Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Your code modifications and patches you want to share with others.
latristesse
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by latristesse » Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:04 pm

What's the status of this topic? It's been going on for a long time now without much headway as far as I can tell. There is the commercial multisite extension (http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... sites/5550) mentioned above but I'm wondering if Joomla multi sites will cover all the aspects of Artistocrat's and Stinkbug's original posts. I have a client with 4 different domains that need to have the same user base (namely the administrator and maybe a content editor), all the same plug-ins and modules, some shared content and some different content, some shared menu items and some different menu items, and similar, though separate, templates. The client is using a multisite hosting plan from Rochen so I wonder if this makes it easier in some way.

There is something mentioned in the docs about using a couple of modifications to do a multisite installation but I'm wondering if this applies:
http://docs.joomla.org/Multiple_Domains ... stallation

Has anyone tried this? Or has everyone gone to the extension by now?

sandyraj
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:59 pm

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by sandyraj » Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:07 am

Has anyone tried this? Or has everyone gone to the extension by now?

Biomehaniker
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:17 pm

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by Biomehaniker » Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:24 am

I´m also looking into this. :pop

GiO757
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:36 pm

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by GiO757 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:28 am

Hi I am also interested on this I found virdual domains Beta, at http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... sites/7557 but have not been able to make it work.

If some one can help me.

NewsRules
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by NewsRules » Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:01 pm

has any progress been made on StinkBugs original concept???

I have 100+ domains with approx 50 writers and and maintaining all of this via seperate URL admin CP's is out of control.

1. being able to have the writers log into one domain ( joomla Admin)
2. select the domain for their article to appear on
3. then publish ONLY on that domain

A key factor also is that these domains are on six different servers

is there anything that accomplishes this? Did the existing topic of this thread get off topic?

With the J! 1.5 framework is this possible?

User avatar
draftvader
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Re: Modifying 1.5 for Multiple Sites

Post by draftvader » Mon May 31, 2010 4:06 am

I don't know where this has got to, but I can see an application for the mobile (smartphone) markets. When utilising multiple templates and an automatic template switcher you might need to create "lite versions" of your articles.

In my example I have a site with embedded modules within the pages (not too uncommon) and these cause all sorts of problems displaying on mobile devices. It would be useful to be able to have a 2nd set of articles that are "lite" versions of the full site articles that would automatically switch, along with the template.

There are extensions which have elements of this functionality. I am using a template switcher with auto-detect (mobilebot 1.0) and on another site I have a language switcher that allows for multiple menus based off a choice of languages (Multilanguage M17n). The call to switch the template could also trigger the call for the 2nd menu (pointing at the "lite" articles).

My only problem is that, though I have become a fairly competent Joomla! administrator and designer, I am no code-monkey outside of CSS and HTML. Therefore I would need to leave this up to the bigger boys in this particular pond!!

I hope this is interesting as another take on the theme.
http://www.theorganicweb.co.uk

"Geek is all I've got. That and my sweet style" - Moss, IT Crowd

dpal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:37 am

joomla 1.5 can support two theme for one site

Post by dpal » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:32 am

joomla 1.5 can support two theme for one site?????
Devendra
PHP Developer
*** Please report me for spamming ***
http://www.ebizneeds.com


Locked

Return to “Core Hacks and Patches”