[9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

[9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby ircmaxell » Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:21 pm

Discussion for tracker artifact 9366 http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla/tracker/?action=TrackerItemEdit&tracker_item_id=9366

A few points:
I mentioned REQUEST_URI because, using Apache, Joomla uses that to generate the base uri.  So if you set it like I sugested, it may remove that part of the path from the part of the urls that Joomla generates.

A note on artifcat priority. You can read the definitions of priority at http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-devel/web/artefact-priorities

I classified this issue as "normal priority" because it's defined as
Issues that are hindering advertised behaviour but the application is still workable.  Examples would include parameters not working as advertised, language files not loading as expected, etc.
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
masterchief
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2316
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:45 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: [9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby masterchief » Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:10 pm

This is a similar problem to the reverse proxy issue.

Personally, I think the easiest solution is to add an "Advanced" tab to Global Configuration, add a new variable something like "Fixed Live Site URL" and then JURI::base() looks at this first.  I think this is the easiest way to knock these issues on the head.

What do you think?
Andrew Eddie - Tweet @AndrewEddie
<><
http://eddify.me
http://www.kiva.org/team/joomla - Got Joomla for free? Pay it forward and help fight poverty.

shumisha
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: [9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby shumisha » Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:50 am

Hi,

While we are at it, I'd suggest also a "Secure live site URL" as well. Last time I checked, J! still switched to SSL by using https+Live site URL. Many people on shared host use a totally different url, provided by their host, when going SSL (I have such a Secure URL in sh404SEF, needed for e-commerce users).

Regards
See all about sh404sef and wbAMP at https://weeblr.com
I don't reply to PM anymore. Thanks for using sh404SEF and wbAMP

ezindy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:38 am

Re: [9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby ezindy » Mon May 19, 2008 10:34 pm

Hello,

I would like to confirm that this is a problem for me too. I'm testing Joomla 1.5.3 and didn't think there would be an issue, since the functionality was present in the 1.0.X series.

What I have:
http://mydomain/j1 <- this is where my joomla site is
http://mydomain/j2 <- backup site + backup database, synced regularly with j1, used for testing updates.
http://mydomain has a .htaccess that redirects every request like http://mydomain/something to http://mydomain/j1/something ... or http://mydomain/j2/something

I need to force Joomla 1.5 to use http://mydomain/ as the base URL, not the inferred http://mydomain/j1

Please don't let this feature request slip under the radar!

Regards,
Egor

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: [9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby ircmaxell » Mon May 19, 2008 10:59 pm

ezindy wrote:Hello,

I would like to confirm that this is a problem for me too. I'm testing Joomla 1.5.3 and didn't think there would be an issue, since the functionality was present in the 1.0.X series.

What I have:
http://mydomain/j1 <- this is where my joomla site is
http://mydomain/j2 <- backup site + backup database, synced regularly with j1, used for testing updates.
http://mydomain has a .htaccess that redirects every request like http://mydomain/something to http://mydomain/j1/something ... or http://mydomain/j2/something

I need to force Joomla 1.5 to use http://mydomain/ as the base URL, not the inferred http://mydomain/j1

Please don't let this feature request slip under the radar!

Regards,
Egor
This has been fixed since 1.5.1... There's a $live_site var in configuration.php that you can use...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

zindy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:27 pm

Re: [9366] Discussion, lack of configurable base URL.

Postby zindy » Tue May 20, 2008 8:04 am

Good enough for me. Sorry about the rant.

Regards,
Egor


Return to “Q&T 1.5.x Resolved”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests