Cant upload component after using FTP folder & install dir.

Moderator: mudotmy

Locked
pkchamp
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 pm

Cant upload component after using FTP folder & install dir.

Post by pkchamp » Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:43 pm

Ran into the usual challenges trying to upload a new component into Joomla (ai contactsafe) and then did the work around following these directions:

"First, unzip all of the files locally. Then transfer the files (using FTP) to a folder in the install directory (for example administrator/components/com_installer/components) for the type of
extension you are installing. Then use the installer, but select "install from directory" indicating the correct folder name. This folder name should be an absolute path from the root of the filesystem."

I've unzipped and created the path but still getting an error. Do I need to do something different and point to the install script? I'm on Windows server so is it getting screwed because of improper use of "\" vs "/"? Do I need the "tmp" in the directory?

Does this appear to be correct?

Install from Directory:
D:\Hosting\7412924\html\administrator\components\com_installer\components
Or
D:\Hosting\7412924\html\tmp\administrator\components\com_installer\components


INSTALL from URL:
http://my-URL.com/administrator/compone ... components

I am stumped! Please help!

flusercom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cant upload component after using FTP folder & install d

Post by flusercom » Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:45 pm

\ or / same in unix...
http://fluser.com/ - Business Directories
http://www.news.fluser.com/ - Fluser Top News

Matt Bourne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:33 pm

Re: Cant upload component after using FTP folder & install d

Post by Matt Bourne » Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:22 pm

I also use that component, a swift one

you can try to increase your upload limit to comprehend the maximum size limit

so, no need to upload from the directory

IMHO :)


Locked

Return to “Malaysian Forum”