FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:52 am

Those two commands being on the same line:

Code: Select all

  tinyMCE.triggerSave();            submitform(pressbutton);

makes me suspect that you have uploaded the .js, or .php files in BINARY MODE rather than ASCII mode.
It looks as though you may have lost a line feed or carriage return somewhere during the transfer and the javascript goes bad.

Have you ensured that ALL of the .js files referenced in your page are accessible and visible properly in the browser.
There have been issues with some files triggering a download dialog when you try to access them. In normal use (during script execution) your browser ignores this dialog and the file is ignored - consequently you get an error.

Anyway I am starting to rant. I am sure if you work the problem by following the steps in the FAQ your problem will be solved.
Good luck - oh and try disabling zonealarm or your antivirus software temporarily.

Dean.
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

potsandpeaks
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:35 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby potsandpeaks » Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:04 am

Thanks Dean for your help,

My problem is fixed...however the frustrating thing is that I do not know what I did. I did not completely take care of my zone alarm, but had not thoroughly checked all js files either. But now everything is working fine.

Thanks for your help, and we'll hope it goes well from here.

Tim

dæmon

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby dæmon » Mon Apr 17, 2006 12:37 pm

Ok, when I go to http://www.kack.us/csdc/administrator, I get....

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@kack.us and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.


Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Apache/1.3.34 Server at http://www.kack.us Port 80


I've tried re-uploading everything. I tried uploading the zip and unzipping it from CPanel.  I've tried it from multiple browsers and turned all my security software off.

Any other ideas?

User avatar
Lextof
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:38 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Lextof » Fri May 05, 2006 1:08 pm

Hello Dean,

I think I might having the same problems mentioned before.

I've done a few installations of Joomla 1.0.8. and all went successful. But now I've got a problem. My last installation (http://www.dwarsdoorgendringen.nl) didn't generates any errors but apparently there are some.  I encountered them in the front-end as-well in the back-end. On my laptop the site is running perfectly in IE, but after uploading it to my provider the errors occurs. You can see the error in the fornt-ed yourself at www.dwarsdoorgendringen.nl (left-bottom) but the error in the back-end concerns me even more. I mis the entire menu area where I can select the components, modules, menu, etc..

I rang up my host provider for some explanation. It turned out Firefox don't have any problems at all, only IE does have them. I tried some tips you mentioned, but I lack knowledge of applying/testing all of them.

First I thought it was due to the major differences’ in php and mysql versions of my host provider with the one I have installed on my laptop. I don’t know the minimal system requirements for Joomla 1.0.8, but as the site is running well in Firefox I doubt that that would be the problem.

mysql: Client API version  3.23.49 
PHP built On:  Linux swebhost3 2.6.14.3 #1 SMP Tue Dec 20 08:38:42 CET 2005 i686 
Database Version:  3.23.58-log 
PHP Version:  4.3.10 
Web Server:  Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) DAV/1.0.3 PHP/4.3.10 
WebServer to PHP interface:  apache 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.8 Stable [ Sunshade ] 26-Feb-2006 05:00 UTC 
User Agent:  Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1)

I keep on trying to resolve the problem with your tips but if you already have enough information to help me focus on the issue I would appreciate it.

Thanx in advance

Greetings Alex
Everything I do I find normal, so I can't tell you anything surprising about myself.

User avatar
Lextof
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:38 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Lextof » Sat May 06, 2006 8:10 pm

Ok, I think I found the problem. I only don't know how to resolve it.

I found a possible issue thanks to Dean:

Trying to access the .js file from your browser would quickly identify any problem.


I tried to access all the .js files which should be triggered in the index2.php file. Two of them couldn't be accessed:
- http://www.dwarsdoorgendringen.nl/inclu ... nu_mini.js
- http://www.dwarsdoorgendringen.nl/admin ... e/theme.js

Although they seems to be there. When I go to the place with my ftp program where they should be, I see them. I also checked if the files where complete and they did.

What could be the problem?
Everything I do I find normal, so I can't tell you anything surprising about myself.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Sat May 06, 2006 11:22 pm

Notice the 'case' of the files - the upper/lowercase combination.

Did your ftp program kindly offer to 'enforce lowercase' on all filenames?

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

User avatar
Lextof
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:38 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Lextof » Sun May 07, 2006 11:54 am

Hi Dean,

Thanx, but all 'cases' seem to be in place, and the 'force lowercase' option in my ftp program isn't checked.

Any other ideas?

Greetings Alex
Everything I do I find normal, so I can't tell you anything surprising about myself.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Sun May 07, 2006 2:49 pm

I am not sure what page you are looking at, but when I look at your home page, I find this file referenced, but inaccessible.
http://www.dwarsdoorgendringen.nl/modul ... wnMenuX.js

The error is quite definitive, the file is not found.

It isn't there. The only thing that can cause this error when a file IS present would be
some form of mod rewrite, but that seems less likely than the file simply not being there.

Try re-uploading your .js files - making sure you use ASCII mode.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

User avatar
Lextof
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:38 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Lextof » Mon May 08, 2006 7:18 am

I was focused on the back-end, because I tested the site without SWmenuPro published and the standard menu activated. Still the same problems there only with an other menu, the back-end menu was just like before..... not there. So in your previous post I followed your advise on looking in the source of the back-end an there where 4 references to .js files. That's why I only gave up the two missing/incomplete? .js files of the back-end.

I already notified my ftp program to handle .txt, .php and .js files as ascii transfers (also one of your tips  :D). I did a complete upload a several times, I even deleted all the files once. I think I'm going to try an other ftp program, or give a call to my service provider.

I don't know precisely where I've read it, but I think there was also some issue with the htaccess file (some extension problems). Could this issue be related to the problems I currently have?

Greetings Alex
Everything I do I find normal, so I can't tell you anything surprising about myself.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Mon May 08, 2006 7:37 am

If you want to pm me a copy of your .htaccess file I will take a look.

Basically, if the files are there, but you get a message saying that they are not, then there are only really two possibilities:
1) The files are there - but either the files (or one of their containing folders) is named differently (perhaps the letter case issue - mentioned earlier).
2. The server is redirecting requests for one folder - into another (using mod_rewrite and the .htaccess file).

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

User avatar
Lextof
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:38 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Lextof » Tue May 09, 2006 8:39 am

Hi Dean,

I've got great news. In the meanwhile I've asked my hosting provider, which we use at work, to set up a testing area. After uploading my stuff I've no problems anymore. Everything works fine, back-end menu items are visible. I've used the same sql-script for creating a database and the same joomla files I have installed on my local computer. I also used the same ftp program.

So I guess the big Tiscali hoster isn't performing very well when it comes to Joomla. I know you've mentioned the reliability of the hosting provider, but I've never had Tiscali as a provider. I don't know why it didn't worked out with them, maybe something with the minimal system requirements for Joomla?

Thanx for all your effort.

Greetings Alex
Everything I do I find normal, so I can't tell you anything surprising about myself.

randomcomments
I've been banned!
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 1:41 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby randomcomments » Fri May 12, 2006 1:49 pm

I just had this problem with the Admin Menu disappearing. Since Javascript was ok, I had to dig deeper. Then I found the problem...

I had created a section called Member's Area.

The ' was breaking the Javascript in the Admin Menu making it disappear.

Once I renamed it Members Area in the database, it came back.

Hope this helps!

ADarkGuy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:23 am

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby ADarkGuy » Sun May 14, 2006 5:30 am

Can someone please help me, when i login the admin area of joomla i see the bottons but not the menu on top, it was working fine the other day, i no for sure its not any programs im running. and i herd if i reupload the files of joomla it should fix this issue, i done so and nothing changed any ideas?

NOTE: This went away right after i installed phpbb for joomla, it has reset all the usernames/passwords as well but a VERY good person on this forum named Robink helped me fix that issue, i have access to both main site and admin area but the menu on top hasnt shown since i installed phpbb, can someone please help me? please!

PS: Heres a print screen of what im talking about:

Image

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Sun May 14, 2006 12:09 pm

More than likely an illegal character has found its way into your menu table in the database and is 'breaking' the javascript on the page.

Load the page in your browser.
View source from the 'view' -> 'source' menu in your browser.

Look for the menu javascript fairly near the start of the html.
You will see blocks of menu options indented.

Then - if I am correct - one of the lines will suddently split and the second part
will be visible flush with the left margin.
Note the exact contents of the line - and the exact position of that break.

You could then go to phpMyAdmin -> click on the jos_menu table
Click to browse the contents of that table.
Find the entry in question and click to edit the contents.
Find the name with the illegal character - or control character - move the cursor through the entry to the exact point at which the javascript broke (for example between to characters a and b: make sure there are no hidden characters between a and b - delete both 'a' and 'b' and anything between and then retype 'ab'. That's the principle anyway.

Give me a shout if it is as clear as mud.

Dean
Last edited by DeanMarshall on Sun May 14, 2006 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

smad
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 2:00 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby smad » Tue May 23, 2006 5:50 pm

Just another solution: Definitely check your includes directory permissions. Make sure it's 707. That one solved it for me.

lsfeist
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:17 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby lsfeist » Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:48 pm

I ran into the same issue installing under MacOSX.  The demo worked fine for me, but the admin menus didn't work at all under any browser and not even with Windows. 

I did a re-install w/o the firewall and made sure everything that should be ASCII was sent that way and Binary only for the image files.  Now it works fine.  :D

Now I'm looking forward to playing!  ;D

frankie777
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:04 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby frankie777 » Tue Aug 22, 2006 10:01 pm

This issue was caused by JCE Editor. When I changed the editor to no wysiwyg, the save and apply buttons worked again. This only happened after I changed my IP address, so it is perhaps a coding issue with JCE.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:24 am

Well the no wysiwyg option is obviously a lot lighter on javascript than a wysiwyg editor so is more likely to function correctly - but "no wysiwyg" is not suitable for most people - and definitely isn't suitable for 'end users' (as opposed to experienced web developers).

You say your IP address changed?
Would this be in any way tied to your site? Is it running from a localhost?
Does your $mosConfig_live_site variable still match the address you actually access the site through?

I would still be looking for an underlying cause rather than 'getting by' without a wysiwyg editor.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

frankie777
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:04 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby frankie777 » Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:18 pm

All I did notice was that the links to the JCE Javascript were to http's' addresses in the admin source (didn't check if they were normally, but wouldn't think so), which would not load when pasted into the address bar.

JCE is part of Joomla now, right? So, it would make sense to get feedback from the developer.

killersoul
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 3:56 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby killersoul » Sat Sep 09, 2006 4:29 pm

i have a problem with the saving the modified content... the save or aply button in admin menu doesn't work


Pls help :(

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:01 pm

This is a long thread based on a FAQ which was quite detailed.
Which of the steps have you tried already?
What further info can you provide in response to the questions asked?

I suspect you have some work to do to start to track this down ;)
I can promise you a rewarding learning experience.

Start here:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,474.0.html

Then read from here:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,42644.0.html

If you let me know what you have found out - I will be glad to help you.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

User avatar
AllenQuinn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:40 pm
Location: West Coast of Florida
Contact:

FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby AllenQuinn » Tue Sep 26, 2006 5:44 am

guilliam wrote:in using the defualt menu(mainmenu) and adding a charavter like ampersand "&" and single qoute..

SINGLE QUOTES are a known issue in php(for obvious reasons) in which i didnt know that it was an issue with *ambo too.

SOLUTION: edit the the mysql file and take off that undesired character. though searching for that "single qoute" is like searching a pin in a haystack(mysql will surely return tons of results is you'll search for a single qoute, ahihihihi!),.. this could have been easier compared to searching "&" or an ampersand character. the search in mysql db is the best option/solution you have NOT unless you have a back up of the mysql db before this happen.

guilliam

For those of you using phpMyAdmin here is how to change the incorrect value.

PROBLEM:  Administrative Menu vanishes after you create a menu with an "&" and/or an " ' " in the menu name.
CAUSE:      Using the & or the ' character in menu name causes PHP to pass an incorrect value to the browser.
SOLUTION:  Manually edit the corresponding menu entry in your jos_menu table

1.  Using Open phpMyAdmin login to administer your databases
2.  Navigate to the jos_menu table from the left panel
3.  Click on the jos_menu table item to reveal the table's defined fields
4.  In phpMyAdmin click on the BROWSE tab
5.  From here you need to locate any item that has a funky character in the menu name. Change it to a standard alpha-numeric character
6.  Save your changes
7.  Make sure you have fixed them all
8.  Logout of phpMyAdmin,

You now need to logout of the administrative interface and then close ALL INSTANCES of your BROWSER.  Log back into the administrative interface, you should be all set.

Cheers, Allen
9. 
Maybe I will see you walking down the street soon. Hope you have been kind to me...

rafaelmm
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:03 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby rafaelmm » Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:34 pm

Hi. Im new at this and everything works so good but in my administrator someparts work and some dont. All the seccions of admin where yo can include the html code and images and all that, do not work. Wont let me writte or save or apply. The rest works great. I read about turning firewalls off and i did that and did not help. What can i do. If someone can help me please be very specific because i dont know that much of computers. Thank you very much
rafael

srle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:27 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby srle » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:31 am

Hi all

I've found a solution. I am new to joomla, and downloaded it just yesterday, Joomla_1.0.11-Stable-Full_Package.tar.

Install went smooth, but save, apply, and cancel buttons didnt work. The problem was in first line in includes/js/joomla.javascript.js. Aparently someone forgot to delete what he did, and only comented it, but php parsed it anyway. So just delete first line in it and you are good  :D

Now buy me some  :pop

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:23 am

The I don't believe that removing this line would solve the problems by itself.

I think it is more likely that after editing the file you upload in ascii transfer mode correcting some form of control character issue that may have been causing problems - but obviously that is just my guess.

Glad that you got your problem solved though - whichever way you arrived at the answer.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

srle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:27 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby srle » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:09 am

DeanMarshall wrote:
The I don't believe that removing this line would solve the problems by itself.

I think it is more likely that after editing the file you upload in ascii transfer mode correcting some form of control character issue that may have been causing problems - but obviously that is just my guess.

Glad that you got your problem solved though - whichever way you arrived at the answer.

Dean


Hm, no, I am not uploading anything, I am working directly on Debian-Apache web server, just edited file directly from console with emacs. So, that line was the problem. Informing the developers about it is prolly good idea.

Thank you for friendly support!  :-*

Rainbowdude
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:19 pm

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby Rainbowdude » Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:31 pm

hi i also have this problem after tranfering my site to the real host, i sure the files are uploaded correctly.

i have check with mutiple browsers. (IE and Oprah)
I dont have the javascript error.
I have check the "livesite"
on my own server it worked like a charm.

i dont see a .htaccess but i do see an htaccess.txt

please help me so i can contineu this wonderful software

lw1111
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:24 pm

Buttons dont work

Postby lw1111 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:33 pm

Hi!
I installed Joomla yesterday and everything went fine. But when i try to press a save / apply / close button nothing happends.
I got this error message from IE:

Line: 3559
Char: 3
Error: 'delta_width' is null or not an object
Code: 0

and

Line: 214
Char: 18
Error: 'imagelist.options' is null or not an object
Code 0

Any ideas? im new to this

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby DeanMarshall » Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:17 pm

Sorry no idea.
More than likely it is an xhtml error or a javascript file failing to load correctly.

If you view the source of the page with the editor  and locate any script tags that load javascript (.js) files.
THen copy and paste each address into your browser and see if the javascript loads in your browser (as text).
If you get 404 (page not found) errors or 403 permission denied errors then you have the cause of the problem.

Also check for the www. domain name mismatch.
If you are accessing your site with www. but the javascript files are loading from the same address without the www. domain prefix then you will get javascript errors of this type (and more besides) in IE. If this is the case then you need to edit configuration.php to reflect your preferred domain name format. You may also want to investigate a fix for this by implementing a piece of code in the .htaccess file to enforce one format of the domain name over another.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-services/joomla-help-joomla-support.html

astroturbo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Admin Menus Not Working or Missing

Postby astroturbo » Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:02 pm

Hi, got some leads from reading all this stuff.

Hopefully I'm not duplicating - anyway I don't remember that I saw just this variant...
My admin button would just refresh the page instead of going to the backend login - so far it's the same story  :-\.

I found that on entering the full URL including the ...administrator/index.php I got there.

So I noticed that pushing my button, I would get the URL .../administrator/ which showed the main page.
Maybe this stems from some wrong configuration either on the web server side or in joomla config?  ???

Anyway I checked the menu button link, and found it had the following URL: administrator/
So I changed it to this: administrator/index.php

and voila, it works! :)

But maybe this is not as it should be - I don't know. If somebody knows the "right" way here, I'd be happy to hear from you.


Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest