Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Moderator: imanickam

Locked
vinodcyber
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:20 am

Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by vinodcyber » Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:47 pm

Hello Everybody

I am using Joomla 1.5.12

I want to make a site purely in Hindi.

What I need to do.

I have wrote the articals using UTF-8 Characterset for devnagiri.

But My site don't display in Hindi. It's a mash.

Browser pointing to UTF-8. I am able to see all hindi sites.

If possible, Please give step by step instructions about where i am wrong.

 
User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18982
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by infograf768 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:00 pm

Make sure your database is correctly collated utf8 before installing Joomla.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

vinodcyber
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:20 am

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by vinodcyber » Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:38 am

Do I need to reinstall the joomla.

If Yes! I can do that.

Please give specific instruction as where I should take care of while installing Joomla.

I have used fantastico to install Joomla 1.5.11. than upgraded to 1.5.12 using upgrade pack.zip

One more thing, Do i need to install indic language pack to make site in hindi.

I am comfortable with English admin. I just want that visitors see my contents in Hindi.

Please advise.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18982
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by infograf768 » Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:23 am

I guess you are on share hosting. Using Fantastico adds to the issue.
On a share hosting, one has to create a database and a user for it.

What is suggested is, after creation of the database and while it is still empty, to use PhPMYadmin and the operations button to change the collation of the database to UF8.

Then download from our sites last Joomla full package (1.5.12). Upload to your space on your host and install. All will then be utf8 and Hindi as well as any other language will display OK.

Indic language is not necessary to write and display in an Indic language.
A language pack use is dealing with Joomla interface, not contents.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

moomoochoo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by moomoochoo » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:05 am

I have a similar problem.
I had some collation problems when I first started my website, but I have everything set to UTF-8 now.
I still have problems with joomla search and UTF-8 characters (specifically Japanese characters).
If this is a problem due to the initial collation of my database being set to something other than utf-8, how can I fix this? If this isn't the problem, do you have any suggestions as to what might be causing this?
I have backups of mysite, but formatting and then reinstalling may cause the problem again yeah?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks :)

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18982
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by infograf768 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:48 pm

To be sure it is not a database problem, make a utf8 dump of your db, open it in an utf8 aware editor and do the same search.

Otherwise, please paste here the Japanese glyphs you want to search and the content they are findable in and we will test.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

WINEMAN
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Japan

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by WINEMAN » Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:01 am

I'm seeing similar database inconsistencies (unrelated to Hindi):

Database collation is utf8_general_ci but various tables are either in latin1_general_ci or utf8_general_ci . Is that normal? Shouldn't every table be utf8_general_ci ? This is a standard Joomla 1.5 full package install with SOBI2 and JoomFish installed.

Can I just change the collation using PHP Admin?
Or should I go and see if the language file is incorrectly encoded? I'm using the standard UK English admin language but also have US and Japanese installed.

Some clarification would be appreciated.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18982
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by infograf768 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:15 am

Joomla 1.5 needs the db not only to be collated utf8 generally but also the tables and table fields.
A mixture of collations will create issues.
Language files should all be utf8.

Changing the collation of a non empty db through PHPMyadmin will not solve the issue.
See above
http://forum.joomla.org/posting.php?mod ... 2&t=421163
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

silvrdollr
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:36 am

Re: Me using Joomla 1.5.12. Using UTF-8 characterset for Hindi

Post by silvrdollr » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:56 am

http://www.phoca.cz/phoca-changing-collation
I used that tool to change my entire Joomla 1.5 to UTF-8. Before that, my Japanese characters were getting garbled, even though I had the Japanese translation pack installed.

 

Locked

Return to “Indic Languages Forum”