how to print new line in joomla1.5

For Joomla! 1.5 Coding related discussions, please use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general
Forum rules
Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.
Locked
girishjugular
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:26 am
Location: Hyderabad

how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by girishjugular » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:05 am

I know the printing new line in php and html but is there any syntax for printing new line in joomla
If it is there please give the suggestions

Thanks
Last edited by imanickam on Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5 to the forum Joomla! 1.5 Coding
Girish

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27129
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by imanickam » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:02 am

Could you please be clearer about what you need? As you know, there is no separate language for Joomla! It is built using PHP and the output of the extensions are HTML.

Assuming that you want the HTML code, suggest reviewing the document http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_br.asp.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

girishjugular
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:26 am
Location: Hyderabad

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by girishjugular » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:15 am

Here i add some code. i want to differentiate first JText and second JText.
it is a mail function in joomla there in controllers
here after message. i want to print new line...
is there any option...

$msg = JText :: _($message).''.JText :: _('EMAIL_MSG');

when i am sending mail to the user the two texts are there in single line
thats why i have to divide these to statements.
Girish

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27129
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by imanickam » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:33 am

Can you try or have you tried the following?

Code: Select all

$msg = JText :: _($message).'<br />'.JText :: _('EMAIL_MSG');
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

girishjugular
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:26 am
Location: Hyderabad

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by girishjugular » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:40 am

I tried already here problem is it is there in controller.php file in com_mailto component..
$msg = JText :: _($message).'<br />'.JText :: _('EMAIL_MSG');
It is not working.
Girish

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27129
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by imanickam » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:03 am

How about '\n'?
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

girishjugular
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:26 am
Location: Hyderabad

Re: how to print new line in joomla1.5

Post by girishjugular » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:07 am

this is not working sir
because this variable data is directly give to function parameter.
In SendMail function $msg is the one of the field in it.
it is there in controller.php file it is not displaying anything in my site in users mail it will displays straight line. thats the probelm
Girish


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Coding”