DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Discuss the FAQ's here, and get in touch with the FAQ Team.
casperoff
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 4:21 pm

Site Temporarily Unavailable

Post by casperoff » Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:11 pm

Hi,
I followed all instructions to get Joomla working locally under wamp. All looked to be going ok but I get a site temporarily unavailable (fatal error 1) when attempting to open in browser. I've read all comments and suggestions but am still stuck.
I've checked that all wamp services are running and I've tried every combination of username and password (I'd imported my database from my live site).
Could someone please help me. Thanks.

User avatar
timtecsa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:17 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Site Temporarily Unavailable

Post by timtecsa » Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:44 pm

I too now have the dreaded site temporarily unavailable but with error 2.  I have user of root  and no password set in configuration.php per haaris instructions.  I guess its progress from yesterday's messages caused by incomplete ftp of joomla files from webserver. :-[

timtecsa

casperoff
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by casperoff » Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:30 pm

All is well now. For those who experience the same problem check that you've removed all previous active IIS/PHP/MySQL setups, remove Wamp and then re-install it. Worked a treat. Thanks for all the good advice in this thread.

User avatar
docweathers
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:59 pm
Location: Spokane WA
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by docweathers » Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:17 am

I followed the instructions. On the pre installation check for Joomla I get:

PHP version >= 4.1.0  Yes 
  - zlib compression support  Available 
  - XML support  Available 
  - MySQL support  Unavailable 
configuration.php  Writeable 
Session save path  Unwriteable 
C:\DOCUME~1\LAWREN~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\php\upload 

For the MySQL support unavailable I tried restarting mySQL That does not help.
For the Session save path, I presume this means that the permissions are wrong. However, I do not find a path corresponding to what is listed.

Do you have any suggestions on how to resolve these issues?

Thanks

Larry
Lawrence Weathers
Child Psychologist
Spokane WA
Signature rules - No more then 4 lines.

rod14
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:39 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by rod14 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:50 pm

Hi,
I've followed the instructions and thought I was getting somewhere, however I'm now finding that when I try the step 'Open a browser window and go to http://localhost/joomla' I get a message telling me that Apache HTTP Server has encountered a problem and needs to close.  This happens twice and then the  message comes up saying that Internet explorer cannot open the page.  I then have to restart Apache if I want to get the first messages again.

I am using the latest version of Internet Explorer - 7.0.5730.11, My SQL 5.0, Apache web server 2.0.58 and Wamp 5 v 1.6.6.

I'm not an expert, but I am generally reasonably competant.  However I don't know where to go from here!

Thanks,
Rod

GregMare
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:21 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by GregMare » Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:11 am

Hello,

My sites works fine off http://localhost/joomla and I can view the site fully from my machine.

Other on my network can also, but the artwork and pics are not being displayed.

Any ideas.

Greg

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:35 pm

Hi Greg,

Instead of localhost you need to use http:/// or http:///
That way the url of .css and image files will resolve correctly for other users on the network.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

centrekin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by centrekin » Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:47 am

DeanMarshall wrote:
Hi Greg,

Instead of localhost you need to use http:/// or http:///
That way the url of .css and image files will resolve correctly for other users on the network.

Dean

Where do these changes need to be made?  I have the exact same problem, where everything looks great on the local machine, but when I go to it from another machine it does not format correctly.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:38 am

Sorry, I should have been clearer.

The $mosConfig_live_site variable in configuration.php
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://';
Or
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://';

where and are placeholders for
the real ip address or machine name.

Hope that helps.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

centrekin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by centrekin » Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:13 am

Thanks I shall gives this a shot tonight.  ;)

N.ick
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:26 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by N.ick » Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:58 pm

hi,

have followed the instructions and am at step 4. I have remaned the installation folder - but am not sure  / cannot find the Install.PHP - despite a search,

To save me time could someone poit me to the right place,


thanks a lot

Nick

N.ick
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:26 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by N.ick » Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:11 pm

is it the install in phpmyadmin?

User avatar
Waseem Sadiq
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Glasgow - Scotland
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Waseem Sadiq » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:54 am

Hi N.ick,

It's your Joomla folder's INSTALL.php :)
http://www.bulletprooftemplates.com/ - Joomla Templates and Consultancy

hagiga
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:23 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by hagiga » Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:22 am

Hi Guys and Girls,

First thanks for this great tutorial it almost works great...

Now i have gone crazy about this and looked everywhere and I just can't solve this so here goes:

I installed wamp as well as joomla and it all works fine and i can log in and it is all nice and pretty...

The problem is with TinyMCE menu, it just won't work even when i install a different menu like JCE it still gives me an error from the TinyMCE.js file, this also disables the "save" button and the TinyMCE menu does not show.

This is the error i am getting:

Error: missing ) after argument list
Source File: http://localhost/mambots/editors/tinymc ... mce_src.js
Line: 1930, Column: 1
Source Code:
};


I also got a different error but on the same notioin of some ] missing in line 1984 of some JS file.

I have tried this solution of add this code to the index.php of the head of the template i am using

id ) initEditor(); ?>

Which also did not work, the main issue here that all the forums and locations i have looked all talk about sites online and not using localhost (so the suggestion of changing the live site path to inculed www is not an option), which does not really help my cause  ???

Moreover, this happens on a fresh install as well just if you though i did not try that too  :(

Any ideas mates?

Thanks
Last edited by hagiga on Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

kungfujonny
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 7:46 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by kungfujonny » Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:53 am

hagiga wrote: ...
The problem is with TinyMCE menu, it just won't work even when i install a different menu like JCE it still gives me an error from the TinyMCE.js file, this also disables the "save" button and the TinyMCE menu does not show.

This is the error i am getting:

Error: missing ) after argument list
Source File: http://localhost/mambots/editors/tinymc ... mce_src.js
Line: 1930, Column: 1
Source Code:
};

...
I was having the EXACT same problem and couldn't find anything on it. I could only deduce that my version of WAMP Server was either screwed up somehow or there was some feature that doesn't work with Joomla! all that well.

Long story short, I had a computer at home running Wamp Server version 1.6.6 and it works perfect. I don't know if this will work for you 100%, but you could give it a shot. Go to: http://sourceforge.net/project/download ... e&10191187 to download wamp server direct or you could also go to: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=116092

After you install the new version of WAMP, you could add in fancy features like register a subdomain at some hosting company and point off the A records in DNS to your local IP address. This way, you could fake out a subdomain and use Absolute URLS such as: Link

If you get your subdomain, say: "mydomain.something.com" pointing to your root wamp server, add the following into your C:\wamp\Apache\httpd.conf right at the bottom (back this file up too in case you make a boo boo)

Code: Select all

#START............ADDITION TO http.conf
NameVirtualHost *

#Setup the local side host ip such as: http://192.168.0.100/
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName 192.168.0.100
DocumentRoot C:\wamp\www
</VirtualHost>

#setup local hosting for a sub-domain: mydomain.something.com
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName mydomain.something.com 
DocumentRoot C:\wamp\www\mydomain.something
</VirtualHost>
#END............ADDITION TO http.conf
This way, you can remember your local hosted Joomla website better too! Of course, you could get fancier and do local DNS instead of a hosting provider such as: http://www.dyndns.com or http://www.zoneedit.com
Hey man, be careful with that junk, I'm not exactly an expert with Apache. Local servers are a good place to start messing with files though, at least it's easy to just re-install WAMP Server if you mess it up. Let me know how bumpy your travels are after you try some stuff out.

Alvin c
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Alvin c » Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:02 pm

Hi

im having a bit of problems with this, i downloaded all the joomla files from the web server and put it in the www folder (joomladev) on my local pc and did the procedure to import the database ( i use navicat as i dont have phpmyadmin on the live server) so in navicat i did a SQL dump and saved it as joomladev.sql and the file size is 1.2M  when i try to import it in phpmyadmin on my local machine  i get a error "
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 393216 bytes) in C:\wamp\phpmyadmin\libraries\sqlparser.data.php on line 1075"

i did these steps exactly as per the tutorial, can anyone please let me know what im doing wrong " pulling hair out here"

kungfujonny
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 7:46 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by kungfujonny » Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:00 pm

Alvin c wrote: Hi
im having a bit of problems with this, i downloaded all the joomla files from the web server ...
Hey Alvin, I don't know anything about navicat, but maybe navicat SQL dumps aren't compatable with phpMyAdmin (or maybe not that version).
If you have SSH access to your server, you could probably do a SQL dump through shell like this:

mysqldump -h[hostname] -u[username] -p[password] [DB Name] > ./[DUMP_File_Name].sql
Where the left and right [] square brackets and their contents are to be replaced with the appropriate value. Note that there are no spaces, I thought the space wouldn't matter when I first did it, so I thought I would mention that fact. The "./" before the sql name is the directory obviously.

Also, if WAMP server doesn't work, XAMPP is pretty nice from http://www.apachefriends.org. WAMP Server is nicer in a sense that it's easier to turn on and off PHP features, etc, but XAMPP might be a good thing to try if WAMP server is giving you tons of trouble.

Alvin c
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Alvin c » Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:24 pm

thanks for the reply, i dont think i have shell access but will find out asap and try it,

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:56 pm

Hi Alvin,

This looks like a simple case of the import process requiring more memory than the limits currently set within php.ini

Use the wamp icon and menu in the system tray to open the php.ini file - from the config files submenu item.
Look for the memory related settings and double them.
Then stop all services and restart all services and try again.
If the import fails again then simply repeat the above process - redoubling the memory limit.

Hope that helps

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

Alvin c
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Alvin c » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:04 pm

Thanks Dean  ;) i was still getting it so i did a import via locating the file instead of copy and paste of all the text, why it works this way arround i dont know

So now have my database in there and changed my configuration.php with all the relevent info , go to local host and i get"internal server error"

if i do a fresh install of Joomla it works fine no problems, but with my live site on here "internal server error"  thats with config.php changed and double checked and my database imported ???

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:56 am

First guess is that your edit to configuration.php screwed something.
Most likely you got some whitespace before .
Bad edits can also do this - so can a BOM - byte order marker if you edited a utf-8 file in a crap editor like notepad.

Other possible causes include the .htaccess file if present or a local php.ini file with settings unacceptable to the new server.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

neperucio
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by neperucio » Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:00 am

DeanMarshall wrote:
Hi Alvin,

This looks like a simple case of the import process requiring more memory than the limits currently set within php.ini

Use the wamp icon and menu in the system tray to open the php.ini file - from the config files submenu item.
Look for the memory related settings and double them.
Then stop all services and restart all services and try again.
If the import fails again then simply repeat the above process - redoubling the memory limit.

Hope that helps

Dean
Thanks, Dean....your suggestion fixed my problem...

Regards

Alvin c
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Alvin c » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:32 am

OK well one step forward 3 steps back.

I re-downloaded some of the files you mentioned dean, globals.php and replaced the existing one, also i used a default htaccess file from a standard joomla install, and i get to see the front page at least but without my default template.

if i click on a menu item i get a error "firefox does not know how to open this address, because the protocol (c) isn't associated with any program"

Also im now using notepad ++ only.

This seems harder than i initially thought

Alvin c
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Alvin c » Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:45 am

Has anyone had this problem before ?

fennecgirl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:56 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by fennecgirl » Tue May 01, 2007 9:39 pm

First off, GREAT tutorial! I have a site that I designed locally, uploaded to host & then added all my content. I found this article when I was looking up ways to back up my site for "just in case". The instructions were easy to follow & all went smoothly, with the following exceptions:

Internal Server Error when trying to access through localhost - I just removed the .htaccess file, then was able to log into the backend & turn off SEO.

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 98304 bytes) in D:\wamp\www\intranet_cko\components\com_comprofiler\plugin\user\plug_cbconnections\cb.connections.php on line 187 - I get this error when trying to log in from the front end.

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 24576 bytes) in D:\wamp\www\intranet_cko\includes\Cache\Lite.php on line 275 - And this one I get when trying to edit user's in Community Builder's User Management.

So...I went to Community Builder - Tools - Check Community Builder Database & got this:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 24576 bytes) in D:\wamp\www\intranet_cko\administrator\modules\mod_unread.php on line 26

Any ideas on what could be causing the conflict with Community Builder?

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Sat May 05, 2007 9:10 pm

The problem isn't really related to community builder - it is just that this is what Joomla is in the middle of processing when it hits the memory limits set in php.ini

See my answer to 'Alvin c' a few posts above for instructions on how to resolve the issue:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg764784

Hope that helps.

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

fennecgirl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:56 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by fennecgirl » Mon May 07, 2007 5:35 pm

Dean -

Thanks so much - your suggestion worked perfectly! Sorry, but I didn't realize that my issue was the same as Alvin C's  :-[

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by DeanMarshall » Tue May 08, 2007 3:29 am

No problem at all - as long as you have a working solution I'm happy ;)

Dean
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

Lifepod-i
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 2:05 am

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by Lifepod-i » Fri May 18, 2007 2:13 am

DeanMarshall wrote:
HI ALL. I'M A BRAND NEW USER AND HAPPENED TO FIND THIS VERY HELPFUL ADVICE AND DUG MYSELF OUT OF THE SAME HOLE IN SECONDS!!! WOW!!! I AM SO IMPRESSED!!

Lifepod-i


Hi,

I suspect you should have cleared the database too before
installing - or ticked the drop tables option.

You are essentially trying to install tables with the same name
as the first installation's tables into the same database, and you
can't do that.

Dean

abuuusamah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:22 pm

Re: DISCUSSION - How to set up/install Joomla on Win XP for local testing

Post by abuuusamah » Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:37 pm

hi

i am Totally New to Joomla and CMMs' databases as well.

However after ffg the instructions  on how to install joomla locally

i get to Step 1 where i have to enter username and password which i do just as instructed.

However when I click Next it says incorrect username and password.

What have I done wrong and how do I correct this.


I got it to work by re-installing wamp and joomla.
Last edited by abuuusamah on Mon Jun 11, 2007 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Post Reply

Return to “FAQ Discussion Board”