How to increase password lenght

Discussion regarding Joomla! security issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bergmannn
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

How to increase password lenght

Post by bergmannn » Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:26 am

Hello everybody,

For the italian privacy law i have to increase the password lenght in the member area to minimum 8 digits.
In the latest version i see the warning that you need 6 digits.

How or where can i increase this option to 8 digits?

I think this topic is very important for all italian companies that uses joomla with registered users!

Regards

Martin Bergmann
Martin Bergmann

davidrrm
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: How to increase password lenght

Post by davidrrm » Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:13 am

I haven't tried this myself, but you'd want to change the following places in the code
in components/com_registration/registration.html.php. The line -

Code: Select all

} else if (form.password.value.length < 6) {
should have the 6 changed to an 8.

in the language file (using english.php as the sample here since that's what I have on my system)

DEFINE('_REGWARN_PASS','Please enter a valid password.  No spaces, more than 6 characters and contain 0-9,a-z,A-Z');
You'll want to change the 6 to a 7 (I believe the text is wrong and "more" should read "at least").

That only works for registering. It appears that Joomla! doesn't make a similar check on length when users change their password.

For that you would want to add a check to the JavaScript code in the editUser function found in administrator/components/com_users/admin.users.html.php
and the userEdit function in components/com_user/user.html.php.

bergmannn
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Post by bergmannn » Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:38 pm

Works Great ! 8)