Wrapper auto height error in IE9

This forum is for reporting bugs in Joomla!. Please don't report problems with extensions in here.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:25 pm

Hi, I use Joomla 1.5.23 and I have just installed IE9 but when I see my web, "Wrapper auto height" is not working ok. In Firefox or Safari Works OK. Any idea? Thanks!

tepepa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by tepepa » Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:55 pm

I confirm!
it's ok with firefox and chrome. no way with ie9!

any idea?

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:08 pm

We are still waiting for a solution !!!
Help Us !!!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:24 pm

Have you tried using different Templates ?

Define 'not working' ? Doesn't open at all ? Opens but no text ? Opens but won't scroll ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:56 pm

Webdongle wrote:Have you tried using different Templates ?

Define 'not working' ? Doesn't open at all ? Opens but no text ? Opens but won't scroll ?
In my case, this is happening in different Templates.
The Wrapper auto height only shows 100px but is not working ok, adapting the height to 100% when is necessary.
I hope you understand my explication. Sorry for my English!

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:01 am

This is the same in default Templates like: rhuk_milkyway or JA_Purity.
This is happening to me in all my Joomla webs… only in IE9!
Help! tHANKS!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:18 am

roderiko wrote:.....
The Wrapper auto height only shows 100px but is not working ok, adapting the height to 100% when is necessary.
I hope you understand my explication. Sorry for my English!
Still don't know what you mean by 'not working'.
Window does not open ?
Window opens with no content ?
Window opens screen max not defined height ?
....

In the Menu Item Type 'iframe wrapper' configuration

'Auto height' is a Yes/No setting not a numerical setting.

The 'Height' parameter is is a numerical setting not a numerical px setting
100 is correct
100px is incorrect.

For the 'Height' parameter to be in effect the 'Auto height' must be set 'No'
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:29 am

This was working ok till IE9 appeared. The configuration was ok and this is working ok in all the other FF, Safari, tec.
The Window does not open 100% take a look at this:
http://www.elgallocantor.com/portal/ind ... &Itemid=78

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:47 am

Are you speaking of the Menu Item Type 'iframe wrapper' or the 'Wrapper' option in a menu for a phpbb Bridging Component ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:08 pm

Webdongle wrote:Are you speaking of the Menu Item Type 'iframe wrapper' or the 'Wrapper' option in a menu for a phpbb Bridging Component ?
Hi. I’m talking about the Menu Item Type 'iframe wrapper' configuration.
This was OK always, in all the Browsers, except IE9.

My configuration is:
Auto height; YES
Scrollbars; NO (Yes or Auto is the same)
Width; 100%
Height; No (before 100%) The problem is the same
Auto Add (for http); NO / YES is the same
Show the Page Title: NO

The problems stays the same, with your configuration or mine, this is working ok in IE9-
:'(

THANKS!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:31 pm

Is it only a problem when you wrap phpbb and view in IE9 or for anything wrapped and viewed in IE9.

If other pages are OK and it's only when phpbb is wrapped then try using a Bridge http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... idges/3723 is popular

But if the problem exists for any page wrapped and viewed in IE9 then consider opening up a bug report. http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... cker_id=32 search see if it's been reported. If not then you can add at the bottom right.
Last edited by Webdongle on Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

roderiko
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by roderiko » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:39 pm

OK THANKS!"

tepepa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:43 am

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by tepepa » Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:42 pm

BTW the problem is for all the wrapped pages!
:(

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:03 pm

@tepepa
Asked and answered
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

LN_888
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 5:04 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by LN_888 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:48 pm

I don;t understand.

I have auto height set for a listings section located on my own server. It works just FANTASTIC if I use Chrome... but it will not work with ANY OTHER BROWSER!!!!

I am trying to have it so that no height scroll bars show... like I said, works fantastic in Chrome. Why is it that ALL OTHER RECENT BROWSERS still show a scroll bar/not auto-heighting??!!

PS... Joomla 1.7

karlhenselin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by karlhenselin » Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:12 pm

I am having the same problem. Scroll bars are added though I am asking it not to and the height doesn't go down as needed for the page. Joomla 1.7.3 is my version. My options are set as


Scroll Bars Auto
Width 100%
Height 200
Auto Height Yes

I didn't see a solution in the post yet, so I am hoping that one has been found since, but not posted here.

karlhenselin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by karlhenselin » Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:38 pm

I tried updating Mootools manually to see if that would help. I updated the core to 1.4.2 and the more to 1.4.0.1. No luck. I decided to just manually make the heights greater on the pages that are getting scroll bars instead of auto-heighting.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37463
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by Webdongle » Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:00 pm

Perhaps the problem is fixed heights in your Template ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

karlhenselin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by karlhenselin » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:19 pm

Finally got it.
I did both this

Joomla 1.7 Solution Iframe error on height 100%, com_wrapper, mod_wrapper

Following code tested in:
FF: 8.01
IE: 9
Chromo Google 15.0.874.121 m
Opera 11.52

in: \components\com_wrapper\views\wrapper\tmpl\default.php
in: \modules\mod_wrapper\tmpl\default.php

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

function iFrameHeight() {
var f = document.getElementById('blockrandom');
f.style.height = '100px' ;
var d = (f.contentWindow.document || f.contentDocument) ;

var height = Math.max(d.documentElement.scrollHeight, d.body.scrollHeight) ;

height += 20; // scrollbars?
f.style.height = height + 'px' ;
f.setAttribute("height", height) ;

}
</script>
from http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f ... 4&start=60

and turned scroll to no instead of auto, and it works now just fine in IE9, so that makes me happy.

User avatar
JohnDevise
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:34 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Wrapper auto height error in IE9

Post by JohnDevise » Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:21 pm

I don't want to say anything wrong , but the IE is loosing his popularity more and more . I think it's a week browser then many others .


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Bug Reporting”