Using Joomla + SMF with JACLPlus

Discuss the integration of SMF here.
JNewton
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Using Joomla + SMF with JACLPlus

Post by JNewton » Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:59 pm

I'm relatively new to the Joomla world and I must say I'm impressed with what I see.

Anyway, on to my question: I need to establish various user levels for a community site I'm developing.  JACLPlus offers me exactly what I need.  Will the modified Joomla site "mesh" with SMF and either of the bridges mentioned in the forum?

cronlin
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Using Joomla + SMF with JACLPlus

Post by cronlin » Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:28 pm

I'm using smf 1.1.1, joomla 1.0.11, and JACL all integrated

first, I use wolverine's bridge from joomlahacks - I use the forums for all my registrations - I also edited a file to make all new registrations automatically authors and I had to edit one of the jsmf files to do that, then when I added JACL it didn't have any kind of a difference other than what it was supposed to do

my only problem really came about from my SEF component, so be careful when you go to add those as it can cause issues depending on your settings in jsmf
As soon as you make something idiot proof, Nature makes better idiots!!!

If you want to know what "coulda", "shoulda", and "woulda" gone wrong, send it my way! I have a natural ability of mucking things up!

JNewton
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by JNewton » Mon Apr 02, 2007 3:36 pm

Thank you for the reply.  I've been testing JACLPlus and I've not been able to get it to do what I think it should do.  Quite apparently, I'm not doing something correctly.  Anyway, I'm going to give Community Builder a shot.  I've seen that SMF integrates with Joomla via the Wolverine Bridge.