MyPhpAdmin Root Account - Slightly OT

Discussion regarding Joomla! security issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
rainbowr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

MyPhpAdmin Root Account - Slightly OT

Post by rainbowr » Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:16 pm

Hi All

I'm in need of some help! :(

Someone emailed me recently stating that my joomla site was insecure and sure enough it was wide open for people to get into myphpadmin as root. Don't ask me why but in my wisdom I decided to login to myphpadnmin and remove all root Privileges, I think I panicked a bit after seeing what people could of done to my site!!

Anyway can someone let  me know how I can get these privileges back. I cant do anything now and only have a root user account. I have managed to password protect myphpadmin and my XAMPP directory by configuring a password on root but I need to get root privs back. I appreciate this is slightly off topic as its strictly not a Joomla issue but thought some bright spark on here wuold be able to help me out with something that is now getting pretty urgent.

Thanks all, appreciate any help you can provide.

Richard

simon_w
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: MyPhpAdmin Root Account - Slightly OT

Post by simon_w » Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:19 am

Hi Richard,

On your phpMyAdmin homepage you should have a link that reads 'Privileges'.

You have the root user account, so you have 'root privileges', and it sounds ("I have managed to password protect myphpadmin") like you've set a password for this account.  If you haven't, you really must do so using the 'Privileges' link.  (edit the account and change the password from nothing to something....)