Page 1 of 1

How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:48 pm
by peter_cms
How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

I have a BIG JOOMLA BETWEEN COMPONENTS AND MODULES. ALSO MY WEB PAGE IS DOWN BECAUSE SI DID SOMETHING WRONG IN JOOMFISH!.

I WOULD LIKE TO START AGAIN TO BE MORE ORGANIZED .

DURING THE LEARNING PROCESS THE I WAS SO DESORGANIZED, THAT I PREFER START OVER.

THANKS, TO THE COMMUNITY

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:57 pm
by Robin
Hi,

You need to get the installation folder uploaded again. And remove the configuration.php from the root. This way the system will think it needs to install again. When you are at step 1 of thewebinstaller check the "Drop Existing Tables" so existing data will be removed from you database and you will get a fresh installation.

Regards Robin

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:50 pm
by peter_cms
Thanks!

I did other thing. I thing is more easy your way. I went to Fantastico and desintall it. Then I install it again but I received some errors. I think I did something wrong.

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:00 pm
by renegadeandy
what errors...

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:28 pm
by Apollo
Peter, why don't you set up a local server to test something like Joomfish. It is still a beta version and is not meant for production site.

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 7:40 pm
by peter_cms
You kmow what my site is DOWN??

Because I install JoomFish. After trying to understand how work  I dont know what I did that the page does not work anymore.

I dont know how add other languages. The only language available was english.

The only language that I see there was english.

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again

Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:15 am
by super_star
How do you get the installation folder uploaded again?? I need to reset my Joomla and start over!

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:12 pm
by hwelvaar
Thanks, this worked for me !

=> use FTP program, and copy only the folder named 'installation' to your Joomla hosting, and remove configuration.php from the root. Then when launching your website, Joomla will reinstall.

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:45 am
by manolla
hello all,

so how did this work, I need to reset my website also but I don't have access to hosting

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:29 pm
by kkimech
Thanks Hwelvaar for these contributions. Something small I need to know. Under which folder in the web hosting do you place the installation folder? I tried uploading the folder but it was not picking the files in the folder then I compressed the folder using rar and directed it to be uploaded to public_html folder, when I tried to extract I got an error saying "file manager does not support extracting this type of file" now this is were I am stuck. I have already deleted configuration.php file.

Anyone with a solution to respond please.

Re: How I reset Joomla to start Over? I want to start again from the begining

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:43 pm
by kkimech
I managed to sort the problem by compressing the file with winzip, then it was able to extract and succeeded to reset my website with no sample data.