/wiki ?!?

You just add those meta data vars to your language files and you are fine, so what's the problem?

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

buddhaboa
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by buddhaboa » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:06 am

Hello Akede,

Thank you for the tip on where to look.  I read the http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/projects.joomfish/wiki
but I did not see anything about translating meta data.  I searched all the wiki pages for "meta" but only found one reference and that was for encoding (written by Jim DeLaHunt).

I will continue to search for the solution.  Adding to the lanague file would be an ideal temporary solution and then I can really start to optimise content so it looks natural in German and French search results  :P

Cheers

User avatar
LocaLizeR
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:44 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by LocaLizeR » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:13 am

I noticed that a filter appears when I translate core elements (modules, menus etc.). However, this filter disappears when I select non core elements, but it is so missing, when I have hundreds of items. ??? It is so difficult to find the desired one.

Would it be possible to implement it in the next version?
Jozsef Tamas Herczeg // Member of the Hungarian Joomla Translation Team :: Follow me on Twitter: @jtherczeg
:: "Do not give fish to the hungry man teach him how to fish instead" ::

User avatar
LocaLizeR
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:44 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by LocaLizeR » Sat Sep 23, 2006 9:31 am

I noticed when a user submits a content item in one of the languages of a multilingual site, JoomFish takes it as a translated one in the back-end. By my mind it would be better to mark such an item as not translated. What do you think of it?
Jozsef Tamas Herczeg // Member of the Hungarian Joomla Translation Team :: Follow me on Twitter: @jtherczeg
:: "Do not give fish to the hungry man teach him how to fish instead" ::

User avatar
LocaLizeR
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:44 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by LocaLizeR » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:10 am

One more suggestion from me :) I noticed that the unpublished content items are visible in the Translation lists in the back-end. Would it be possible to hide them? It would be advisable, because they may be incomplete items what the other translators should not see.
Jozsef Tamas Herczeg // Member of the Hungarian Joomla Translation Team :: Follow me on Twitter: @jtherczeg
:: "Do not give fish to the hungry man teach him how to fish instead" ::

dadoj
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:51 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by dadoj » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:08 pm

Hello guys,

I have a simple suggestion for site name translation.
It is stored in $mosConfig_sitename, which is set in the configurations.php.

My suggestion is -> alter the languages table, extend by column "sitename", extend the class attached to it. Extend the admin component to allow editing of this column.
Then, in the systembot, when looping through active languages re-set the $mosConfig_sitename to active language->sitename, if it is not empty.

I've made it myself, but it's more like "proof-of-concept" than good code. You guys surely know better where to place the code, but I this the approach itself is quite suitable.

I would love to see this feature in the next release, so that I don't have to code it again :)
Thanx.
J.

intexdesign
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:48 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by intexdesign » Sun Oct 22, 2006 1:49 pm

Hi

Not sure when you're planning a release for 1.8 but I'd really appreciate if the bug identified here was resolved...

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,95016.0.html

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,73198.0.html

Basically the front end log in does not seem to be working with Joom!Fish.

TIA
Paul

jflash
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by jflash » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:18 pm

My little idea:
Possibillity to make two flagpictures for one language: Active-language picture and not-active language picture. If english language is active, then english flag is darker and other language flags is mat or smth.

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:06 pm

If you ask me you should solve this problem with the CSS.

The active language is marked with a class so it should be easy to darken the other flags. Honest I'm even thinking about removing the relationship between the flag and the configuration totally and solve it purely based on the CSS. This would then result in the fact that we just only access a certain div area and this defines the flag inside.

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:38 am

Hi all,

ok short update on the status.

1.) the content element installer is done and checked into the new SVN (joomlacode)
2.) DB changes for meta tag translations are prepared and this is the next thing I'm working on
3.) We implemented a orphan management
4.) We work on a translation overview, basically similar and a bit more of what per is asking
5.) A kind of frontend translation overview is also on the list (specialized for content items and publishers)
6.) Documentation: We are working on some more tutorials which should make the start more easy

@translatum.gr - XLIFF is a complicated topic, could you directly get in touch with me about it plz

@th3d: Frontend translation for content is already implemented

Anything I missed?

Cheers

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

1llusion
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 4:11 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by 1llusion » Tue May 08, 2007 7:14 pm

Maybe a bit late and maybe it is already implemented.

I work with 2 types of goods.
Goods in stock, and goods that need to be ordered.

When I use the option do not show goods that are out of stock.
Very handy for items that have long delivery time and need to be ordered in bulk together with other goods. Items that are out off stock disapear.
All my items i sell on order dissapear as well (Not the intention)

When I use the option Do show goods that are out of stock, the goods that can't be ordered will still be available for purchase.
Only with a remark that the object is out off stock.

What I would like to see is an extra option per product Show if out off stock.
This way I can control if an object that is out off stock will be shown or not.

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Wed May 09, 2007 1:11 am

1llusion, this post is related to a different component or I'm wrong? You are talking about a shop here not about the multilingual system, right?
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

User avatar
joseph21
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:39 am

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by joseph21 » Wed May 09, 2007 2:40 am

Hello,

It's been a while I havent' used Joomfish for the reason that it added some "/" back slashes to the registration confirmation code and to some other mods (e.g. joomla core's who online), before an old version of Joomfish 4-6 months ago.  :P

Anyway here's my wish list. I'm not sure whether this has been implemented or not.
1. Joomfish will automatically translate to the website language where the country the user currently is accessing our website. For example, if the user is accessing out website from Korea, then our website will automatically translated to Korean language if only Korean language is available or have been translated. It can also be a good idea if Joomfish detects the language of windows the user is using.

Thanks.

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Wed May 09, 2007 5:31 am

joseph21 wrote: Anyway here's my wish list. I'm not sure whether this has been implemented or not.
1. Joomfish will automatically translate to the website language where the country the user currently is accessing our website. For example, if the user is accessing out website from Korea, then our website will automatically translated to Korean language if only Korean language is available or have been translated. It can also be a good idea if Joomfish detects the language of windows the user is using.

Thanks.
joseph21 wrote:
Hi Joseph,

I'm sorry to tell you that Joom!Fish never will implement this feature.

The reason is that any automatic translation is just not the quality you like to have a translation in. If you want to achieve that there are several modules which support a simple link to translate your site via google or other automatic translation services.

Joom!Fish however already detects the language the browser of your visitor is configured in and if the site is configured to support that language it is used right away. What ever language the user selects later is stored in a cookie for future reference.

I hope I got your points right if not you may clarify your idea a bit more

Thanks

Alex
It's been a while I havent' used Joomfish for the reason that it added some "/" back slashes to the registration confirmation code and to some other mods (e.g. joomla core's who online), before an old version of Joomfish 4-6 months ago.  :P

Anyway here's my wish list. I'm not sure whether this has been implemented or not.
1. Joomfish will automatically translate to the website language where the country the user currently is accessing our website. For example, if the user is accessing out website from Korea, then our website will automatically translated to Korean language if only Korean language is available or have been translated. It can also be a good idea if Joomfish detects the language of windows the user is using.

Thanks.
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

MastahM
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:23 am

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by MastahM » Thu May 10, 2007 8:08 am

th3d wrote: Frontend translation would be quite useful thing, so it would be easy to build community that would have ability to translate completly page. Now can we use dirty hacks to bring (backend) component to frontend.
?? This already existis in 1.7.

Frontend translation for all contents is existing already a while.

Alex
[/quote]

But I myself (and I presume some other people too) have had major problems with it.
I understood that a translation cannot actually be CREATED on the frontend, only edited (so the first translation has to be made from the backend). And the frontend translation doesn't always work - I mean, the "save" button doesn't really do anything but exit (just like the "cancel" button does).

An enhanced/fixed frontend translation needed probably?

innuend0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:57 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by innuend0 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:57 pm

I've implemented a kind of import/export tool for joomfish 1.7 translations contents, that runs on Joomla 1.0.11

The tool is able to export all texts that are either not already translated or either outdated into a separate table of the database. This separate table will then be given to an external company that makes the translations for us.

The tool is able to import/export texts of both joomfish (jf_content table) and components language files (files like 'german.php' for example)

Our company is currently validating the tool, and then I'll be able to give it to the open source comunity, that is, to Joomfish developers.

Please consider that in all the cases, it's only an internal tool for my company and doesn't pretend to be a general tool for all situations; but I'm sure someone will be able to take my job and makes something better with it. Isn't that the aim of open-source ?  :-*

ivo.apostolov
I've been banned!
Posts: 1868
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:33 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by ivo.apostolov » Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:08 pm

Can you share it?

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:25 pm

innuend0 wrote: I've implemented a kind of import/export tool for joomfish 1.7 translations contents, that runs on Joomla 1.0.11

The tool is able to export all texts that are either not already translated or either outdated into a separate table of the database. This separate table will then be given to an external company that makes the translations for us.

The tool is able to import/export texts of both joomfish (jf_content table) and components language files (files like 'german.php' for example)

Our company is currently validating the tool, and then I'll be able to give it to the open source comunity, that is, to Joomfish developers.

Please consider that in all the cases, it's only an internal tool for my company and doesn't pretend to be a general tool for all situations; but I'm sure someone will be able to take my job and makes something better with it. Isn't that the aim of open-source ?  :-*
Hi,

this would be excellent. Don't worry we could help you to make it water proof :) - which then is also useful for your company.

We are experimenting with a kind of plugin technique for the fish, which in this case would allow you to plugin such a tool easily.

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

innuend0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:57 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by innuend0 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:42 pm

Our company is currently validating the tool, and then I'll be able to give it to the open source comunity, that is, to Joomfish developers.
Hi everybody !
I'm back again with my tool.


After a very long time, I'm on the road again. My company doesn't needed the tool quickly, so my project was much delayed; but we will test it soon and it will be released at the latest in end April !

Please take into consideration that the tool is now working else : It's a .NET application coupled with a PHP script that runs on the server. The .NET application has a direct access to the Joomla mysql database via ODBC.

The interchange format is an Access database with contains all the text that needs to be translated.

So, my project was a little bit changed but I'm sure it could be helpful.

ivo.apostolov
I've been banned!
Posts: 1868
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:33 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by ivo.apostolov » Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:44 pm

Waiting to see it :)

User avatar
akede
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1636
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:15 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by akede » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:53 am

Hi,

Yes it would be cool if you could get in touch with us. May be best on the http://www.joomfish.net/forum

Alex
Joom!Fish 2.0 your free multilingual solution for Joomla! 1.5 i - http://www.joomfish.net - follow us on twitter @joomfish
Meet us at J and Beyond, 30.05 - 1.06.10, Wiesbaden, Germany - http://jandbeyond.org

innuend0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:57 pm

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by innuend0 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:41 pm

Hi everybody !


My project was again much delayed, but at last it is here !!

The software still have missing features but works well on a Joomla 1.0.15 with Joomfish 1.7

As Joomfish evolved I'm currently asking myself if such a software is still useful ? Are there any better alternative now ? Could someone point me to such existing functionality for Joomfish ?

Furthermore, i have now much more experience in the translation process and i can say that the translators don't like to receive translations as an access database with HTML-code...

Alex ? Mr. apostolov ?
Are you still interested in ?

JimDeLaHunt
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 11:12 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Feature planning for Joom!Fish 1.8

Post by JimDeLaHunt » Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:29 pm

Innuend0:

I'm a bit out of touch with your project and with the current Joom!Fish, but I'll make two observations:

1. Joomla 1.0.x has pretty much reached the end of its life. If you want a tool to be useful for current Joomla! sites, aim at Joomla! 1.5 (and 1.6, which is on the horizon).

2. In looking at multilingual sites on Joomla!, I'm keeping a careful eye on Nooku (http://nooku.org). It isn't freely available yet, and I haven't exercised it, but it looks promising.

Hope this is helpful,
Jim DeLaHunt, multilingual website consultant (jdlh.com), Vancouver, Canada. http://blog.jdlh.com


Locked

Return to “Joom!Fish and Multilingual Sites”