Maximum number of menu items - sort of bug report

User avatar
webgobe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:13 pm
Location: Transsylvania/Romania
Contact:

Maximum number of menu items - sort of bug report

Postby webgobe » Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:06 pm

So, let's use your template:
Description:
[USER] One of my menus reached the magical number of 32 items. From the moment the menu was saved worked fine in the frontend, but accessing it through admin/menu manager resulted in an uncomplete page. I searched 2 days before I succeeded to eliminate the probelm (moved in phpMyadmin one of the menuitems - any of them - to another menu) and also succeeded to replicate it in another install.
Reported on:
[USER] Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] 25 December 2006 01:00 UTC

Classification:
[Q&T]

Affected functions:
[USER] Unable to use menu manager to edit the respective menu. All other menus are usable/manageable.

Related files:
[USER] No ideea exatcly wich ones

Steps to replicate:
[USER] Just create a menu wich has at least 32 items, in any exact form. I discovered it here:
http://khdx.org, the main horizontal menu (in my setup is called barmenu)

Analysis:
[Q&T]

Proposed fix(es):
[USER] No ideea, probably is a variable size/type which has tis side-effect.

Topic / Artifact ID:
[USER]

System info:
[USER]
PHP built On:  Linux web.doublehelixcorp.org 2.6.9-42.0.3.ELsmp #1 SMP Mon Sep 25 17:28:02 EDT 2006 i686
Database Version: 4.1.20
PHP Version: 4.3.9
Web Server: Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
WebServer to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.12 Stable [ Sunfire ] 25 December 2006 01:00 UTC
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; hu; rv:1.8.1.4) Gecko/20070515 Firefox/2.0.0.4
Relevant PHP Settings:
Joomla! Register Globals Emulation: OFF
Register Globals: OFF
Magic Quotes: ON
Safe Mode: OFF
File Uploads: ON
Session auto start: OFF
Session save path: /var/lib/php/session
Short Open Tags: ON
Output Buffering: OFF
Open basedir: none
Display Errors: OFF
XML enabled: Yes
Zlib enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: none
Tips on Joomla - http://joomla-tips.org
My LinkedIn profile - http://ro.linkedin.com/in/webgobe
Like a fine wine - getting better over time!

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Maximum number of menu items - sort of bug report

Postby Robin » Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:38 pm

Moderator note: moving to Q&T 1.0

JRSofty
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Somewhere in Germany
Contact:

Re: Maximum number of menu items - sort of bug report

Postby JRSofty » Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:13 pm

Hello I've also seen this bug. One way to work around this issue is to lower the number of items viewed on the page.

I have found that if I have more than 10 items shown on a long menu list then I lose access to the menu manager. When this happens I move to another menu list where there are less items and then change the view to 10 and then return to my main menu.

This is not a fix just a work around. This problem has been hounding this software for a while it seems as I remember having a problem like this with Mambo as well.

I think someone has set up a bug report in the bug list with bugid 5459 however I can't tell for sure as the only comments the person has is an MP4 file that I can't open.

moreeaz
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:54 am

Re: Maximum number of menu items - sort of bug report

Postby moreeaz » Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:57 am

I just made a menu with 43 items and it worked fine. however when i logged out and back in
the entire menu items where a mess, some items disappeared, and they were all disconnected from their parents. I had 3 pages of menus, and suddenly just 2.
Then I deleted all the items and add them again, and at the moment I reached 40 again, the page, after refreshing, was white. Then i moved 1 parent with 4 children to another menu, and my page was back.
Now I place that item back in the main menu, and it works, but for how long.
Is it really so that you can just have 32 items. It's really buggy!
Please help me out here, I really want to use these 43 or even 48 items.
Does making parents in parents help out??


Return to “Joomla! 1.0.x_Q&T”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests