406 Not Acceptable Error

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:42 am

I am trying to save a content item and get this error. I have tried with and w/o the wysiwyg editor.

I have even completely taken the site down and reinstalled Joomla 1.0.12.




Not Acceptable
An appropriate representation of the requested resource /msc/administrator/index2.php could not be found on this server.

Apache/1.3.37 Server at http://www.mschristian.org Port 80

I have search the forums but really did not see anyone else having this problem. (of course I am legally blind so when I say seeing I mean trying to read as best I can...)

Anyone have any ideas...
Last edited by nsministries on Thu Jan 11, 2007 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:52 am

I have also tried going back to Joomla 1.0.11

getting the same error now.

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9356
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by RussW » Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:04 am

Can you confirm that the absolute_path is correct in your configuration.php file.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:11 pm

RussW wrote: Can you confirm that the absolute_path is correct in your configuration.php file.

Code: Select all

$mosConfig_absolute_path = '/home/use name/public_html/msc';
user name being my sign on for the server.I am assuming it is right because the writable portions like the cache show as writable in the system info.

Code: Select all

$mosConfig_cachepath = '/home/user name/public_html/msc/cache';
I am still at a loss as to what is wrong. Any help is appreciated.

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:16 pm

ok got it to take standard text and copy and paste. Just retyped the configuration.php file by hand.

All works except my amazon links. iframe throws me back to the same error when I try to save it.(and yes I have turned off the editor)

Not Acceptable
An appropriate representation of the requested resource /msc/administrator/index2.php could not be found on this server.

I can do text links and add pics that way. But I really would like to keep the iframe stuff. Was much easier just to copy and paste the code in.

Any ideas what could be causing this? :'(

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:25 pm

Ok I thought this was only on one of my sites. Seems all of them are having this issue. I can use Amazon's text links with no problem but if I try to use th iframe links I get the 406 error. I am at a complete loss as to what is going on.

Thank you,
Adam

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:00 pm

I went in tried to look at the amazon iframe links I have on one of the sites. When I went cancel the page it gave me the same 406 error. I had to close the window and go back and check the item in again to unlock it.

Really wondering what happened with 1.0.12 that is causing this.

User avatar
dave76mc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 11:10 pm
Location: N. Ireland
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by dave76mc » Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:53 am

I am having a similar problem when trying to add a section using the Section Manager. I get the following:

406 Error
"Not Acceptable
An appropriate representation of the requested resource /administrator/index2.php could not be found on this server."

I'm using Joomla! 1.0.11

Any help appreciated.

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:41 am

Directory Permissions:

administrator/backups/ Writeable
administrator/components/ Writeable
administrator/modules/ Writeable
administrator/templates/ Writeable
components/ Writeable
images/ Writeable
images/banners/ Writeable
images/stories/ Writeable
language/ Writeable
mambots/ Writeable
mambots/content/ Writeable
mambots/editors/ Writeable
mambots/editors-xtd/ Writeable
mambots/search/ Writeable
mambots/system/ Writeable
media/ Writeable
modules/ Writeable
templates/ Writeable
Cache Directory /home/adminname/public_html/msc/cache/ Writeable
Session Directory /home/adminname/public_html/msc/sessions/ Writeable

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:44 am

If anyone needs more info let me know. I still have not figured this out.

Thank you.

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Thu Jan 11, 2007 2:09 am

got it....

in the .htaccess file add this code:

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>
may kill some security but seems to work.

Anyone else have a better solution?

Thank you...

ChipStewart
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:05 pm

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by ChipStewart » Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:55 pm

I'm suddenly getting the same error. I noticed that I can't save content with the wisiwyg editor and that's when I get the message. I can save content with the other editor however.

"Not Acceptable
An appropriate representation of the requested resource /administrator/index2.php could not be found on this server."

Any ideas? Having been hacked once, I'm a little concerned about possibly reducing security.

Thanks,

Chip

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nsministries » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:01 am

never found a better solution. Sorry

I-MAG
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:25 pm
Location: Kuwait

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by I-MAG » Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:12 am

nsministries wrote: got it....

in the .htaccess file add this code:

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>
may kill some security but seems to work.

Anyone else have a better solution?

Thank you...

I tried it and the problem is still there.
Any idea why and how to solve it?

Thanks.

HH
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by HH » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:41 pm

Hello,
I found a link that explains this problem by relating this to the mod_security.

Nevertherless, I noticed that applying the .htaccess rule is not always an applicable solution as some providers don't allow this unless being disabled via the admin. Moreover, I think it's not good to disable mod_secutity module as it's a firewall module

So my Question: It seems like a compatiblity problem with with Joomla 1.0.x series + PHP 5 so can the core team investigate the reasons behind?

LINK: note it's dated 2 1/2 years ago (when I wrote this post)
http://urbangiraffe.com/2005/08/20/myst ... 406-error/

Thanks in Advance
Me = Wonder + Ponder
http://www.hichamaged.net/

ty2296
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: australia

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by ty2296 » Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:20 am

ahh im getting the same problem
recyclable shopping bags http://www.shopping-bags.com.au

User avatar
brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13419
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:38 am
Location: Sydney - Australia
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by brad » Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:41 am

Under apache 2 it's: SecRule not SecFilter


HOWEVER, you really should talk to your host. It ma be as simple as them tweaking the mod_security rules, or your checking your password is not conflicting.

Mod_security is your friend... I'd never turn it off myself.
Brad Baker
https://xyzulu.hosting
https://www.joomlatutorials.com <-- Joomla Help & Tutorials

User avatar
brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13419
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:38 am
Location: Sydney - Australia
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by brad » Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:42 am

Joomla works just fine with php5, apache 2 as well as mysql 5.
Brad Baker
https://xyzulu.hosting
https://www.joomlatutorials.com <-- Joomla Help & Tutorials

HH
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by HH » Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:28 am

brad wrote:Mod_security is your friend... I'd never turn it off myself.
Indeed.
Me = Wonder + Ponder
http://www.hichamaged.net/

nestman
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by nestman » Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:39 am

I am having this same problem in Joomla 1.5 Is there no solution to this? This problem, for me, seems to only happen when I paste huge amounts of text into the editor. If I make the amount smaller, I can get it to save.

Please help!

User avatar
brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13419
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:38 am
Location: Sydney - Australia
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by brad » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:08 am

nestman wrote:I am having this same problem in Joomla 1.5 Is there no solution to this? This problem, for me, seems to only happen when I paste huge amounts of text into the editor. If I make the amount smaller, I can get it to save.

Please help!
Talk to your host, it's related to the mod_security rules they have in place.
Brad Baker
https://xyzulu.hosting
https://www.joomlatutorials.com <-- Joomla Help & Tutorials

User avatar
linkedla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Miami, USA
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by linkedla » Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:55 pm

Hello all,
I am having te same problem with some sites, I have the Mod Sec active, and I did see somewhere in the configuration of the Mod Sec a section for joomla mambo sites exception, but I have a limitation on the coding, i am a graphic designer and do not understand about codding too much.
One possible reason and when the problem is presenting to me is when I use a different language, I am a spanish spoken person and more of the sites I have are in spanish, so when i add a contact for example and the name have a special character ie: Mejía (í) it gives me the 406 error, but if the name have no á, é,í,ó,ú, then no problems at all, also I did get the error filling info and configuring EstateAgent in spanish, when the word had any accent (á, é,í,ó,ú) the error come, so I did edit the spanish language and leave it with bad spelling removing the special characters and it is working fine now.
I hope this can en light any one of you to help us solve this annoying problem.

God be with U,
Kind regards,

José Antonio
Jose Antonio Suarez.
Graphic Designer

User avatar
kittymcooper
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:29 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO, USA
Contact:

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by kittymcooper » Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:14 am

I am intermittently having the same problem, this article sheds light on a way to not turn off mod_security
http://community.contractwebdevelopment ... his-server

also I saw someone with a similar problem on Wordpress use this in their htaccess

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_security.c>
<Files somefile.php>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</Files>
</IfModule>
So if you can figure out which file is triggering this from the 406 errors in your log, perhaps you can turn off mod_security for just that file?

Perhaps someone more expert in htaccess can comment. In the past I have posted in the htaccess forum over at webmaster world and gotten help on htaccess issues

User avatar
ez2ask
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:37 pm

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by ez2ask » Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:20 pm

in the .htaccess file add this code:

Code: Select all

<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>
I am using Joomla v1.0.12 and suddenly I got this 406 error. The error happened when I had "%" sign on the content title, it won't allow me to perform "save & apply", and I got the 406 error page while saving the content (strange thing is it DID save, but showed the error page at the same time).

I tried the above method, but not working......anyone else has other solution, please let me know, thank you so much.

stefffff
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:08 am

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by stefffff » Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:22 am

i've run into this problem and actually got the solution to this pretty easy...
yes it is true it might be a security error, but you should always remember this: CAN'T USE SPECIAL CHARACTERS IN YOUR TITLE... you can type anything you want in your CONTENT and use DIACRITICS, but not in your main title! I know this because i've tried it... i'm a romanian and we use diacritcis a lot. Here's an example:

Instead of writing diakritikós, in your title you should write diakritikos.... without that special character... so in this case ó becomes o....

I have no idea why this only happens when you use special chars in your title... maybe there's an administration fix, but so far i haven't found one... or maybe there's a editor error? i'm using JCE Editor, and i've used special chars before, but not on this server... you should probably talk to your hosting admin as well and tell him about this problem, he might get you fixed in no time...

Anyway, remember to stay out of the diacritics... and there might be some special chars that can't be used in the main title... so stay out of these two...

Hope this helps someone...
Bye bye

User avatar
ez2ask
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:37 pm

Re: 406 Not Acceptable Error

Post by ez2ask » Tue Oct 14, 2008 9:39 pm

stefffff wrote:i've run into this problem and actually got the solution to this pretty easy...
yes it is true it might be a security error, but you should always remember this: CAN'T USE SPECIAL CHARACTERS IN YOUR TITLE... you can type anything you want in your CONTENT and use DIACRITICS, but not in your main title! I know this because i've tried it... i'm a romanian and we use diacritcis a lot. Here's an example:

Instead of writing diakritikós, in your title you should write diakritikos.... without that special character... so in this case ó becomes o....

I have no idea why this only happens when you use special chars in your title... maybe there's an administration fix, but so far i haven't found one... or maybe there's a editor error? i'm using JCE Editor, and i've used special chars before, but not on this server... you should probably talk to your hosting admin as well and tell him about this problem, he might get you fixed in no time...

Anyway, remember to stay out of the diacritics... and there might be some special chars that can't be used in the main title... so stay out of these two...

Hope this helps someone...
Bye bye
Hi, there:

Thanks for your reply.

Actually, I have already contacted with the hosting company after I posted the message above. And, I think "%" sign is a big issue for the security reason.

I totally agree with you, keep not using the special characters in the content title will be the best solution.

Thanks again and hope this will help others who have the same problem.


Locked

Return to “General Questions - 1.0.x”