Firefox 2 "Insert Content Image" (Standard TinyMCE) Window Size Issue

Post Reply
bsimecek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:12 am

Firefox 2 "Insert Content Image" (Standard TinyMCE) Window Size Issue

Post by bsimecek » Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:11 pm

When inserting an image through the standard TinyMCE image insert/edit, the window that is displayed is different for IE 6 and Firefox 2. 
The window normally has "general, appearance, and advanced" tabs.  But with firefox, the window displaying these tabs is too small (and un-resizable) to be able to change the fields in this window (attached image).  This window displays correctly in IE6.

I did a little looking and the call for the image insert form (js popup) is located in:
/mambots/editors/tinymce/jscripts/tiny_mce/plugins/advimage/image.htm

as onload="tinyMCEPopup.executeOnLoad('init();');"

and the call goes to
/mambots/editors/tinymce/jscripts/tiny_mce/plugins/advimage/jscripts/functions.js

From here, I lost the trail...functions.js is a bit confusing for me.

My current joomla is .12 (havn't updated to .13 yet) and this error is part of the basic interface (standard tinymce).
I am running Firefox 2.0.0.7 (error) and have tested it in IE 6.0 (xpsp2) (works)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mic
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Firefox 2 "Insert Content Image" (Standard TinyMCE) Window Size Issue

Post by mic » Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:11 pm

Don't do anything in the .html.
Edit the editor_plugin.js (or editor_plugin_src.js) - depends if you work in compressed mode or not - and look for:

Code: Select all

template['width']=480
Change the value of 480 to xxx

btw.: the code of this plugin is more than ugly ....
http://www.joomx.com - custom extensions and development
http://www.joomlasupportdesk.com - support, migration, training and consulting
Member of the German Joomla Translation Team

r3r3
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:25 am

Re: Firefox 2

Post by r3r3 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:09 pm

Works great! Thanks

In joomla 1.5.x the script is located in "/plugins/editors/tinymce/jscripts/tiny_mce/plugins/advimage"

mic
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Firefox 2

Post by mic » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:59 pm

Does no matter which Joomla version is used (1.0.x or 1.5.x), the path is always the same - every plugin has it own editor_plugin.js (or editor_plugin_src.js).
As described above with this change avery pop.up windows sizw can be changed.

But - if the plugin is coded well, in the language file there should be 2 parameters where the width and height can be adopted to display the correct sizes depending on the language.
The standard value is (should) always be set in the editor_plugin.js (plus the the 2 additonal values from the language file).

Finally one thing: some/most of the older plugins have their html.sites without the doctype declaration.
If this would be set the screen output should be okay - for all browsers.
http://www.joomx.com - custom extensions and development
http://www.joomlasupportdesk.com - support, migration, training and consulting
Member of the German Joomla Translation Team


Post Reply

Return to “Joomla! 1.0.x_Q&T”