Submenu items not showing

This forum is for reporting bugs in Joomla!. Please don't report problems with extensions in here.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ghorne2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by ghorne2000 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:55 pm

If I make it a list and move it out of user3, say to left, it works. It just does not appear to work as a horizontal menu

ghorne2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by ghorne2000 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:05 pm

I went to that page, it appears that horizontal menus are not supported. should I create multiple verticle menu's ?

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:34 pm

Suggest using Menu Style = List. It supports horizontal menus. You may need to adjust your CSS to render a list in horizontal mode.

This website page describes the CSS required for horizontal and vertical menus: http://www.seoconsultants.com/css/menus/tutorial/. Note that display: block; is for vertical menus where as display: inline; is for horizontal menus (I think I got that right). Check with http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_display_visibility.asp for more info on CSS and menu orientation.

If you do write CSS to support a "List" menu, you ought to use the class suffix in your menu module to distinguish the CSS from other normal list styles.

Hope this helps.
:-)
dgj
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

ghorne2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by ghorne2000 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:47 pm

I guess it's time for me to learn CSS.

Thanks....

Gary

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:03 pm

I can't say I am that great at CSS, but it is a must if you intend to build your own website. W3c.org is a great place to start. They have a very good section on CSS. Also, there is so much CSS info and tutorials on the net, that you will always find help.

I suggest that you do a search for "CSS horizontal drop menu". There are plenty of ready built CSS menu code out there. All you have to do is get one piece of your menu code working and the rest will follow.


Good luck.
dgj
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

ghorne2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by ghorne2000 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:14 pm

thanks a bunch for all the help, I am looking forward to educating myself around all of this....

Gary

whatsupmf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by whatsupmf » Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:20 pm

Submenu items suddenly stopped for me too-- 1.5.14 with PHP 5.2.5. But it had nothing to do with CSS or menu type. I had turned caching on in Global Config recently. Turning it back off (and refreshing pages to make sure my browser was showing most recent version) worked immediately. Bummer this admin setting for caching causes this problem, I was hoping to use it to increase the speed of my website.

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:50 pm

Hi whatsupmf,

YES, many posts earlier, others reported that sub menu items stopped displaying with Global Config caching turned on. Although I have never tried it, you may be able to keep Global Config caching turned on IF you clear cache.

Try this. Set Global Config caching = ON. Then Tools/Clean Cache. This process just might allow caching to be turned on. Not sure but worth a try if you are up to it :-)
dgj
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

GeoffHilton
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by GeoffHilton » Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:39 pm

whatsupmf wrote:Submenu items suddenly stopped for me too-- 1.5.14 with PHP 5.2.5. But it had nothing to do with CSS or menu type. I had turned caching on in Global Config recently. Turning it back off (and refreshing pages to make sure my browser was showing most recent version) worked immediately. Bummer this admin setting for caching causes this problem, I was hoping to use it to increase the speed of my website.
djohnson1215 wrote:Hi whatsupmf,

YES, many posts earlier, others reported that sub menu items stopped displaying with Global Config caching turned on. Although I have never tried it, you may be able to keep Global Config caching turned on IF you clear cache.

Try this. Set Global Config caching = ON. Then Tools/Clean Cache. This process just might allow caching to be turned on. Not sure but worth a try if you are up to it :-)
dgj
I actually found I had the same problem as well, once I disabled all the joomfish stuff as you suggested dgj. Turning off caching "fixed" it, but it would be nice to have caching working. I had already tried without success what you suggested, dgj.

sporkman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by sporkman » Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:45 am

djohnson1215 wrote:Hi whatsupmf,

YES, many posts earlier, others reported that sub menu items stopped displaying with Global Config caching turned on. Although I have never tried it, you may be able to keep Global Config caching turned on IF you clear cache.

Try this. Set Global Config caching = ON. Then Tools/Clean Cache. This process just might allow caching to be turned on. Not sure but worth a try if you are up to it :-)
dgj
Just confirming the same here:

-Joomla 1.5.9 OR Joomla 1.5.14
-Legacy Mode (for DocMan)
-APC or File Caching enabled globally

Manually purging the cache briefly brings submenus back. Going to the mainmenu module and turning off menu caching seems to "fix" it.

Is this officially a bug or what? I only found it after setting up a production instance and turning on caching. Took some serious digging to see what I might have done "wrong" (nothing).

Is this an official venue for bug reporting or is there a bugzilla or gnats instance or something somewhere for this project?

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:39 pm

GeoffHilton and sporkman,

Glad you were able to isolate the issue. I don't know if this is listed as an official bug. Let's appeal to the form moderators. It would be good for all of us to know the proper procedure.

Hey Tonie, dam-man, ooffick, tcp, mcsmom. As conscientious Joomla users, how do we check to see if this is a known bug or go about reporting this issue to the development team?
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

s-l-i-m
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by s-l-i-m » Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:57 am

I have the same problem.

I'm using Xampp 1.7.2 on Ubuntu 9.04.
It uses PHP 5.3.0 but i don't know how to change the PHP version.

Edit : I have reinstalled the Xampp 1.7.1 and it works perfectly.
Last edited by s-l-i-m on Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:46 pm

Hi s-l-i-m,

PHP 5.3 is going to be a problem for you. You probably can not compile a different version of PHP into Xampp 1.7.2. Suggest finding a previous version of Xampp that has no later than PHP 5.28.

I run WAMP and it has the capabilities to run a different version of PHP, assuming you have one loaded. I don't know much about Xampp. Perhaps someone more familiar with Xampp can reply.
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

s-l-i-m
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:14 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by s-l-i-m » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:53 pm

Hi djohnson1215,

Thanks for your help. I have deleted the Xampp version 1.7.2 and installed the previous version 1.7.1 and it works perfectly.

Thank for your help.

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:06 pm

s-l-i-m,

Good work. It is nice to hear that those "electrons" are behaving themselves. :-)
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

avmjorge
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:14 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by avmjorge » Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:52 pm

Hi,
Try keeping global cache ON but switching it off in the Menus Properties. It solved my problem

Regards
A Jorge

jrf7
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:43 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by jrf7 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:12 am

Thanks to all those on this forum - I had this problem w/submenus today on 1.5.14 and setting caching to "no caching", (it had been 'use global' and the global settings were set to YES - 30" ) solved the submenu not showing problem.

time to learn more about caching...
Thanks for the input.
Jackie

cutescar2nis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:56 am

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by cutescar2nis » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:56 am

i have the same problem but only in IE6 can somebody help me?

bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:44 pm

I'm experiencing the same issue on 1.5.15. I set up one menu, and added two modules that use it. The first module shows just level 1. The second module shows just level 2. I enabled Expand Menu and Always Show Submenu Items, but the second module doesn't show anything unless I am on the parent item. Is there a way I can make it ALWAYS show the submenu items, regardless of the parent item selected? I don't mind editing a file to hack it in. I want the submenu items to always appear no matter what.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:39 pm

bomax, set one module to show all levels and the Always Show Submenu Items will work. What you suggest does not make any sense.

bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:03 pm

Thanks for your help.

If I set the "main menu" module to start/end level 0/0, then all menu items disappear from both menus for some reason, except for the very first item on the root level.

If I set the "main menu" module to start/end levels 0/1/, then all root level items appear properly, but the sub-menu items only appear when I've selected the parent.

I think in my original explanation I was using levels 1 and 2 when I should have said levels 0 and 1.

To recap:

Main menu levels start/end: 0/1
Second menu levels start/end: 1/1

If I set the second menu levels to 0/0 then it does always show, but it shows the root items as well as the sub menu items. I just want it to show sub menu items.

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:59 pm

bomax,

Yes - most confusing nomenclature.

Menu item level 0 refers to the top most parent
Menu item level 1 refers to a child of the top most parent.

You have it right now.
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:36 pm

Thank you. But I am still having the problem of the submenu items on the secondary menu not appearing unless the parent item is selected on the main menu.

djohnson1215
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Escondido, CA 92026
Contact:

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by djohnson1215 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:55 pm

bomax wrote:Thank you. But I am still having the problem of the submenu items on the secondary menu not appearing unless the parent item is selected on the main menu.
Pls post your URL so we can take a look. People use the term sub-menu to mean several things so it would be helpful to see your site to better understand your issues.
D. Johnson
Technology is our advantage;
performance our passion

http://www.positionresearch.com

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:48 am


bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:21 am

That's what I did. And you can see the result at the URL I posted. The submenu is not showing up all the time like I want.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:44 am

It will not show because there are no child items for some of the parents.
A submenu will only show those items that are a child of the active parent.

bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:11 pm

Is there a way I can hack one of the files to make it always show the child menus of the one parent?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:14 pm

Make it a separate menu and not as submenu items.

bomax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:35 pm

Re: Submenu items not showing

Post by bomax » Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:10 pm

That breaks the breadcrumbs though.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Bug Reporting”