arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a reference

Discussion regarding Joomla! Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security and Performance FAQs
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
n_oandasan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:10 am

arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a reference

Postby n_oandasan » Sun Jul 04, 2010 4:17 pm

guys how to solve this problem

User avatar
dhuelsmann
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19629
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Omaha, NE
Contact:

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby dhuelsmann » Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:21 pm

Joomla 1.0.x is no longer supported. Looks like you are using php 5.3.x which the 1.0.x series doesn't work on. Downgrade your php to 5.2.x or migrate to Joomla 1.5.18.
Regards, Dave
Past Treasurer Open Source Matters, Inc.
Past Global Moderator
http://www.kiwaniswest.org

swedish_zorro
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:13 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby swedish_zorro » Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 pm

In case you haven't solved this...
Try to modify following things in the /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php:

1.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
to:$result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);

2.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), &$arguments);

3.
from: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);


The difference is not that big, it's just a matter of adding a ampersand before the arguments parameter, &$arguments, in all cases for php to realize that things are being passed by reference.

4whms
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:55 am

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby 4whms » Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:31 pm

Thanks swedish_zorro work perfect!!

Gracias funciona perfecto!!

jajupreetam
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:04 am

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby jajupreetam » Thu May 26, 2011 8:12 pm

HI,

Thanks for solution, this worked with php 5.3.5 & joomla 1.0

Regards,
Pritam

chriscon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:53 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby chriscon » Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:05 pm

Thanks saved my life :) worked a treat.

trandg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby trandg » Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:29 pm

Hi all,

I'm getting a similar error with Joomla 1.5.8. I didn't change any settings to my server or Joomla build, then all of the sudden, one day all these errors showed up:

Image

I tried turning off some of the plugins, but the problem remained the same.

I also tried looking for the "/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php" but wasn't able to find it in my server.

Any help or direction? These errors show up on all of my pages as seen here http://preview.tiny url.com/3h3bl7w

Thanks!

borizl
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:08 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby borizl » Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:53 pm

Hi guys,
The solution is working good with php 5.3 & joomla 1.0. Thanks!

But I have one more problem with my website after upgrading of PHP version untill 5.3. The Contact component have stoped to work normally. Instead contact information on the site, it shows a white page. The same white page is in the backend when I try to go into the settings of this component.

Has anyone encountered a similar problem?
Maybe someone knows the solution?

newark
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:26 am

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby newark » Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:43 am

Guys,

I see you guys posted on how to fix this problem (below) this is all greek to me, can one of you experts do a step by step on how to fix this issue, starting where to go first. I would deeply appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Warning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/newark/www/www/joomla/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php on line 100

User avatar
beededea
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Victorian England 1885

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby beededea » Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:53 pm

It sounds like your host has upgraded PHP, breaking your site, find a new host that runs a compatible version of PHP
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar

User avatar
tcjay
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby tcjay » Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:32 pm

I am using Joomla 1.5 an

Joomla 1.5 require php version 5.2 + My ISP uses 5.3.6.

It looks like the php version matches the technical requirements for Joomla 1.5. Any further suggestions? 8)

http://www.tillitomas.com/index.php?opt ... mid=100078


TIA Tom

Oh..... This is the error message that I am receiving.

Warning: Parameter 3 to botCBprofile() expected to be a reference, value given in ........./libraries/joomla/event/dispatcher.php on line 136
Live free or die

User avatar
beededea
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Victorian England 1885

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby beededea » Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:56 pm

@tcjay -as you say you are using J1.5, which part of the forum is this? would it be joomla 1.0? Yes. Please post elsewhere if you want relevant answers.
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar

ybaldoking
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:07 pm
Contact:

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby ybaldoking » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:09 pm

Thanks a lot for the solution, work for me.

Desaplicada
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:44 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby Desaplicada » Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:12 pm

I'm just starting with joomla(and english, by the way), and swedish_zorro's answer was the solution to my "welcome problem". Thanks.

Joomla 1.0.15 and php5

Arkomat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:41 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby Arkomat » Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:26 pm

Thanks swedish_zorro, your solution works like a charme !!! :D

swedish_zorro wrote:In case you haven't solved this...
Try to modify following things in the /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php:

1.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
to:$result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);

2.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), &$arguments);

3.
from: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);


The difference is not that big, it's just a matter of adding a ampersand before the arguments parameter, &$arguments, in all cases for php to realize that things are being passed by reference.

bobland
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby bobland » Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:47 pm

swedish_zorro wrote:In case you haven't solved this...
Try to modify following things in the /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php:

1.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
to:$result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);

2.
from: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array(array($$object_123456789, $method), &$arguments);

3.
from: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
to: $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);


The difference is not that big, it's just a matter of adding a ampersand before the arguments parameter, &$arguments, in all cases for php to realize that things are being passed by reference.


Thanks, works like a charm ! problem occurred after a transferred a client's site from another host to my hosting account , but it is now fixed, by following your solution :D

Julie70
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 10:54 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby Julie70 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:31 pm

HI
the site I'm tryng to fix has this error message Warning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/smacdorg/public_html/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php on line 100.

I can see people have fixed this error by modifying the /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php: where can i find that?

I am still learning about Jommla, is it in the cpanel, the joomla administrator page or is it found elsewhere?

I have found cache in the Global Configuration configuration.php but there is no obvious way that i can change settings there?

In the cpanel i can see php configuration link but nothing again seems obvious as how to change settings. I have also found the php my admin in the cpanel but it doens't look right either.

In my admin page i can see that PHP Version 5.3.25 is the one running and the website runs Joomla 1.0.15 stable but i cannot find the section /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php:

Any help would be great

handsome_144
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 5:39 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby handsome_144 » Sat Aug 17, 2013 5:49 pm

Julie70,

public_html/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php ---

public_html - le fichier du serveur dans lequel sont hébergés les fichiers de ton site.

Tu vas dans le fichier includes, puis Cache et ensuite Lite pour ouvrir le fichier Function.php et fais les modifications nécessaires

Bonne chance

phil1874
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:29 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby phil1874 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:32 pm

Hi,

I've just had the same problem with joomla 1.0 and PHP 5.4.19 and the solution given by swedish_zorro doesn't work for me.

Does anyone have another solution ?

Thanks

Phil

phil1874
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:29 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby phil1874 » Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:46 pm

I fond a solution which solve my problem here in the forum:

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=462814

Thanks

maxime45000
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:46 am

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby maxime45000 » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:57 am

I'm in training session and i have this problem. I don't know why but your solution is not ok for me.
Other solutions ?

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21851
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby pe7er » Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:19 am

maxime45000 wrote:I'm in training session and i have this problem. I don't know why but your solution is not ok for me.
Other solutions ?

Joomla 1.0 is very outdated and I hope your training session is not about Joomla 1.0 ;)

The current Joomla versions are Joomla 2.5 & Joomla 3.2.
If you have a problem with those versions, please post your question in the right forum.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Developer of Options Manager Lite https://db8.eu/download/file/options-manager-lite

rottsko
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:48 pm

Re: arning: Parameter 3 to showItem() expected to be a refer

Postby rottsko » Mon Nov 10, 2014 8:10 pm

im a complete noob w/ joomla. how do i navigate to the file below? thx.

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php:


Return to “Performance - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests