Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Locked
User avatar
webwannabee
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Canada...by a big lake..up 'north'

Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by webwannabee » Wed May 23, 2007 8:51 pm

So here I am bothering people about these extensions again..I would post at the extension sites, except I didn't have these types of issues with Joomla 1.0.12, just with trying extensions on Joomla 1.5.  So if anyone is trying 'Simple Image Gallery', and gets it to work please let me know.  You are supposed to be able to just insert this line of text, anywhere inside a content item, and it pulls up the images from whatever folder you specified (provideing it is inside  images/stories:  {gallery}our_pics{/gallery}  I put  a folder our_pics  in  stories, with two pics in it, and inserted that code, but only saw  'Welcome to Joomla blah blah  {gallery}our_pics{/gallery}.....the code, not the gallery.  disappointing.  Do I need to change a setting about the 'write to modules' or something?  right now it's set to no in the backend.
"Seek and ye shall find..OK not too original, but sooo true of this forum!!

lcphotostudio
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:02 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by lcphotostudio » Sat May 26, 2007 11:49 pm

i am getting the same problem and im pulling my hair out trying to figure out why it wont work.      i have it published.  i have the code correct.  i have used other programs of thiers with no problem.  but all isee is {gallery}folder{/gallery}

I am not on 1.5

thanks
SEO / SEM http://seomadam.com
Web design and development http://skytopdesigns.com

User avatar
webwannabee
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Canada...by a big lake..up 'north'

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by webwannabee » Sun May 27, 2007 12:31 am

I actually had it going on 1.0.12, then started messing around with 1.5, now I'm fed up and decided to pay for hosting/domain name etc.  and just have something 'out there' even on 1.0.12 while I wait for the  STABLE 1.5!  Currently I'm pulling my hair out trying to get a Joomla site up (new to having things hosted) but when I get thru it, I might look at that again, can't promise how soon though.  I know what you mean about being frustrated though, and it is a nice extension when it works. good luck.
"Seek and ye shall find..OK not too original, but sooo true of this forum!!

lcphotostudio
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:02 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by lcphotostudio » Sun May 27, 2007 12:36 am

what problems are you running into getting your site up. mabey i can offer a hand.
SEO / SEM http://seomadam.com
Web design and development http://skytopdesigns.com

User avatar
webwannabee
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Canada...by a big lake..up 'north'

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by webwannabee » Sun May 27, 2007 1:23 am

I think that's really nice of you, thanks. So far the tech's on the hosting site (Rochen hosting)  have been  pretty helpful, trying to figure where I went wrong  :laugh: And I know I must have, being hosted is new to me, was just getting the grasp of a local server, which is different. It's all pretty much explained, some where or other, I'm just being tired and slightly incoherant, but just want to get
the site up.  My domain has probably not 'resolved' yet (just got yesterday) so I'm told to connect via the server:    I can finally log in to see my Joomla page (can only do so by clicking on the this:  http://servername.directrouter.com/username and password, and not the direct domain/site name yet.  Then I see this: Image
They notice I don't have a  index.html and suggest that I 'ftp' the index.html to my root...THAT I might need your help with lol, it's easy for me on a local server when I can see all the files on  here..
"Seek and ye shall find..OK not too original, but sooo true of this forum!!

lcphotostudio
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:02 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by lcphotostudio » Sun May 27, 2007 1:56 am

from the imaga you have there ,  it looks like you dont have the css file loaded either.    but once you get everything with the domain name straight it will be easier to see what is going on.

let me know

Lisa
SEO / SEM http://seomadam.com
Web design and development http://skytopdesigns.com

User avatar
webwannabee
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Canada...by a big lake..up 'north'

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by webwannabee » Sun May 27, 2007 2:02 am

*edit.. Ok, I do have WS FTP on here, not sure how to use it though, probably fairly simple.  By tomorrow my domain would be resolved. (Time to put the kids to bed anyway lol)  I wonder if I could impose on you further, if I show you a few screenshots, help me get that darn index/CSS file in there. Don't know why it didn't work, I thought using the Fantastico installer on cPanel would be easy/flawless.  Sometime tomorrow or whenever you're not too busy, thanks Lisa
Karen
Last edited by webwannabee on Sun May 27, 2007 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Seek and ye shall find..OK not too original, but sooo true of this forum!!

lcphotostudio
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:02 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by lcphotostudio » Sun May 27, 2007 2:27 am

i have ws ftp, its great!! i always use it.    not sure what you have on there already.  once you can get into your hosting youll be okay.    follow the set up wizard on  ftp,  it took me a few times to get it straign on how it wanted the info.    then just find the file on your computer on the left and find where you need to go on the right. it may take some looking.  then on the left click once on the file you want to move, then click the arrow (left to right)  and it will upload for you. 

send me some screenshots and ill walk you through.    not sure about tomorrow,  its memorial weekend here in the USA (not sure where you are)  but send them anyway. 


my kids are already in bed  :):)
Lisa
SEO / SEM http://seomadam.com
Web design and development http://skytopdesigns.com

User avatar
webwannabee
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Canada...by a big lake..up 'north'

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by webwannabee » Sun May 27, 2007 12:25 pm

i appreciate your kind offer, but just enjoy your Memorial weekend :)  Think I'll leave the computer a bit and do something with the kids...wish it would stop raining though :( Anyway, if I haven't got this straight by Tuesday, there'll be screenshots lol
ps.  firts thing I'll install again when I'm sorted, will be Simple Image Gallery, then maybe I might be of some help to you too.
"Seek and ye shall find..OK not too original, but sooo true of this forum!!

lcphotostudio
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:02 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by lcphotostudio » Sun May 27, 2007 2:24 pm

not raining here......yet.      okay though , have a good day .  my email is skytopdesigns@aol.com.  you can shoot me an emailwith any questions or screenshots.

have fun!
SEO / SEM http://seomadam.com
Web design and development http://skytopdesigns.com

cavijayan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:59 pm

Re: Can't get Simple Image Gallery2 working with 1.5

Post by cavijayan » Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:00 pm

Hi

Anyone still need Simple Image Gallery Plugin Joomla 1.5 Version ?

Because i've recoded it ... Its working fully.

Just drop me a email cavijayan at gmail.com

I will send you the file ....


Locked

Return to “Third Party Testing for Joomla! 1.5”