Illegal Username Characters

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jgilhousen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Illegal Username Characters

Post by jgilhousen » Sat Dec 24, 2005 7:39 pm

Anyone know of an easy way to permit usernames with characters that are illegal by default for Joomla! usernames, specifically the hyphen?

benedikt
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Illegal Username Characters

Post by benedikt » Sun Dec 25, 2005 1:28 am

I don't know enough php to answer that, so I can't provide an easy answer ;)
Maybe not much of a help, but I 'd start with taking a look at mod_login.

But there is probably a very good reason why such characters are illegal, most likely to avoid malicious code injection.
Furthermore, many people consider it good practice NOT to hack/modifie the core code. It can make upgrading a real pain.

So, my humble advice would be to encourage your users to use names that don't have these illegal characters.

jgilhousen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by jgilhousen » Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:17 am

I understand that such a feature was probably instituted for a valid reason, but I believe I have equally valid reasons to make an exception.  I don't much relish the notion of mucking about the code, and keeping change logs to assist in upgrades, but there are times when it is necessary, and this is probably just such a time.  I won't bore you with the reasons.

If I do end up taking a monkey wrench to Joomla! nuts and bolts, some guidance narrowing it down would be of great value.  I'll see what I can find in mod_login.

Thanks & Merry Christmas.

rocky222
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice