Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

General questions regarding the use of languages and encoding issues in Joomla! 1.0.x. Multi-lingual site solutions can be discussed in the child board. Translation discussions are now separate and can be found in the Working Groups Area.

Moderators: General Support Moderators, General Support Moderators

Locked
ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:42 pm

Sirs,
I am suing UTF8 encoding for my site, but i have problem with the content titles.

I have posted some news in Kannada language, content is showing in kannda, but title is not shown properly..

Please See here http://www.chitthara.com/index.php
I hope u will help me

rakeshkg81
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:48 pm

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by rakeshkg81 » Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:13 pm

You need to set the collation of the database as “utf8-general-ci”

and change this line in the template

from

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;>charset=iso-8859-1" />

to

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

Good luck

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:52 am

Thank you Rakesh...Now i can post in Kannada..

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:03 am

Please help me to change the to utf8 in this template ...

Code: Select all

<?php
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
// xml prolog
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<?php mosShowHead(); ?>
<?php

How to place the code you mentioned in your last post

Thanks im advance

ranjithbajpe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:34 am

Re: Kannnada unicode - whats wrong here?

Post by ranjithbajpe » Sat Apr 12, 2008 7:49 am

Now again i am geting same pro with new template
http://www.chitthara.com/index.php?opti ... 0&Itemid=2

Please help me


Locked

Return to “Language - 1.0.x”