FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:06 pm

I'm going to guess then - and it is just that - that you have a php file missing from your server, perhaps a file was dropped during transfer - it is a common enough occurrence.

Re-upload all php files, your ftp program will ask if you want to overwrite files that already exist - tell it 'No to all' (or similar).
This means that ONLY files that are not already on the server will be uploaded.
This should be safe - as long as you haven't edited any 'core' Joomla files.
You may want to take your site offline temporarily - while you do this.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

Virtute
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:31 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Virtute » Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:45 pm

I got tired of having to click on the browser address window and typing "www" on it for the editor to work everytime. I want to keep the "http://www." settings in the configuration.php file.also.

Instead, I just created a cheap redirect file and named it admin.php in my joomla site's root directory. So instead of typing http://www.yoursitedomain.com/administrator, I just type http://www.yoursitedomain.com/admin.php.  This directs it to the backend with the "www" in it. So it doesn't come up with http://yoursitedomain.com/administartor/index.php anymore but http://www.yoursitedomain.com/administrator/index.php

Code: Select all


<?php

header("Location: http://www.yoursitedomain.com/administrator/index.php"); /* Redirect browser */

exit;

?> 

Last edited by Virtute on Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

2buckets
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by 2buckets » Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:57 pm

We are trying to get an older 4.5.1. Mambo site ready for conversion to Joomla by upgrading to the latest Mambo version. That part is done but we now encounter a problem with adding new content in any Content Section.

When attempting to add new content, all fields auto fill with the last content item that was posted. Try to delete it there and we get an error message about duplication of content. Have deleted the item in the Content Items Manager and attempted to delete it in Trash Manager but get this error message " Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/myurl/public_html/administrator/components/com_trash/admin.trash.html.php on line 242"
This content item shows no ID # as well.

Having followed all the tips in this topic and many others, we are at a loss as to how to continue. Any help with links or a known fix will be welcome. Meanwhile, still searching the forums for a cure.
Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear
bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:56 am

I wouldn't update to any version of Mambo more recent than the Joomla split.
From memory - please do check - I think it was 4.5.3 actually 4.5.2

Anything since then will probably complicate matters and frankly from the test I've done - will prove to be a bug riddle pile of ...
Anyway - enough of the tangent already.

If you have come too far forward I would revert back to your backups and then move forward to 4.5.2 and onwards from there.

I don't know if you have seen this or not - but it contains all the steps you need once you are at 4.5.2:
http://help.joomla.org/content/view/818/181/

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:00 am

I just had an idea about your specific error - did you migrate your installation to a different server to do the upgrade, perhaps using phpMyAdmin to export the database? I have helped numerous people who lose the AUTO_INCEREMENT setting from their db when exporting. This means every article saved is saved with an id of 0 (zero) and the content already exists type of error you report.

You may need to go back to your original database and re-export your data, ensuring that AUTO_INCREMENT is exported along with the table structure.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

2buckets
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by 2buckets » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:36 am

Yes, it was a migration to a new server for the upgrade and, though I'm not sure, I expect that phpMyAdmin was used. My associate did the upgrade and move to the new server. This topic will be sent to her as well so that we are all aware of the possibilities for a cure.

The site is mine and I have all the back up data to revert to 4.5.1a stable and start over if needed. I might add that the content that is causing the problem was added by me to the original site after the data base back up was created and before the upgrade was performed. My bad!
Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear
bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:27 pm

Here is how to tell if it is an AUTO_INCREMENT problem.
Log into phpMyAdmin on your current database - the one you have upgraded.
Go to the structure tab.

Find the mos_content row in the listing.
Click on the 'structure' icon - second icon to the right of the table name.
Look along the 'id' field - to the 'extra' column.
Do you see auto_increment in the extra column?

If not you could add it - but the only problem is that ALL of your tables are going to exhibit the problem - and that is an awful lot of edits to make to the db tables.

This issue can arise in two ways: the person exporting the original DB missing the option to keep the auto_increments OR mismatches in versions of phpMyAdmin which fail to recognise each others output. Update your phpMyAdmin (or request you hosts do so) if you think this might be an issue. The later versions of phpMyAdmin allow data to be exported in a compatibility mode suitable for import by lesser versions where necessary. Updating the phpMyAdmin software on both ends produces much more reliable exporting / importing .

Good luck.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

2buckets
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by 2buckets » Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:11 am

The auto_increment is there in the id field and this particular problem is solved but another arises. I wish I could tell you what the problem was but I don't know at this point. It was my associate who repaired it.

I'm unable to access Site Modules after the repair. When I select one I get taken to the index/Home page and booted from the admin panel. All else seems to work great in the back end. We want to be sure that everything works properly in $ambo before switching the site over. I have another site that uses Joomla at http://naais.org that I just put up a couple of days ago so I could get familiar with the new Admin panel.
Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear
bright until you hear them speak.

Donnaa5dcp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:28 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Donnaa5dcp » Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am

I am going round and round in circles here. I really need some help. Im desperate to make this work.
I have the same problem with the save, close and apply buttons not working. Its when using the TinyMCE editor in Joomla because when I use the non WYSIWYG editor, Joomla works fine.

I have installed a standard Joomla install, on top of xampp. Apache 2.2.2, MySQL 5.0.21 & PHP 5.1.4. Joomla ver 1.0.11.

I am testing on a server and seeing everything through localhost. Joomla is placed under xampp/htcdocs.


Ive tried:
1. http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... 92378.html
The comments about the javascript not being in the head of the document dont make much sense, however when I view source the default Joomla page, there is no such line. Im a bit stuck on where this code is to add it, my index.php file (this is the one under htdocs) has no such line.

2.
When I log in and go to my admin profile to change the user editor the error on the page is:
Line:118 Char:51 Error: Expected ';' Code:0 URL: http://localhost/joomla/administrator/i ... nu=1&id=62

Should index2.php be there??? There is also an index.php file in the same folder.

So then I set my editor to be the tinyMCE editor...
Go back to manage my sections.
Section manager done but with errors on page:
Line:223 Char:51 Error: Expected ';' Code:0 URL: http://localhost/joomla/administrator/i ... pe=content.

I carry on a click to edit The news.make an amendment to the description with the tinyMCE editor. Go to save and javascript:submitbutton('save') appears in the bottom left footer.
Click on save, nothing works, error now on page:
Line:4237 Char:7 Error: unexpected quantifier Code:0 URL: http://localhost/joomla/administrator/i ... enu=1&id=1

PLEASE PLEASE offer me some help here, anyone!

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:46 pm

Might I suggest this related FAQ: entitled 'Admin menus missing or not working'.
Don't worry about that title - it is often another symptom of the same problem.

Start here:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,474.0.html
and work your way through as many of the steps as you can.

Note each of the steps you try - and what the outcome / observation of each is.
If you don't understand one of the steps - note that too.

I advise you to turn off ALL antivirus and Firewall protection while problem solving this issue.
Disconnect from the internet if that is a concern - although if you are behind a hardware firewall - built into a router for example, this is less of a worry.

You would be amazed how often these issues are triggered by interference from security software.

Work the problem from the beginning. Note down as much as you can and report back.
I will help you as much as is possible - although debugging someone elses 'localhost' installation is tricky.
If you could post the site online somewhere - say in a /test/ or /demo/ area of your webspace that might help.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

Donnaa5dcp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:28 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Donnaa5dcp » Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:12 pm

OK here goes. Im not running any anti virus. My computer is not connected to the internet. I cannot swap files across to upload anywhere on the net, security issue.

1. Does a different browser, or using a different computer alleviate the problems?
No other browser. IE only, its being built for an intranet
BrowserIE5

2. In IE you are looking for a yellow warning triangle in the status bar (bottom of the screen) - double click the triangle, and click to read the error. In Firefox the javascript console, available from the tools menu, will show details of errors.

Find the file and line number that is causing the problem and in your browser enter the full URL of the problem file. This is just to make sure that the files are being served by your server, that their address is correct and that they are complete.


I look up the file thats the problem. The URL IS in the browser!

3. Trying to access the .js file from your browser would quickly identify any problem.  If the file appears as text in your browser - check it is complete. Incomplete files are a sign of errors during FTP OR perhaps an unstable server - how is your server generally? Is it generally reliable.

Which .js file? Server was fine...works fine without the tinyMCe editor.

4. Having noted line numbers earlier, you could then open the file in the normal manner, via ftp or even from your local file system - and look for the line(s) in question in a decent text editor / programmer's file editor / IDE. The error message and the code on the line in question will give a clue as to the cause of the problem.

I view source of the pag in question. There is reference to js files there. You want me to check these?

Donnaa5dcp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:28 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Donnaa5dcp » Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:36 pm

Do you think I should download an older xampp version and then re-load an older joomla version too?
Or will this throw up more problems.?

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:25 pm

Hi,

On point 2 and 4. Do you, or do you not, see a yellow warning triangle in the status bar of the browser.
If you do see the error on page message what is the javascript file that is mentioned?
If you click to view source of the page iwth the broken editor you will find all kinds of .js files mentioned.
If you copy the urls of each of those .js files into your browser's address bar do you see javascript or do you get an error.

Please note: IE5 is so old it is unreal.
I am not sure that Joomla is even meant to work with a browser that old.

You could always try a different wysiwyg editor.

Does editing work in either the front end or the backend of the site.
If the error only happens in one or other of these situtations that could give us a clue to where it is going wrong.

I *highly* recommend Firefox - even if just used for debugging. Firefox with the webdeveloper toolbar offers far far superior debugging tools to Internet Explorer.

I don't see any advantage to downgrading server software or Joomla software.
From your description this is a simple javascript error - and shouldn't be too difficult to resolve with the right tools

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

japomani
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 2:36 am

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by japomani » Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:44 am

I have been through this entire thread and all the threads it is linked to and searched the rest of the forum for the past few days and have not found the solution to my problem. If I have just missed it I am sorry.

In IE the wysiwyg editor works fine both front and back end. In FF it works backend but front end is a blank box.

It is a couustem template, I am using the moshead and initeditor code.

you can see it at sweetwater.byu.edu/dev

any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Last edited by japomani on Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

japomani
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 2:36 am

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by japomani » Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:52 am

sorry, the url is

sweetwater.byu.edu/dev

Thanks.

Jianco
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:36 am

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Jianco » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:42 am

After few days of wondering and reading here, I thought by putting this 'fix' for the issue
I had might help others.

I had everything correct and working but suddenly I no longer had access to be able to
edit and the reason was the following:

If you edit the template and use other *.css style sheets and if anywhere any of the following
code is displayed, it will not let you type in the areas, but you will see the field but not writable.

At times I would see the text for less than a second and go away.  I pinpointed it to the following
CSS code:

Code: Select all

<style type="text/css">


iframe {
display:none;
}


</style>

User avatar
kaput
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by kaput » Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:08 pm

I'm having a more complicated problem, here...

I'm running Joomla off of a subdirectory (http://www.bcedev.com/ants), and I've got a secondary domain that's pointed to it (http://www.thekaputmonster.com). My live site is set to http://www.thekaputmonster.com, and it works fine, I can log in to the backend from http://www.thekaputmonster.com/administrator, but as soon as it's logged in, the URL changes to http://ants.bcedev.com/administrator, and I'm rendered unable to use the popup windows in the editors.

The big problem is that in order for the URL to remain http://www.thekaputmonster.com/insert_e ... _else_here, the live site has to be set to http://www.thekaputmonster.com; if I set it to http://ants.bcedev.com, the site can be accessed at http://www.thekaputmonster.com, but the moment a link is clicked, it changes the URL to http://ants.bcedev.com/insert_everything_else_here, which is something that I don't want.

Complicated, but does anyone know how it could be fixed?

Jianco
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:36 am

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Jianco » Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:25 pm

I think this issue is all in the DNS, you can do trasparent redirect DNS and the address will always stay on the
domain you want it to stay or you can create sub-domain and have it hosted there and create a cname and
other needed stuff on your other domain to point it there.

alberto
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:52 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by alberto » Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:52 pm

I got the error on Mozilla Firefox but not on internet explorer. Can i configure the internet browser in stead of changin the live site config?

thanks

mygeek911
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:40 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by mygeek911 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:45 am

I've been using Joomla for quite some time. Just recently (within past week), however, I am unable to do create hyperlinks or edit HTML with the TinyMCE editor. I have several Web sites using 1and1.com, and all of them have gone south AT THE SAME TIME as far as editing with TinyMCE. I haven't changed configuration or any other files. I know about the Live Site issue in the Global Configuration file; I am logging into the admin site correctly.

I've been using the following line in my .htaccess file:
AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

Are you aware of any updates to PHP with them that may have caused this issue? Anyone else having problems? Have any ideas you wish to share? This is somewhat frustrating.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by DeanMarshall » Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:08 am

I believe 1and1 announced recently that they were upgrading PHP on their servers. I received an e-mail to that effect - but don't recall the details.

It may be that the line in .htaccess is no longer required - or perhaps need changing - consult their on-line documentation.

If you are a masochist you could contact their support department if you have 9 days and 16 hours to spare while you wait for a one line (incorrect) answer like I did once upon a time:
http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/content/view/70/103/&nbsp;

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

mygeek911
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:40 pm

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by mygeek911 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:19 am

Hi Dean, thanks for the response. I finally got everything to work when I downloaded the latest TinyMCE package from http://tinymce.moxiecode.com/. At least I didn't have to go through the grueling 1and1 tech support like you did, thank goodness.  :)

Dubliner
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by Dubliner » Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:35 pm

Well after reading Dean's post about 20 times each, I finally discovered the problem!
1. A badly written template!
2. I installed a new editor.

After changing both of the above it worked fine.
Thanks

User avatar
WELLT@STY
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:49 am

Re: FAQ: I cannot Add/Edit/Update my content with the WYSWYG editor?

Post by WELLT@STY » Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:01 am

Man I love you guys.

Thanks for the tip- you have just made my day. I have been struggling for AGES when not using my home PC to try and edit. Most lame work PCs have the lame IE, impossible to run the show without your fix.

I think you should include this info with the main setup instructions, as it is so infamous.

Thanks again!
Mixed Couples: Mix Together!

www.mixtogether.org


Post Reply

Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”