Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
cspgsl
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:35 am

Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Post by cspgsl » Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:32 pm

When I log into phpMyAdmin I am presented with "No databases" however, the site is working fine.

I know that this is an old Joomla version but I was just about to upgrade the site and wanted to backup the database.

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks

User avatar
pxforti
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2755
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Driggs, Idaho

Re: Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Post by pxforti » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:04 pm

You can check the config file to see what the db server is. It's possible you are looking at the wrong server with phpmyadmin.

Have you called host to find out where db is hosted?
Joomla Website Design / CS-Cart Website Design
http://writenowdesign.com

User avatar
cspgsl
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Post by cspgsl » Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:26 pm

I set it up through the Joomla install as I have every other installation I have done over the years. I am accessing it through cPanel

In the config file I see - $mosConfig_host = 'localhost'; and $mosConfig_smtphost = 'localhost';

I will admit that I am not very DB savy - that's why I like the ease of Joomla

iextensions
I've been banned!
Posts: 1498
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Post by iextensions » Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:06 am

check correct path of server to login phpmyadmin. See name of database in config file.

User avatar
cspgsl
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Cannot see database in PHPMYAdmin

Post by cspgsl » Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:16 pm

After examining everything, I determined that the the PW for cPanel was not the same as the one for the DB. I changed both to be the same and was able to log into see the database I was looking for.
Thanks for all input


Locked

Return to “Administration - 1.0.x”