Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

This forum is for reporting bugs in Joomla!. Please don't report problems with extensions in here.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
boyd
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 5:42 am

Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by boyd » Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:44 pm

I have been trying to solve this for a long time now. I've tried it on 1.0 and 1.5 and both seem to not work. I am using a wrapper that is on my own domain so it should work.

I have two versions of joomla on my website located at:
boydhowell.com/main (Joomla 1.0)
boydhowell.com/professional (Joomla 1.5)

The one I'm more concerned about is the professional one. As it is currently set up, every link but one is a wrapper and I cannot get the auto-height to work

And whenever I click the "auto-height" it ignores it an only makes the height based on the pixel height listed. I need it to auto height because the template has a fluid width and could easily be different depending on the monitor resolution viewing it. Please let me know if you have any ideas for solutions to this, even a work around.

Thanks in advance.

boyd
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 5:42 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by boyd » Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:24 am

Can someone help?

I've seen this problem before, but never a resolution to it. Is it just not possible to do with Joomla? If so, is there another CMS that you can recommend, I like Joomla but this is definitely a deal breaker. :(

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mcsmom » Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:19 pm

Why are you using so many wrappers? Why not just use external urls? Just curious why you prefer the iframes.
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

omidkia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by omidkia » Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:38 am

I am having the same problem at www.MyGI.info/forum/, although I have not tried in Safari to see if it works. Only in FF2, FF3 and IE. All of them are failing to auto resize the height, although they were working several days ago. I haven't changed the site since.

pandaking
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:25 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by pandaking » Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:27 am

I am also having this problem. Try as I might, it won't auto height.

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mcsmom » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:15 am

There was bug report about this and when I tested it, it turned out to be related to something in the css of the wrapped page.
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

lvictor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:49 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by lvictor » Wed Mar 18, 2009 6:24 pm

I have this issue too... I use wrapper because I want the header, left nav and footer all wrapped around the page (using a helpdesk that doesn't have a Joomla version, but want it to look like part of the site!)

Kyanzes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:32 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Kyanzes » Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:04 am

Having this issue. Once again. Strange thing: the auto height works flawlessly offline on my private server. Now that I've uploaded it, the functions ceased to work. No auto height for me. Could be some restriction problem (had a lot of those in regard of other modules). Still looking.

mattrobo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mattrobo » Mon Oct 12, 2009 2:25 pm

Did you ever solve this as I have the same problem and forcing the height does not work.
Fishing Charters Base - online booking of Fishing Charters

Kyanzes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:32 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Kyanzes » Mon Oct 12, 2009 2:45 pm

I, personally, couldn't solve it, so I use articles instead of wrappers and Sourcerer, which enables the use of PHP code. I fiddled with wrappers for a while but couldn't make the auto-height function work properly.

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ntent/5051

mattrobo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mattrobo » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:01 am

Thanks for the help Kyanzes.

I installed it no problems. I am just using the iframe code in the {source} but it seems that internet explorer is ignoring the height of 100% but reading it as 100px.

did you use something other than iframe? Can you paste a sample of your code?

Matthew
Fishing Charters Base - online booking of Fishing Charters

Kyanzes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:32 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Kyanzes » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:26 am

I use the article class built in to Joomla instead of iFrames. I couldn't make iFrames work properly. It seems there's some timout problem, though I cannot be sure. When I say timout, I mean that sometimes the height setting would work sometimes won't, as if the loading time would have something to do with it. At least that's how it looks like.

The "article class" is the class that Joomla uses to wrap article content. I quite simply put/include everything in articles. The height of the articles is always correct. Never shorter, never longer than expected.

mattrobo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mattrobo » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:49 am

I am a bit lost with "article class" I am creating artciles under the content menu. But in those articles is where I was trying to iframe another peice of software on my own server. is that what you mean? If so how do you embed that software into an article?

sorry that you are now using more time on this than you expected :(
Fishing Charters Base - online booking of Fishing Charters

Kyanzes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:32 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Kyanzes » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:05 am

Well, you could simply include the PHP file you wish to run on the server side by using Sourcerer. When I say "article class" I simply mean that you should embed the code in an article.

After installing Sourcer, you could put something like this in the article body (where you would normally enter simple text):

{source}
<?php

include 'myphpfile.php';

?>
{/source}

In other words, instead of using iFrame, you should embed your code as above. I hope this makes some sense to you.

mattrobo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mattrobo » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:38 am

thansk for that. I needed a new thinking direction. Whilst this works as you say it does not work in my case as this software I am trying to wrap/iframe/include does too much in its php and kills the article , template and the lot :) gives a nice blank screen. :(
Fishing Charters Base - online booking of Fishing Charters

Kyanzes
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:32 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Kyanzes » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:57 am

One thing that seemed to kill my template (and Joomla in general) was termination of SQL connections. When an embedded code uses procedural way of closing the MySQL connection instead of using an object based approach, the whole engine loses connection to the MySQL server. Should it be the case, simply omit the line that drops the connection. Just an idea. Could be a lot of other things I guess.

mattrobo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by mattrobo » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:20 am

the software that I am using has a file like abc.php that causes this problem is that it is encrypted

= dead end

Thansk for your help.
Fishing Charters Base - online booking of Fishing Charters

User avatar
iamalive
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by iamalive » Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:08 pm

Hi
Has this actually been taken up by the development team?

I have been looking through a lot of different forums, including those of the applications I am running inside a wrapper (Moodle, SMF) and the number of times this has been reported as a problem is quite staggering. Clearly this is not a trivial bug, but one that is affecting a very large number of joomla! users.

Can we have some input from the bug killers or development on this issue, please?

Regards
David
David Jakob
http://websites4u.ch for stressfree websites

User avatar
iamalive
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

It's something to do with refresh

Post by iamalive » Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:20 pm

Hi again
After a million experiments ;-) I noticed that whenever the wrapped content exceeded the wrapper size, hitting refresh (f5) cleared the problem.

I don't know if it's relevant, but it seems to me that there needs to some kind of "autorefresh" whenever a change takes place to a page inside the wrapper.

Hope this helps.

Regards
David
David Jakob
http://websites4u.ch for stressfree websites

ChrBarbas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by ChrBarbas » Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:14 pm

Hallo

Well, I am not a developer, I have only experience by working on my sites.

Just before days I have updated one of mine from Joomla 1.0.10 to Joomla 1.5.15

Before that I have copy my hole server at my hard drive, installed WAMP and played around for a little.

I have mentioned the following, when the smf directory was in joomla directory, the auto height has not worked

When I had moved the smf directory outside the joomla directory, the auto height has worked 100%.

I am trying to find a way to try this also online at my server to see it works there too.


Christopher

uwais
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:09 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by uwais » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:17 am

hi, does someone have found a solution ???
I also have experienced the same case, and in my case can be solved very easily.
in the URL section make sure there is no prefix http://, so just let www.anywebpage.com. the latter confirm in the section 'advanced parameters' auto-add option is selected.

Thian
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:30 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by Thian » Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:29 am

Is there a solution to this, I have the same problem as well

User avatar
oldskule
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Midwest, USA
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by oldskule » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:42 pm

I had tried everything suggested on a thousand forums to solve this for myself in 1.5.
Regardless of what I tried, it did not work.

Finally resolved by changing the whole JS Function in:
/components/com_wrapper/views/wrapper/tmpl/default.php

Code: Select all

  function iFrameHeight()
  {
	var the_height=
	document.getElementById('blockrandom').contentWindow.
	document.body.scrollHeight;
	document.getElementById('blockrandom').height=
	the_height;
  }
Full file is attached.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
losthillsguy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:16 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by losthillsguy » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:05 pm

oldskule wrote:I had tried everything suggested on a thousand forums to solve this for myself in 1.5.
Regardless of what I tried, it did not work.

Finally resolved by changing the whole JS Function in:
/components/com_wrapper/views/wrapper/tmpl/default.php

Code: Select all

  function iFrameHeight()
  {
	var the_height=
	document.getElementById('blockrandom').contentWindow.
	document.body.scrollHeight;
	document.getElementById('blockrandom').height=
	the_height;
  }
Full file is attached.
I inserted the new default.php file in the proper directory and it now seems to work.

What are we supposed to do with the user.php? What does it do?


As a ironic side note... on this forum auto height seems to work and it's the same thing I'm doing.
phpbb inside of joomla!

User avatar
oldskule
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Midwest, USA
Contact:

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by oldskule » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:24 pm

oops. if I included user.php, it wasn't intentional. junk that file.
I only altered default.php

User avatar
losthillsguy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:16 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by losthillsguy » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:32 pm

Thanks

Note to others. I overwrote the file /components/com_wrapper/views/wrapper/tmpl/default.php

with yours and now auto height works. Magic ;)

monalh
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:33 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by monalh » Wed Mar 07, 2012 6:07 am

I have also problems with auto height doesn't working when I'm using wrapper to integrate my Wordpress blog in Joomla 2.5. Link to the specific page here: http://www.wayosi.no/b-litter-blog.
I have scrollbar auto, and auto height to yes. I also used the default.php as described in one of the abow posts. But still doesn't work. Please, any idea anyone?

Mona

LifeGuard
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:59 am

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by LifeGuard » Mon May 21, 2012 4:45 am

Code: Select all

  function iFrameHeight()
  {
   var the_height=
   document.getElementById('blockrandom').contentWindow.
   document.body.scrollHeight;
   document.getElementById('blockrandom').height=
   the_height;
  }
I solved the problem of auto height in joomla 2.5
Thanks oldskule

thefreer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:37 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by thefreer » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:25 pm

Hi,

Auto height works without problem, except when loading an accordion content, when clicking on an accordion, the height auto sets but there is something about 100px missing and that's exactly where the submit button is.

Any idea how I can resolve that?

thefreer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:37 pm

Re: Wrapper Auto-Height Problems.

Post by thefreer » Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:38 pm

Ok, I found a solution, the fix provided by oldskule didn't work for me on joomla 2.5.6.

I just modified to original one and add 50px more, it works now, also I was looking to change this value in components, In my my case it was in modules as I used a module.

Thanks anyway.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Bug Reporting”