elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Discuss the universal connector for forums and other applications. (including vBridge )
EMRhelp
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:12 pm

elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by EMRhelp » Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:41 am

http://www.elearningforce.dk/bridges/vb ... .html  $40
- I guess it doesnt modify any vb files, so that is a bonus.

from their website:

Once the user has logged in at the Joomla site he is also logged in at vBulletin.
We have done it for the latest vBulletin version, but it should be okay for some of the earlier releases.

Image

I guess this would be a negative review to start with ...
The bad news is I need one soon.  Eeeek.
vnjporg wrote:
bobsmith wrote:
DerTobi75 wrote: Hi,

sorry for hijacking your thread, but here is also just another way to integrate vB with Joomla!

http://www.elearningforce.dk/joomla-com ... idges.html

Anyone tries this yet?!

Tobi
Does any know how well this elearningforce.dk Duo-Sync bridge work? It sounds really good -- leaving the core files untouched!!!

After searching through the forums, the next best solution seems to be bbpixel -- but it overwrites some core files.
I bought and tried it. The conclusion is that DO NOT USE IT. It just help you manually move users between joomla and vbulletin. But after being moved, users can not login. You have to manaully edit thier passwords then they can login(imagine that you have 2000 members, can you do this manually?). As they said" user just need to login to vbulletin and they automatically login to joomla. But NO. This is a lie!

Additionally, there is no document, no demo, support is awful (look at their support board).

again, please do not buy this you will waste your money!

 
Phooey
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Phooey » Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:18 pm

Thanks for the head's up. I'm just setting up a new site using Joomla! and I was hoping to use this to integrate vBulletin with it as well.

MRaburn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 5:31 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by MRaburn » Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:18 am

Yep

Stay away from this for the moment.  I installed it as well and as stated above, the passwords do not sync.  Also all registered users pulled from VB to Joomla are set to not active, so every user would need to resubmit for a new password THEN it would be active.  I have not even gotten to the point to see if even a user from VB if logging in at Joomla, actually checks the VB database first to see if they exist then create an account.

I am truly suprised as big as VB is and Joomla, there seems to be no real 'option' for bridging the two together.
Just a simple check here or there, create an account here or there.

Cheers
Mike

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:54 am

Hey :D

Thumbs up. I am the constant buyer of ElearningForce and  i would like to clear the situation!
MRaburn wrote: Yep

Stay away from this for the moment.  I installed it as well and as stated above, the passwords do not sync.  Also all registered users pulled from VB to Joomla are set to not active, so every user would need to resubmit for a new password THEN it would be active. 
You are not reading HELP FILE! TRY TO READ IT:)

YES, it is true that all registered users pulled from VB to Joomla are set to not active, BUT the passwords are synchronized after the first login to Joomla. Vbulliten component checks if the user exists in Vbulliten and only after this unblocks Joomla user and allows him to enter.

This is a great solution from ElearningForce  -no core files are modified.

To all others: read the HELP FILE!!!

Cheers,
Tomas - constant buyer and tester of ElearningForce products!

MRaburn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 5:31 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by MRaburn » Sat Sep 16, 2006 1:00 pm

OK,

How convenient a new user posts to validify this script.  I am a LONG time webmaster and site owner and have installed and run 100's of scripts.

THIS PROGRAM DOES NOT WORK.  I am working with their support and so far we are nowhere.

Someone who has this working, or even ELearning should link us to a demo that WORKS.

Don't waste your money people.  If they get it right, I will surely let you know.

Mike

Phooey
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Phooey » Sat Sep 16, 2006 1:33 pm

Yeah, something tells me that Tomas-teacher works for elearningforce.  :laugh:

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:04 pm

:) No i am not there employee :)  I am a guy who is testing their products, support their forum and work more close with them!

Though, anyway - this is a latest info i get from Vladimir, hope it will be helpfull for the guys whow are experience problems with VB 3.6 and elearningforce bridge:

JVB Bridge component is realized on principle of Cookies usage. Therefore single login works ONLY when Cookies are enabled in your browser. Also you should notice that component places Cookies to http://www.mysite.com domain. That’s why your forum should be configured exactly for the domain where Cookies are located BUT NOT for subdirectory where forum is located. Below is an example of correct configuration:

1) Go to your Forum admin control panel.
2) Choose vBulletin Options.
3) Choose option Cookies and HTTP Header options in Select-list.
4) In Path to Save Cookies  select “/” instead of “/forum” (“/forum” – your forum path).

Please view the following possible setup variants, cases when component might work incorrectly and ways to solve them:

1) http://www.joomla.com/forum. Everything works correctly if you respect the recommendations listed above (beyond) and in GUIDELINES item).
2) http://www.mysite/joomla/forum. The same as item 1.
3) http://www.mysite.com/joomla AND http://www.mysite.com/forum. The same as items 1, 2 BUT when you enter path to your forum you should specify the following path «/../forum» in component settings).
4) http://www.forum/joomla.mysite.com or http://www.forum.joomla.com. Component will work well BUT Single login won’t be available (as Cookies can be set for subdomain only but not for other domain).


Please notice that http://www.mysite.com and mysite.com are different domains. And if your Joomla live site is assigned with ‘www’ then you should always call it with ‘www’.
That problem can be solved by entering the following parameters into .htaccess:

RewriteEngine On

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^mysite\.com
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.mysite.com/$1 [R=permanent,L]

Using redirect you can also be sure that Javascript(s) works correctly.

Best,

Tomas

MRaburn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 5:31 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by MRaburn » Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:53 am

Allright.....  GOOD NEWS for people looking for a working bridge.

This system is doing the trick for me.  We and the dev figured out our issues and all is well.

Basically we run the bridge over 2 domains.  So login from same cookie is not needed for us.

We needed to move the /includes/config.php from our VB site to the root of our joomla site so the script can get the VB DB connect strings.  Easy enough.

What it is doing for us:

1.  If a user creates an account on Joom, then an account is created in VB.
2.  If a user already exists in VB on a Joom login attempt, then it creates the VB account into Joom and logs them in.

I think the sync option should maybe be used just once if you arlready have a VB forum userbase and then want to get those users into Joom.

If you want to integrate, I would go for this package.  I like the fact it uses DB queries to make the needed changes. I DONT have to have Joomla and VB in the same database, they do not have to reside on the same server even.  You could do a remote SQL connect to do this.

Developer I assume makes it so you have to use a path to get the VB database connect info, I would rather just input my DB details to VB but I assume this is to keep this secure data from residing in a database.  Maybe offer a config file in the component folder where I could fill this information in manually to keep me from having to copy my includes/config.php file over to my Joomla installation.

Hope this helps others out there.

Mike

Beta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Beta » Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:06 am

Ellow!

Can please send someone this "bridge" to me?

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:25 am

He he :) $30 and i will sent it to you:) LOL :)

Beta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Beta » Tue Sep 26, 2006 7:19 pm

How about free for testing porpuse?

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:35 am

Sorry, such things are not given for free  :P - though you can see it working on a elearningforce.biz/demo.

Cheers!

EMRhelp
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:12 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by EMRhelp » Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:03 am

Tomas-teacher wrote: Sorry, such things are not given for free  :P - though you can see it working on a elearningforce.biz/demo.

Cheers!
Nice crap demo.  The vB forums DNS.

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:57 am

What do you mean crap? Evey one can say "Crap" without any reason!

Beta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Beta » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:53 pm

Does it work or not?!

I'll pay 20$ if it works!

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:57 am

it works:) but you need to pay $40 to get it:)

Beta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Beta » Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:05 pm

Tomas-teacher wrote: it works:) but you need to pay $40 to get it:)

25$ ;)

Darwa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:03 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Darwa » Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:45 pm

I'll be buggered if I can get it to work.

I followed the instructions closely.

I followed all suggestions on the forum.

I email for help and they told me to read the forum.

/sigh

Beta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:46 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Beta » Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:09 pm

Does it works with Joomla 1.5 and vbulletin 3.6.2?

amd64
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:44 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by amd64 » Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:17 am

what version of joomla and vb required for this com to work?

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Mon Oct 23, 2006 7:08 am

Hello,

It works for me with 3.6.2 and Joomla 1.11. With prev versions it works too.

Tomas

JoomlaCoach
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:05 pm
Contact:

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by JoomlaCoach » Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:24 pm

Works for some not for others, I am still trying to figure out why? This one is a brain drain! Support Could be better!

:(
It all started with mother mambo, then the birth of the children, joomla, elxis and Aliro. The mambo family continues to grow. A knife in the back is better than a fork.

http://www.ozbevnet.com

control
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:36 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by control » Fri Dec 15, 2006 6:52 am

why is there so less post about this component does no one use it?

Tomas-teacher
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:41 am

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Tomas-teacher » Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:07 pm

Just tried this bridge with new VB 3.6.4 and seems it work as a charm.
Last edited by Tomas-teacher on Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

control
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:36 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by control » Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:10 pm

I think im going to try bbpixel has everyone seems to have that one working. only if I could see a demo site with elearning's product running the news version of joomla and vbulletin.

User avatar
pmcnamara
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by pmcnamara » Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:42 pm

I installed this component this weekend as we moved a 4000+ member vBulletin site into a Joomla site.

running J! 1.0.12 and vB 3.6.4; the script worked like a charm and continues to work like a charm.

I'd give it a 5-star rating !

Still need a workable bridge to truly intergrate vB into J! content, I'm using a wrapper right now, which is usable and tolerable, but isn't perfect.

I invite you to check it out : http://www.sportsinferno.com

illPhever
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:47 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by illPhever » Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:39 pm

pmcnamara wrote: Still need a workable bridge to truly intergrate vB into J! content, I'm using a wrapper right now, which is usable and tolerable, but isn't perfect.

I invite you to check it out : http://www.sportsinferno.com
i don't see the wrapper being used with vbulletin on your site anymore.  did it become untolerable? did you have some problems with it?  that was the route i was thinking of going.

User avatar
pmcnamara
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by pmcnamara » Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:49 pm

We have made no changes.  You need to look again.

Milchi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:16 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by Milchi » Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:48 am

THis solution is so bad ... you have to disable registration in yours forum and find a way for a "nice" registration in joomla.
You will have problems if you rename a forum user
You will have problems if users are changing passwords in VB
You will have problems to synchronize thousands of account ...


The best and only working solution for big forums is bbpixel  (and it costs much less ;)).

Sure you have to change 2-3 corefiles (overwrite) but new versions are normally available in 2 hours after release of a new Vbulletin version.

lukasgraphicscom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 4:54 pm

Re: elearningforce.dk's joomla-vbulletin bridge - $40

Post by lukasgraphicscom » Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:29 am

I found this thread after I made the purchase for this product.  Do not buy this!  It does not work as advertised.  Even more maddening is that they do not reply to my support emails. 

If you want to waste money send me the money and I'll send 1/2 of it back to you.  That way you only lose half your money and not all  of it. 

 

Locked

Return to “com_connector - Multi Joomla Bridge”