Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Discuss the integration of SMF here.
sinnsucher
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:47 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by sinnsucher » Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:10 pm

hi,
after finally getting my joomla+smf+coppermine up, i recognized that smf and coppermine use different smiley-sets. this is no issue of importance - that's what i thought. but my users were upset. so i decided to change the code in the smilies.inc.php of coppermine (it is in the include-directory) so that it gets the infos on smileys from the same db-table as smf does.

the solution is really really quick and dirty right now but it is better than nothing. right now it only works with the classic smiley-set. having support for all sets would mean to edit the bridge and i did not have the time to get into it.

installation:
1. rename the attached file to smilies.inc.php as i was not allowed to upload a file with the extension .php
2. backup your original smilies.inc.php
3. replace your smilies.inc.php with the one you downloaded and renamed.

my next step will be to include the smf-smileys into joomla, so i can use them in news etc. as well. but this will take a few days as i do not have much time for it right now.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

 
General_Sun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:49 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by General_Sun » Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:18 am

Hi please help, I got the same error as a poster before, he was never answered.
I tried to access Coppermine and got this error:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function cache_get_data() in /usr/home/web/*****/gallery/bridge/smf.inc.php(127) : eval()'d code on line 10

Did I do something wrong? Maybe the path of smf installation directory is wrong?

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:50 am

What is the path of your coppermine installation and your SMF installation?

General_Sun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:49 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by General_Sun » Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:55 am

My coppermine installation is public_html/gallery smf is public_html/forums joomla is public_html/

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:52 pm

In coppermine, does the bridge/smf.inc.php file have this line near the top?

Code: Select all

$path = '../forums';

themann
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:48 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by themann » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:54 pm

Preface: I'm a noob when it comes to setting these up and dealing w/ php.

I've run through all of the steps and everything looks good regarding Coppermine 1.3.5 and SMF, BUT Joomla just give a blank homepage. (A problem I ran into testing Coppermine 1.4 also)  Please give me any pointers here.

Problem: Joomla home comes up blank.

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:05 pm

Lots of possibilities here.  I run in to that when I try to run the discussbot with Orstio's bridge.  Is that the bridge you are using?  Did you make the adjustments necessary for Joomla to the MOS_SMF.php file?

themann
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:48 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by themann » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:16 pm

I changed the following on the smf.inc.php for Coppermine:

// Set this to the location of your Settings file:
$path = '../forums';

The paths are:

Joomla
root

SMF
root/forums

Comppermine
root/gallery

I don't see MOS_SMF.php anywhere.

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:27 pm

What version of the Joomla/SMF bridge are you using?  MOS_SMF.php is a file that is part of Orstio's bridge (I misstated earlier and called it MOS-SMF.php), the one named MOS_SMF_BRIDGEv3.19a_SMF1.1b3.zip.

If you are using that one, there's a bit of a hack you need to do to make it compatible with Joomla.  Open up the package file that is in the step 1 directory of the bridge - smf_mambo3.1.tar.gz.  Unzip this and you should see the MOS_SMF.php file.  Edit this as stated in the readme post:
In MOS_SMF.php, we need to end the old Joomla session.  Because the name of the session cookie changed in Joomla, we need to change the code a bit:

Find:

Code: Select all

					setcookie ("sessioncookie","",-3600, "/" );
Replace with:

Code: Select all

				    $sessionCookieName = md5( 'site'.$GLOBALS['mosConfig_live_site'] );
					setcookie ($sessionCookieName,"",-3600, "/" );
NOTE: This needs to be changed in TWO places in the MOS_SMF.php file.
This will be changed in the release for Joomla-SMF bridge.
That quote is from this post:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community ... ic=25718.0

I highly recommend reading that post to make sure your bridge installation is correct - don't skip anything!
Last edited by chadness on Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:05 pm

themann wrote: Problem: Joomla home comes up blank.
Check in your Joomla administration if Gzip compression is turned off
Check in your Joomla administration whether your absolute path is set correct. [Step 2]
Check in your Joomla administration if your menulink is added correctly and is pointing to the right component

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:47 pm

I have an issue with this, I have read through this forum a couple times but couldnt find the answer.

Ok, This is probably my fault but a little confused as to why it happened.

I finished the integration of coppermine, joomla 1.0.3 and smf 1.05

All worked fine untill I tried installing community builder. (I did back up my database before this)

after I installed CB, I could no longer log in using the Mambo_SMF Login module (yeah, I am using bridged connection with wrapper)

I login like normal and it sends me to the wrapped smf login, which also wont let me login.. it just does nothing.

So, I proceeded to uninstall community builder, restored my database and I still have the same problem? Whats up with that?

So, I reinstalled the SMF bridge and the other component and the login module... still no results, can anyone help with this usse?


Also, is there a way to integrate community builder in with this integration?

mosey
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by mosey » Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:18 pm

I heard Community Builder has its own login system...
Joomla site in development...
Meanwhile Zetahelp.net continues...

(Unavailable end of Sept/start of Oct)

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:21 pm

I didnt even install the CB login system, just the component. This site isnt even active yet, no users were on it except me. I also noticed the SMF forum component allowed integratinging into CB, I had that button checked...............

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:34 pm

I haven't done this myself, but I would suspect, if CB changes the login system, you would need to install it before the bridge.  Have you tried reinstalling the bridge?

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:00 pm

If you would read my previous post above, I mentiond everything that I did word for word, step by step without leaving anything out.

User avatar
chadness
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by chadness » Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:07 pm

Sorry, I must have missed that the first read through.

I don't know what Community Builder changes, but it might have changed some files as well as the database.  The best I can think to do is similar to any other login problems.  Even though you already reinstalled the bridge components, try uninstalling and reinstalling the package from Step 1 of the bridge install, then re-upload the patched MOS_SMF.php.  That seems to fix all sorts of issues.  Double check that the SMF main menu item is there and is pointing to the component correctly, and that you don't have more than one link.  Go in to the login module and save its settings, even if you haven't changed anything.

Good luck....

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:50 am

Yeah. It didn't work.

I just deleted the entire site and database. I'll start over. This time with community builder installed first. Hope all goes well. If this attempt works, ill retest both ways to see if it was dependent on order of install.

Would be interesting to actually get some more detailed documentation written up about this, maybe setup a package with joomla, smf and coppermine already zipped up with smf and cpg in the com directory, add the package to the smf package directory, pre-loaded CB and do the script editing. I could possibly even submit the documentation and the package to the CB beta test team to see if we can get some more out of this such as a simpler fresh install and with better CB integration.

Besides all of that. Has anyone tested this integration of Joomla, Coppermine & SMF with MyPMSII or MyPMS Pro?

User avatar
brother7
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:23 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by brother7 » Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:20 am

I'm trying to follow the instructions.  Got SMF-Joomla integration working.  My problem is with Coppermine.

1. I downloaded the attached com_wrapper.zip, but when I tried to install, it failed with error "ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package."  I'm using Joomla 1.0.3, in case that matters.

2. I'm having problems with CPG always showing that I'm logged out.  I'm trying to follow the instructions found at http://www.simplemachines.org/community ... opic=28318 but I'm unsure exactly where I should paste the code into wrapper.php  I'm using CPG 1.3.5 and wrapper.php has a modification date of 9/15/2005.  Can someone tell me what the surrounding lines should be in wrapper.php so that I can paste the code in the right place?

User avatar
kai920
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by kai920 » Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:30 am

Has anyone used this guide with the bridge from Joomlahacks.com?

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:24 am

brother7 wrote: I'm trying to follow the instructions.  Got SMF-Joomla integration working.  My problem is with Coppermine.

1. I downloaded the attached com_wrapper.zip, but when I tried to install, it failed with error "ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package."  I'm using Joomla 1.0.3, in case that matters.
Ok, I'm guessing you don't have much experience with manually installing things, you could have learned this with other cms's such as phpnuke... You need to FTP into your webhosting account for your website and CD to your joomla directory, then to your components directory and replace the files there by dragging your com_wrapper folder that is inside the zip folder you downloaded. Just Overwrite the files when it asks.

For finding where to put the code, just run a search in whatever text editor your using.

User avatar
brother7
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:23 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by brother7 » Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:43 am

Thanks, triptoy.  I guess I misunderstood the instructions.  I saw "com_blah blah blah" and automatically assumed that I had to use the Component Installer in Joomla.  After reading your reply, I found the matching files in \Joomla_1.0.3-Stable-Full_Package\components\com_wrapper  Thanks for the help.  Still waiting to get help re: my #2 question above.

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:46 am

brother7 wrote: Thanks, triptoy.  I guess I misunderstood the instructions.  I saw "com_blah blah blah" and automatically assumed that I had to use the Component Installer in Joomla.  After reading your reply, I found the matching files in \Joomla_1.0.3-Stable-Full_Package\components\com_wrapper  Thanks for the help.  Still waiting to get help re: my #2 question above.
Im a little incoherent right now, but your not suppost to post any code in wrapper.php i dont think. Just go to your menu that you want to add a link to, choose the wrapper radio button selection, and type the full url to your coppermine install. This what you trying to do? you can see my working site at http://www.triptoy.net/

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:39 am

triptoy wrote: I have an issue with this, I have read through this forum a couple times but couldn't find the answer.

Ok, This is probably my fault but a little confused as to why it happened.

I finished the integration of coppermine, joomla 1.0.3 and smf 1.05

All worked fine until I tried installing community builder. (I did back up my database before this)

after I installed CB, I could no longer log in using the Mambo_SMF Login module (yeah, I am using bridged connection with wrapper)

I login like normal and it sends me to the wrapped smf login, which also wont let me login.. it just does nothing.

So, I proceeded to uninstall community builder, restored my database and I still have the same problem? Whats up with that?

So, I reinstalled the SMF bridge and the other component and the login module... still no results, can anyone help with this issue?


Also, is there a way to integrate community builder in with this integration?
I discovered the reason why this happened. I edited the forum config to dissallow "Guests" to view the forum. While this locked me out of logging in or anything from joomla, I was able to access the forum directly. I allowed guests to view the forum again and it once again allowed me to login within joomla. Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this problem? I could be of some help if required.

User avatar
brother7
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:23 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by brother7 » Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:57 pm

triptoy wrote: ... your not suppost to post any code in wrapper.php i dont think.
The problem I'm experiencing is that Coppermine isn't reflecting the login/logout status.  To address this, the thread found at http://www.simplemachines.org/community ... opic=28318 suggested a change in wrapper.php which I'm willing to try. I just need to know where to insert the code snippet, ie "place the code between these existing lines in wrapper.php".

triptoy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:42 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by triptoy » Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:05 pm

I have another issue, if anyone could help? It turns out that when users now register and continue, it shows something like, you cannot access this page (its an SMF error) and these newly registered people cant log in because it says they are banned. I checked the banned list, no one is banned. Anyone know why?

Also, Brother7, if you could contact me on AIM or Yahoo, I could help better.

djtriptoy is my aim
Liquid_Lights_2 is my yahoo

g0t0pless
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:59 am

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by g0t0pless » Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:27 am

1 problem, possibly 2.

Problem #1: When I go to do the package intstaller for SMF, I cannot get MOS_SMF.php to extract. It tells me I don't have permissions set, but everything is set to 777 leading to that folder. I even triend manually uploading that file, but it still weon't work.

Problem #2: I continued on with the installation, but now all I have is a black screen (as someone else had). I didn't see a cure for his problem, therefore I am asking again. Hoe do you fix this?

SMF version 1.0.5
Joomla version 1.0.2

User avatar
MystaMax
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:55 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by MystaMax » Sun Nov 20, 2005 4:49 pm

I just read kai920's tutorial posted on joomlahacks.com, and found it pretty helpful!

maddox
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:47 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by maddox » Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:09 pm

Hello.
I folowed your tutorial and I can't install smf_mambo3.1.tar.gz. I can upload it on server, but there is next error:

!!
Error in Package Installation

At least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package. It is strongly recommended that you do not continue with installation unless you know what you are doing, and have made a backup very recently. This error may be caused by a conflict between the package you're trying to install and another package you have already installed, an error in the package, a package which requires another package that you don't have installed yet, or a package designed for another version of SMF.

Type Action Description
1. Execute Modification ./Sources/Subs.php Test failed
2. Execute Modification ./index.php Test successful
3. Extract File ./Sources/MOS_SMF.php

Jommla version is 1.0.4, SMF 1.1RC1.

maddox
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:47 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by maddox » Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:21 pm

I solved it!!!  :D
I have downloaded wrong pakage.  :P

PornSharK
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 7:49 pm

Re: Joomla + SMF + Coppermine Installation guide.

Post by PornSharK » Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:42 am

I have a bit touble uploading the com_wrapper package...

It says:
ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package

So far this is the only thing I need to complete now  ;)

 

Locked

Return to “SMF - Simplemachines.org Forum”