Page 1 of 1

charset problem

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:37 pm
by kafka12
hi. i've read a lot of question and answers language problem , but none of them tells us from where can i change this settings. as a newby , i want to know, which file contain information about charset in Joomla 1.0.x ? the one which appears when we open source of page (from IE).

Thank you beforehand!

Re: charset problem

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:42 pm
by infograf768
The code in the template

Code: Select all

$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
...
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; <?php echo _ISO; ?>" />
picks up the iso in the name-of-language.php file
Example for english.php

Code: Select all

/** templates/*.php */
DEFINE('_ISO','charset=iso-8859-1');

Re: charset problem

Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:42 am
by kafka12
thank you for your reply, but my problem remained. let me explain. I'm using Joomla 1.0.x , Main menu Items and News name is in unicode , i it's not appearing apropriately.but contend of the news and poll is ok,everything readable.
how can i solve this kind of problem? how can i turn on the unicode for Main menu and news title?

Re: charset problem

Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:48 am
by infograf768
You can't chose to have specific encodings per items or pages.
This is a global setting one has to decide of BEFORE installing Jomla 1.0.x series (1.5.x is full utf8).

I suggest you read this:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f ... &sk=t&sd=a

Your db has to be set utf8.general.ci before install.
All you language files should be utf8 NO bom encoded (use babelpad on Windows or TextWrangler on Mac).
Modify the file includes/database.php as indicated.


OR, use joomla 1.5.x ;)

Re: charset problem

Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:59 am
by kafka12
the same problem with Joomla 1.5.x ))) for testing I installed 1.5.x before 1.0.x , but the same problem with main menu was also there.
i have two web page, both of them are Joomla 1.0.x . one was installed a year ago,the other week ago.in the one , that was installed a year ago i solvet that problem with main menu ( don't remember how) , but news title problem remained.now,i moved the template from the previos joomla,to the new , everything works okey, but main problem remain. so,i can say that, this is not the template problem,something should be changed in Joomla, but what? please,advise me something related to it.
how can i change global charset?

Re: charset problem

Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:15 am
by suesch
hi,
I ask help to the girl that works with the server about this charset problem in joomla 1.0 and she told me that is just change the document of configuration in apache and ad this line:

AddCharset UTF-8 .utf8

now my site with 5 languages in joomla 1.0 don't have problems with the latin accents.

I hope it can help someone...

Re: charset problem

Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:05 pm
by infograf768
suesch wrote:hi,
I ask help to the girl that works with the server about this charset problem in joomla 1.0 and she told me that is just change the document of configuration in apache and ad this line:

AddCharset UTF-8 .utf8

now my site with 5 languages in joomla 1.0 don't have problems with the latin accents.

I hope it can help someone...
Yes, this works on some hosting, IF you also have modified database.php as stated above. ;)