exclude pathway on frontpage w/opensef

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
Locked
User avatar
eskimex
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Contact:

exclude pathway on frontpage w/opensef

Post by eskimex » Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:34 pm

i tried the FAQ about how to exclude the homepage when printing pathways, but it didnt work. i think its because i am using opensef.  how do i exclude the homepage for pathways when using opensef?

i want it so that when the page is http://www.mysite.com , no pathway is shown. but anything else should have a pathway.

please help me, im thinking it should be really simple

would i be able to use
$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] ?

... how exactly would i do that :)

Nathan
Last edited by eskimex on Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
eskimex
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Contact:

Re: exclude pathway on frontpage w/opensef

Post by eskimex » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:11 pm

eskimex wrote: i tried the FAQ about how to exclude the homepage when printing pathways, but it didnt work. i think its because i am using opensef.  how do i exclude the homepage for pathways when using opensef?

i want it so that when the page is http://www.mysite.com , no pathway is shown. but anything else should have a pathway.

please help me, im thinking it should be really simple

would i be able to use
$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] ?

... how exactly would i do that :)

Nathan
This is the deal:
$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] produces index.php on any page, no matter what the URL is.
$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"] gives you the index.php?*************** joomla URL before opensef gets to it.
if you want to omit or include in only certain pages, use:
$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"]

To disable the "pathway" or "breadcrumbs" only on the frontpage (cause it looks dumb to have an unclickable "home " printed on your frontpage): Insert this code where you want your pathway to appear



This code omits the pathway on the home page... where '/' is the root directory. (ie. homepage)

Perhaps this should be added to the existing:
"FAQ: How do I eliminate the pathway or breadcrumbs?"
or made into: FAQ: How do I eliminate the pathway or breadcrumbs when using opensef?

just a suggestion, cause i wish it would have been there for me.

As a side point, this code could be useful if you want to display a banner only on the frontpage. or things of that nature.


Locked

Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”