how to create new language file? is it hard?

General questions regarding the use of languages and encoding issues in Joomla! 1.0.x. Multi-lingual site solutions can be discussed in the child board. Translation discussions are now separate and can be found in the Working Groups Area.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
User avatar
minzin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:50 am

how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by minzin » Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:17 pm

Hi there,

I know I wont find Joomla Tibetan language file. Can somebody please advice me how to create Tibetan language file. I have the fonts. Will it be too hard? Thanks!

Tenzin
Last edited by minzin on Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

uygunsa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by uygunsa » Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:05 pm

You can use the original language. Copy it and translate and copy into language package. It will be displayed automatically.

Rimotevst
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by Rimotevst » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:16 pm

For new language in your joomla you need to make 3 new files tibetan.xml , tibetan.ignore.php, tibetan.php, go to
web/langualge/ download original english files and rewrite them, it is not so hard.. really, after that make that 3 files /the new one/ to one zip, after that go to administration of your joomla, and instal the new language.
GL Rimotevst
Unique, Amaizing, UnNormal, Genius or just MySelf.....
Whatever you do remember that if you'r not 1000% sure in that what you do, beter choice is to trust the Profesionals.
Am I Exist? I'm not sure ......

palmero
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:49 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by palmero » Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:53 pm

hi,

I am all new, but too old anyway.

I need to setup multilingual site with Joomla 1.5.1 including tibetan, chinese and vietnamese languages with english, french, german and spanish!

Did you manage to create tibetan language ?
Can you offer the created files ?

Any help or advise for best language tool?

tendho
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:54 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by tendho » Fri May 09, 2008 9:56 pm

I tried this with babelpad and I am stuck here. Is there any easier way to translate or different program? Any help or pointer would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by infograf768 » Sat May 10, 2008 7:28 am

tendho wrote:I tried this with babelpad and I am stuck here. Is there any easier way to translate or different program? Any help or pointer would be greatly appreciated.
Babelpad is a good Windows utf8-aware text editor. One has to translate manually. Tibetan should be installed on your PC.
tibetan.php should be saved as utf8 no bom. tibetan.xml as iso-8559-1.
Please follow the advice above (for Joomla 1.0.x):
Rimotevst wrote:For new language in your joomla you need to make 3 new files tibetan.xml , tibetan.ignore.php, tibetan.php, go to
web/langualge/ download original english files and rewrite them, it is not so hard.. really, after that make that 3 files /the new one/ to one zip, after that go to administration of your joomla, and install the new language.
GL Rimotevst
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

tendho
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:54 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by tendho » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:00 pm

Infograf768, I realy appreciate your help. I've created 3 new files tibetan.xml , tibetan.ignore.php, tibetan.php with all the correct settings. My only frustration was using babelpad. I was wondering if there's some video tutorial or some pointer to begin with. It seems I am doing something wrong. When I select tibetan the whole script change to tibetan and vice versa. I was not able to keep the english codes as is and edit the translation. I apologise for this stupid question. I am completely new to this however I am trying my best. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much

Tendho

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by infograf768 » Sat Jul 05, 2008 5:56 am

Looks like your Tibetan fonts do not include ANSI glyphs.
Can't help much here.
See http://www.alanwood.net/unicode/tibetan.html
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

thai916
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:50 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by thai916 » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:55 am

hi minzin, tendho and all other joomla experts,

did anyone of you succeed? if you did, it would be of great help for stupids like me if you can share it on the forum. i'm working on a website which needs to be in tibetan but i don't know where to start.

please share and help..
Many thanks,
Monlam

lhundrup
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:18 am

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by lhundrup » Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:28 am

Hi,

Could anyone share a "home made" Tibetan language Pack?

... It would be very helpfull!

Thanks,
Lhundrup

lhasaboy2010
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:22 am

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by lhasaboy2010 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:37 am

Tashi delek all,
i am working on joomla site and looking for how to use tibetan font in joomla site but i don't know where to start. Please if you know this share me idea and i will be very thankful to you...
take care

insaat
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:06 pm

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by insaat » Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:29 pm

friends, I also started a new joomla either. Turkish language pack installed. my problem is this. What should I do?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: how to create new language file? is it hard?

Post by infograf768 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:28 pm

Folks, this is an old topic of Joomla 1.0 forum.
We do not support anymore joomla 1.0.

For Tibetan, you need to use Joomla 1.5 or 1.6 which is fully UTF8.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Locked

Return to “Language - 1.0.x”