[GSoC 2009] From Page Versioning to Extension Versioning

For Joomla! 1.5 Coding related discussions, please use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general
Forum rules
Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.
scytale
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

[GSoC 2009] From Page Versioning to Extension Versioning

Post by scytale » Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:18 am

Hello !

I will be coding from now on for the Joomla! Project during Google Summer of Code and after. I'm new to the Joomla! Framework and currently I'm getting familiar and testing the way one should code for a J! Component.

During the first part of the summer I will finish the Page Versioning extension done by Flavio at last year's GSOC. I will mainly add the following features to the current existing extension:

1. HTML code differences in the component menu, not only content differences. As this regards code differences the content will not be fully displayed, only differences in the HTML tags and attributes of those. Probably will be available a simple change between html view and current existing content view such that a any user could simply see what was changed and where.
This feature could also help users that are willing to learn/understand simple HTML code.

2. Front-end article restore for users that have editing privileges (plugin).

3. Search function: by date, by a certain string available in the content, by a certain version. If multiple users do modifications on a article probably some information gets lost or so (and if you have many versions you simply waste a lot of time looking through all of them for the information you need to revert)

After these features are finished the final step is to include it in the J! 1.6 Core.
Since I'm working on it from now on for about a month I could implement other features if requested and it will be enough time.