FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by MarkV » Wed Sep 07, 2005 7:25 am

On error 3. Make sure the db name in configuration.php is correct.

(if written some test scripts based on our old CMS)
http://www.myinc.nl/joomla/dbtest.zip
edit dbcon to use your database and the right db table.
use dbcon.php to create a database connection and get info from de banner table

use path.php to get your absolute path.

Checked everything but still getting errors? Make sure you user has rights to read the db.
Last edited by MarkV on Wed Sep 07, 2005 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla insite

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:44 am

I've gotten the #2 version of this.  I have to get my ISP to reset MYSQL and it solves the problem.

nkendrick
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:12 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by nkendrick » Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:06 am

When I used PHPMyAdmin to rename a database from Mambo to Joomla and to change all table prefixes from mos_ to jos_, I started to get error message 3.

I eventually discovered that the MySQL user associated with the database ('mbuser') still only have access privileges to 'Mambo' so it seems that PHPMyAdmin does not transfer user privileges when it renames a database.

Once I changed the privileges manually everything worked fine and I was mambo-free and fully Joomla'd!

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:06 pm

I never changed from mos to jos.  Hope I don't have to later!  Sounds like a pain.

User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by MarkV » Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:19 pm

Some database servers use non default settings. Ask your hostingpartner for the right adres to de db server.
Sometimes 127.0.0.1 is not correct either. You have to user localhost.
Example: $mosConfig_host = 'localhost'; instead of $mosConfig_host = '127.0.0.1';
cheers
Joomla insite

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:40 pm

I've been told by my isp that you need to create a user other than your main/cpanel user and give that user permissions to joomla.  That supposedly will help prevent the error 2 can't connect to the database problem from happening.  I've done this and so far it has worked ok.

debwire
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:47 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by debwire » Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:48 pm

I just implemented my site again after taking it down to install Joomla over another app. Now that it's implemented I keep getting error #2. I've contacted my host and they say I keep exceeding my allowed 30 concurrent database connections and proposed the following:
you have 30 concurrent mysql connections, if you use all of them, it will show that msg error.

These errors can be prevented by making some coding tweaks into your code.
1. Use of mysql_connect() for connections to mysql dbs in your code. The advantage is :
"The link to the server will be closed as soon as the execution of the script ends, unless it's closed earlier by explicitly calling mysql_close()."
A detailed explanation can be found at :
http://us3.php.net/manual/en/function.mysql-connect.php
2. Use of mysql_close() explicitly. Although mysql_connect() closes the connections, use of mysql_close() in conjunction with it would make sure that the connection is totally closed.
3. Prevent use of mysql_pconnect(). The disadvantage is :
"The connection to the SQL server will not be closed when the execution of the script ends. Instead, the link will remain open for future use (mysql_close() will not close links established by mysql_pconnect)"
More details at :
http://us3.php.net/manual/en/functio...l-pconnect.php
Now what do I do???? I have no idea what they are talking about and I cannot keep having my site erroring out. I didn't have this problem when I used Drupal and I'd rather use Joomla. Someone please advise. I've done most of the recommendations in the posts within this topic (create a new username dedicated to joomla, etc.). Help!

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:07 pm

Haven't heard of that one.  Do you have one mysql user other than your cpanel user? 

debwire
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:47 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by debwire » Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:17 pm

Yes I do. I created a new user just for Joomla and updated my config file for Joomla to reflect that new user. Joomla is the only thing running on my site so I don't know how I'm possibly exceeding its limits. I have Joomla installed on another site wthout any of these problems (yet).

This is getting ridiculous too. I've been tweaking my site for the past 2 hours or so with it erroring out every few minutes. I've even disabled some plugins/modules/components hoping that might solve the problem. Any ideas?
Last edited by debwire on Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

debwire
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:47 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by debwire » Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:00 pm

Anyone? Is that my host provided for guidance above going to fix it and how do I change the code and where? This temporarily unavailable error #2 is STILL happening even when I uninstalled all sorts of plugins Help please!! How do I fix this problem??? I've put way too much work in developing this site to abandon Joomla without a solution.

http://www.interracialweb.com is the site.
Last edited by debwire on Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kenmcd
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5672
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Location: California
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by kenmcd » Sun Nov 27, 2005 1:42 am

Joomla does not use pconnect.

The biggest problem with cheap hosts is poor MySQL support.
Get a new host which provides better MySQL support.
██ LibreTraining

debwire
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:47 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by debwire » Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:26 pm

I am still having this problem and it's getting ridiculous. I've uninstalled numerous modules/components and slimmed my site down to 'nil. It's intermittent -- this temporarily unavailable (2) message and I see no way of resolving it. My host comes back and says that I've exceeded the limited 30 concurrent mysql sessions and that causes it and then in the next breath my site is running like normal. I just logged into joomla to add content to a content page and POOF! the damned error appeared again. What can I do here? This has been going on for more than a week on this new installation and newly designed site. I need some concrete help. What can I look for or look at to determine for myself what may be causing this problem?

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:38 pm

Are you being crawled or something?  Is that why?

debwire
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:47 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by debwire » Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:11 pm

Crawled by what? How could I tell?

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:47 pm

I'm wondering if you're getting slammed by a bunch of web bots (google, yahoo, msn or whoever)... 

Rocky
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:31 pm
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by Rocky » Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:34 am

Can I suggest that the following is added to the FAQ, it solved my issue for Error Message No. 2 and I have not seen it covered anywhere else on this board although there are many many people with this error.

Error 2. This can sometimes be due to using "localhost" instead of "127.0.0.1" to connect to your database. Some servers will work intermittantly with the "localhost" setting due to security setup and thus explains why your site might work fine one day then have error message 2 the next. Connect via FTP to your account and download the configuration.php file. Open in and change the bit that says localhost to 127.0.0.1. Upload the file back to the server and try your site now.

I hope this helps some people.
Last edited by Rocky on Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rocky
My 1st Joomla site > http://www.pspguides.net/

User avatar
mediaguru
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by mediaguru » Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:44 pm

I asked my provider about that very thing.  They said that doing it that way on my server wouldn't work as well because the server itself would have to forward from 127.0.0.1 to localhost.  It would be like adding an alias or an extra step for joomla to connect to the server.

Rocky
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:31 pm
Contact:

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by Rocky » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:00 pm

mediaguru wrote: I asked my provider about that very thing.  They said that doing it that way on my server wouldn't work as well because the server itself would have to forward from 127.0.0.1 to localhost.  It would be like adding an alias or an extra step for joomla to connect to the server.
Yep, that's why I said "Some servers... ". If anyone is having issues with this Error 2 problem it is worth trying this fix, or at the very least asking your host which is the correct setting to use because either of  the two options may work initially, but only one will be the correct option for your server config.
Rocky
My 1st Joomla site > http://www.pspguides.net/

User avatar
Laney
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:53 pm

FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by Laney » Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:42 pm

Unfortunately that didn't fix mine.  :(
I have emailed my webhost, let's see what they say.

thanks,

Laney
"In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act."

User avatar
wensveen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:32 am

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by wensveen » Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:09 pm

I think this information about front-end behavior should be in the manual in a clearly visible troubleshooting section (there is a troubleshooting section but I could only find it by using the search input thingy). When you get one of these errors it's very hard to find info, especially when you're not a avid forum user. One tends to RTFM first.

Just a suggestion. At least I know where to find it now :)

User avatar
teng
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Isabela, Philippines
Contact:

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by teng » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:53 pm

Upon upgrading my joomla site from mambo to joomla 1.08 i got the following message:
This site is temporarily unavailable.
Please notify the System Administrator
3
Before that message, i did the following to my cpanel:
1. Deleted my exisitng mambo db table
2. Created db table for joomla
3. deleted my mambo files (from /public_html)
4. uploaded joomla 1.08 files (to /public_html)

Then i got joomla admin ERROR 3 (as stated above) meaning:
Error 3 = FATAL ERROR: Database not found

Found Solution:

After long hours of searching for solution, I found out that my /public_html contains configuration.php and that belongs to mambo and i was not able to delete. Joomla installation package does not contain configuration.php. You only create this after successful installation and configuration.

After deleting configuration.php, my joomla installation runs smoothly.

fenyullow
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by fenyullow » Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:29 pm

I've been having this issue for several days, and couldn't fix it. Checked the db name in the configuration.php a number of times, asked ISP and no response yet, not sure what else I can do. Any suggestions?

User avatar
wensveen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:32 am

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by wensveen » Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:05 am

fenyullow wrote: I've been having this issue for several days, and couldn't fix it. Checked the db name in the configuration.php a number of times, asked ISP and no response yet, not sure what else I can do. Any suggestions?
What you can do to get a little more info is to remove the '@'-sign before the mysql_connect statements in includes/database.php. This should give you some sort of error message. If it doesn't, mysql might be not be compiled in your php installation. Or you might have a typo in the db name you configured.

fenyullow
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by fenyullow » Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:14 am

Problem solved. Somehow mysql username didn't join to the mysql database, it disjoined because it worked before. Thanks

bigjules
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:40 pm

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by bigjules » Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:54 pm

Hey guys,

it's been almost 2 weeks now, and in the past 24 hrs I got to this discussion.

I'm running joomla 1.07 and it was working fine on my old host. My old hosting company blows and I'm at 1and.com now

I'm still getting Error #2

Here's what I know/tried:
1)I tried replacing localhost with 127.0.0.1, did not help
2)I've changed my password that I had on my origional host back in my config.php and myphpadmin, no help
3)I'm pretty sure there's no typos or misundertsandings on my part in the config.php file.

The only thing I can say I don't know what to do, is that the $mosConfig_secret = line, has not changed and I don't know what that does.

Is there any other error reporting I can do, anything else to try, or anything I should be asking my hosting company 1and1.com?
Thanks

I'm still in the dark here...

M Jason Parent
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:20 pm

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by M Jason Parent » Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:41 pm

I had this problem this morning. I did the switch from localhost to 127.0.0.1 and it did nothing, except to prevent the site from going live when the database problem was fixed by the service host. So if switching from localhost to 127.0.0.1 doesn't work for you, make sure to switch back to the old configuration file.

bigjules
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:40 pm

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by bigjules » Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:07 pm

The one thing I don't follow is, how did oyu solve this problem. I change it back to localhost, thanks.

M Jason Parent
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:20 pm

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by M Jason Parent » Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:21 pm

bigjules wrote: The one thing I don't follow is, how did oyu solve this problem. I change it back to localhost, thanks.
I have no clue. I emailed my service provider, and it started working shortly thereafter.

bigjules
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:40 pm

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by bigjules » Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:37 pm

Hi,

I've solved my problem by needing to insert my hosts Host Name for the DB in the config.php where the IP normally goes.

User avatar
wensveen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:32 am

Re: FAQ: This site is temporarily unavailable - database issues

Post by wensveen » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:40 am

Hostname or IP shouldn't matter because sql servers don't see the hostname but only get a connection. Your provider probably doesn't run the sql server on the same machine as the webservice.
But anyway, if it works, it works! :)


Locked

Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”