HTML5 in joomla.

For Joomla! 1.5 Coding related discussions, please use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general
Forum rules
Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.
Locked
moonctp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:43 am

HTML5 in joomla.

Post by moonctp » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:54 am

Hi guys,

i am a newbie in joomla.
Recently, i am writing a webpage with joomla and i face a problem.
I want to turn a flash button in html5 by google swiffy. Of course i success to do this and it works quite good in the browser.
But when i add the code in the joomla new article, it's appearance is quite different from it in the browser.
Can any one tell me the reason.

And my joomla version is 1.5.9.
Thx very much.

Best Regards,
Moon

User avatar
numinousmedia
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Location: Millersburg, OH
Contact:

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by numinousmedia » Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:01 pm

What article editor are you using? TinyMCE? JCE?
Ryan
Frontend Developer and Joomla Professional
Ethode Website Development: http://www.ethode.com
Personal Site: http://www.numinousmedia.com

moonctp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:43 am

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by moonctp » Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:00 am

Hello Ryan,

Thanks for your reply.
I am using the default editor.

Moon

User avatar
numinousmedia
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Location: Millersburg, OH
Contact:

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by numinousmedia » Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:30 am

Well, first off, I'd recommend updating to 1.5.26, as 1.5.9 is super insecure.

There are a couple reasons why your code could be getting screwed up.

Reason #1 is that your template index.php file may be defined with an html4 standard, and browsers aren't recognizing the HTML5 code for what it is (or treating it correctly).

Reason #2 is that the editor will often strip out code it sees as potentially harmful. You can easily turn this off in the Article Parameters, under Filtering.

I would check on that one first (#2), and then go from there.
Ryan
Frontend Developer and Joomla Professional
Ethode Website Development: http://www.ethode.com
Personal Site: http://www.numinousmedia.com

moonctp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:43 am

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by moonctp » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:08 am

Sorry Ryan, what parameter to be turn off in Reason 2?
Since there is no other parameter except filter option under Filtering...
For Reason one, i try to change it to html5 declaration (<!DOCTYPE html>) in index.php, but it seems not work.

Best Regards,
Moon

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by sovainfo » Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:46 am

When you scroll down the last section is called Filtering options. It starts with the groups, then type, tags and attributes.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

moonctp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:43 am

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by moonctp » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:58 am

Hello guys,

Thanks for the kindly reply.
I have dug out the problem. i remove the <base> tag in the source code and it works.
Btw, i am not sure if the <base> tag in the code is generate by joomla or not.
And i don't actually know what it is used for.
Can anyone tell me?

Best Regards,
Moon

User avatar
numinousmedia
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1559
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Location: Millersburg, OH
Contact:

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by numinousmedia » Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:16 pm

I wasn't sure on that one either: http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_base.asp
Ryan
Frontend Developer and Joomla Professional
Ethode Website Development: http://www.ethode.com
Personal Site: http://www.numinousmedia.com

dvmarion
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:26 pm

the <base> tag

Post by dvmarion » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:57 pm

The <base> tag is the code Joomla uses to insert the "base" url of whatever site your index.php page happens to find itself. If the base tag is removed and a direct site address is inserted, i.e. http://www.yourdomain.com/, the page may load ok while your at the current host. But if you were to change host location or folder where the index.php file is located then the base url would be different and your page would not load.

moonctp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:43 am

Re: the <base> tag

Post by moonctp » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:12 am

dvmarion wrote:The <base> tag is the code Joomla uses to insert the "base" url of whatever site your index.php page happens to find itself. If the base tag is removed and a direct site address is inserted, i.e. http://www.yourdomain.com/, the page may load ok while your at the current host. But if you were to change host location or folder where the index.php file is located then the base url would be different and your page would not load.
Hi dvmarion,

I have removed the base tag but nothing happen.
All things work well. So is ok to remove it?

Best Regards,
Moon

dvmarion
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: HTML5 in joomla.

Post by dvmarion » Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:09 am

The base tag is extremely useful if you, forexample test your site on different domains. Joomla will automatically replace the <base> tag with the url of the domain you are currently loading your site from. It's okay to remove the base tag, but if you remove the <base> tag you will then have to remember to type in the "http://www.yourdomain.com/" yourself.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Coding”