DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
Locked
Geoff
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Location: 127.0.0.1

DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by Geoff » Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:52 pm

Discussion: FAQ: How to change PHP settings using .htaccess
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,100847.0.html
Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess

spidersilk
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:17 pm

Re: DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by spidersilk » Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:11 pm

I tried adding an .htaccess file with the rule "php_flag register_globals off" as per the instructions, but Joomla still puts up a warning saying that register_globals is ON. Did I do something wrong, or does Joomla just not recognize changes to PHP through .htaccess?

User avatar
muskiediver
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:15 pm

Re: DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by muskiediver » Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:57 pm

Same problem here.  Any work arounds?

kryps
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:19 pm

Re: DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by kryps » Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:18 pm

.htaccess is for platforms running Apache only.  I believe .htaccess will not work on Windows' IIS

Also, your hosting platform may have set it so that .htaccess will not override PHP's settings.

User avatar
muskiediver
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:15 pm

Re: DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by muskiediver » Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:20 pm

I have apache on a redhat linux server

ratmando
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:46 am

Re: DISCUSSION: How to Change PHP Settings using .htaccess

Post by ratmando » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:18 pm

In our case, we purchase space from a third party web host, so we don't have direct access to servers, and they don't allow us to change the files on protected areas... So, when we install the nifty toys, (joomla ie), we use the admin panels, but we  have no back end access other than those Admin configs provided in the programming. We don't get a workaround. What are options for people like me?

Rat.


Locked

Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”