Table-less Joomla - Any News

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
sam1970
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Table-less Joomla - Any News

Post by sam1970 » Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:42 pm

Hi,

Is Table-less site design a hopeless case with Joomla/Mambo? I mean not just the Index.php, rather the whole thing.

Some claims that they have table less sites, thinking by removing them from the index.php (Template) they are free form it, looking at the source code, the site is infested with tables not to mention most 3d add on use tables in their design

I have noticed that Joomla web site takes about 64.4 sec. to load on 56k modem, while CNET news.com takes about 37.3 sec. Do not know if that’s because they do not use tables on the site or something else. I can’t think of anything else as they have external links, flash, advertisements, banners, or simple they are running on a super out of this earth server ???

Sam

rjs

Re: Table-less Joomla - Any News

Post by rjs » Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:49 pm

You can design a completely tableless template. I've done a couple. But Joomla! core will still output tables.

"I have noticed that Joomla web site takes about 64.4 sec. to load on 56k modem, while CNET news.com takes about 37.3 sec. Do not know if that’s because they do not use tables on the site or something else. I can’t think of anything else as they have external links, flash, advertisements, banners, or simple they are running on a super out of this earth server"

Could simply be the difference in routing and the amount of hops from your destination. It could be dns, it could be...