[UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

User avatar
djm
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 4:33 am
Contact:

[UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by djm » Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:03 am

When I upgrade from 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 .. All user in my site can't login from front end ...
Last edited by Robin on Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18715
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by infograf768 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:56 am

Can't replicate here.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

robbie
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Goes
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by robbie » Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:58 am

Neither can I.
Dance with the stars

User avatar
rickenbacker
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:52 am

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by rickenbacker » Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:03 pm

I'm afraid I have the same problem, also on a clients site. . . can still login to administrator though  :-\

EDIT: It's Community builder after the latest Joomla Upgraded, CB must be upgraded also then all will be fine
Last edited by rickenbacker on Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dorjano
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by dorjano » Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:57 pm

Have the same problem! I use the correct patch from 1013 to 1014 but I loose the login button in the back-end and a menu bar on the admin side. Instead of usual login button there is some boxed space, so I clicked on it anyway and managed to enter the back end, but I'm still without menu bar.
Moderator of Slovenian Forum

candyman808
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:31 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by candyman808 » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:38 am

At first I could log it.. but then I noticed my username was till logged in.. I that's weird .. I just click on my Forum link then I'm in again.. Another thing was I opened a different browser "Flock" and that logged me in.

User avatar
dorjano
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by dorjano » Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:54 pm

@candyman808
I didn't understand you quite well, but I too have this peculiarity. I loged off from admin and after a minute or two I went back to administrator page and I was in back-end without entering user name or password. :(
Moderator of Slovenian Forum

candyman808
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:31 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by candyman808 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:24 pm

I cant understand myself either.. Now I tried reinstalling  1.0.13 using the Full version.. I really don;t know what I;m doing I;m prett much trying to find a way to get in the Back admin login. NOw its telling me "You need to login" which is really.. really Stupid. This is getting so Frustrating. Ain't I already trying to login?.. duh. I dont know what gives man. I really want to Uninstall this and start fresh but I cant .. I dont want to lose my Fireboard Forum and Cb too. Is there a way to back that up so i can just put it back in?

User avatar
dorjano
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by dorjano » Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:18 am

candyman808 wrote: I cant understand myself either.. Now I tried reinstalling  1.0.13 using the Full version.. I really don;t know what I;m doing I;m prett much trying to find a way to get in the Back admin login. NOw its telling me "You need to login" which is really.. really Stupid. This is getting so Frustrating. Ain't I already trying to login?.. duh. I dont know what gives man. I really want to Uninstall this and start fresh but I cant .. I dont want to lose my Fireboard Forum and Cb too. Is there a way to back that up so i can just put it back in?
well I reinstall 1.0.13 in the way that I overwrite all files and folders but configuration.php file. In this way I have my settings and a fresh Joomla,... well the old one :-). Since the big part of settings are stored in you DB, like data about components, bots, modules..., you can overwrite your Joomla files quite easy, and with confidence.
IT WORKS FOR ME

Cheers,D.
Moderator of Slovenian Forum

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:53 am

I have to notice that I have the same problem after 1.0.13 -> 1.0.14 upgrade. Yesterday

Today Super Admin users can't access frontend nor backend.

Right I added a new static content and its menu link, I logged in front end (always as Super Admin). I wrote the new link in the forum and after that all began to fail.

I have 4 joomla sites and by now the issue is in only in one of them.

:'(

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:18 pm

Update:
Two of my sites are out  :(

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:35 pm

After a rollback copying only the old 1.0.13 files in the update patch, the ploblem continues.
It seems the DB is damaged? Also I have repared all the tables in phpMyAdmin but nothing.

Help!

:(

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:16 pm

OK, try this:

Go to http://www.techno.mayix.net/go.php?http ... crypt/md5/
And generate a MD5 password, copy and paste in password field in jos_admin.

Should work. If not reinstall the old 1.0.13 files replaced by the upgrade patch, and try again.

I think something goes wrong with the 1.0.14 upgrade related with the MD5 hashing.

:)

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:20 pm

Fails again.

Please help  :o :(

jerole
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:52 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by jerole » Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:34 pm

dorjano wrote: well I reinstall 1.0.13 in the way that I overwrite all files and folders but configuration.php file. In this way I have my settings and a fresh Joomla,... well the old one :-). Since the big part of settings are stored in you DB, like data about components, bots, modules..., you can overwrite your Joomla files quite easy, and with confidence.
IT WORKS FOR ME

Cheers,D.
I have a similar problem after updating to 1.0.14. When you try to log in front end you have to try several times until you a logged in, but each time you click on a link you are logged out again. I tried reinstalling 1.0.13 overwriting all files and folders but configuration.php, but nothing changed.

Edit: Actually, I just noticed that I am not really logged out when I am prompted to the login module. There I can see that my user is still logged on, but when I try to login again I just increase the guest counter but am not logged in until after several tries I am able to enter the site again.
Last edited by jerole on Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

reformed66
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:32 am

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by reformed66 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:16 am

I am having the same issue.  :(

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:05 am

Check this:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,257225.0.html

I recommend no to Upgrade to 1.0.14 from 1.0.13  :(

User avatar
Saulo José
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:23 pm
Location: Ginebra - Valle del Cauca - Colombia
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by Saulo José » Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:59 pm

We need a Jomla hero here, please!!!
:'( :'( :'(

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18715
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by infograf768 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:10 pm

Moving to 1.0 Q&T
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
Saulo José
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:23 pm
Location: Ginebra - Valle del Cauca - Colombia
Contact:

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by Saulo José » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:39 pm

we need a Joomla hero for help, not for move us jejeje  :laugh: :laugh:

jerole
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:52 pm

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by jerole » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:53 pm

This might not be the ideal solution nor does it really solve the problem, but at least it works for me and I am now able to login front end again. Since I am always prompted back to the login module I decided to activate the Remember me option and surprise, I can use the site again without being logged out.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by Robin » Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:13 pm

Dev note; this will be tested asap. Marking as under review.

sl45sms
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:23 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by sl45sms » Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:17 pm

Same problem here...i cant login from frontend  :'(

User avatar
vixmoa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by vixmoa » Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:01 pm


jerole
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:52 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by jerole » Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:49 pm

Doesn't work for me, the size is already 100.

Further, I noticed that it's not only the admin account that has this problem. Every new registered user account since the installation of the patch has the same problem, except the user accounts created earlier, those work without problems.
Last edited by jerole on Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by Robin » Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:57 pm

Could anyone experiencing please give more details? What I'd like to know is:

- system information (admin > system > system info, first part with php/mysql/apache info)
- installed extensions, especially SEF and Community Builder
- using another template as default? if so, which one?

!! - the users that can not login, are there accounts created before or after the upgrade, or both?

Thanks Robin

jerole
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:52 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by jerole » Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:14 pm

PHP built upon:                  Linux cgi25-ch 2.6.20-16-server #2 SMP Sun Sep 23 19:57:25 UTC 2007 i686
Database version:                 5.0.41-log
PHP version:                     5.2.1
Web server:                 Apache/1.3.34 (Ubuntu) mod_clarassl/1.0 mod_chroot/0.5
Interface web server to PHP: cgi-fcgi
Joomla! version:       Joomla! 1.0.13 Stable [ Sunglow ] 21 July 2007 16:00 UTC


Installed extensions:
JEvents
phpBB2 Forum with Mehdi's Phpbb bridge
Missus Revised
JoomlaPack
Joomlawatch

Template: Modified Simply Green Template

After installing the patch the admin user and all users registered after installing have the following problems:

When you try to log in front end you have to try several times until you a logged in, but each time you click on a link you are logged out again. Well, you are not really logged out but prompted to the login module. There you can see that the user is still logged on, but when you try to login again you just increase the guest counter but are not logged in until after several tries you are able to enter the site again.
Something similar happens then when you enter the forum, though if you try to write a note you get an invalid session error.

tim carey
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:04 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by tim carey » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:00 pm

PHP built On:  Linux firefly.unitedhosting.co.uk 2.6.9-55.0.6.ELsmp #1 SMP Tue Sep 4 21:36:00 EDT 2007 i686 
Database Version:  4.1.22-standard 
PHP Version:  4.4.4 
Web Server:  Apache 
WebServer to PHP interface:  cgi 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.14 RC1 Stable [ Daybreak ] 13 January 2008 22:00 UTC  (Not upgraded straight version 14 install)

No extensions.

Template estime_bluesky_advanced

Any users created are unable to logon, the guest count goes up but the user logon is still available. Users created via user manager and website, neither work.

eddiet
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 7:25 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by eddiet » Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:56 pm

This problem appears to also involve the browser.
Can't login using FF but IE7 works.
Login to the backend using Prism works.

Apache version 1.3.39 
PHP version 4.4.7
MySQL version 4.1.22-standard

User avatar
cradleofphil
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 5:22 pm
Location: Ashland, OR
Contact:

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] can't login to front-end after 1.0.13 to 1.0.14 upgrade

Post by cradleofphil » Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:07 am

Could anyone experiencing please give more details? What I'd like to know is:

- system information (admin > system > system info, first part with php/mysql/apache info)
- installed extensions, especially SEF and Community Builder
- using another template as default? if so, which one?

!! - the users that can not login, are there accounts created before or after the upgrade, or both?
The Site experiencing these errors is: http://www.vilemetalvids.com

I want to start first by stating I am running 1.0.13 and have not upgraded to 1.0.14 out of fear from what I have read of other user's experiences doing the upgrade.

Problem: Users cannot log in frontend, not even super administrator can log in frontend.  I can still log into joomla backend administrator just fine.

Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a PHP-CGI/0.1b

When logged into Phpmyadmin these are the version lines shown there:

phpMyAdmin - 2.11.4

MySQL client version: 4.1.22

Installed Mambots:
Image

The only template I have and use installed is:

mc_flash  rgb(raduga) gorsk.net studio          r1_fl          07.05.2005                http://support.gorsk.net

I don't see how the template would have anything to do with it, since this issue seemed to just come out of nowhere.

Please let me know if there is ANY other information you need, and also this is for existing users and new users NO ONE can log into the frontend.

Please help this is really hurting my site and my subscriber base.
Last edited by cradleofphil on Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.0.x_Q&T”