Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

General questions regarding the use of languages and encoding issues in Joomla! 1.0.x. Multi-lingual site solutions can be discussed in the child board. Translation discussions are now separate and can be found in the Working Groups Area.
Locked
ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:42 pm

Sirs,
I am suing UTF8 encoding for my site, but i have problem with the content titles.

I have posted some news in Kannada language, content is showing in kannda, but title is not shown properly..

Please See here http://www.chitthara.com/index.php
I hope u will help me

rakeshkg81
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:48 pm

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by rakeshkg81 » Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:13 pm

You need to set the collation of the database as “utf8-general-ci”

and change this line in the template

from

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;>charset=iso-8859-1" />

to

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

Good luck

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:52 am

Thank you Rakesh...Now i can post in Kannada..

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:03 am

Please help me to change the to utf8 in this template ...

Code: Select all

<?php
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
// xml prolog
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<?php mosShowHead(); ?>
<?php

How to place the code you mentioned in your last post

Thanks im advance

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Sat Apr 12, 2008 7:49 am

Now again i am geting same pro with new template
http://www.chitthara.com/index.php?opti ... 0&Itemid=2

Please help me


Locked

Return to “Language - 1.0.x”