Page 1 of 1

installing on earthlink?

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:05 pm
by beckysoll
does anyone know of any problems installing joomla on an earthlink account? I generally use dreamhost, but this account is already set up, and im trying to figure out if i need to have them switch hosts. I uploaded everythign as usual, and Instead of the usual install screen, i get a page that seems to just be displaying the code of the index file, which looks like this:

SVN == 0) {
define( '_INSTALL_CHECK', 1 );
include ( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/offline.php');
exit();

etc. etc.

any ideas anyone? does this mean that joomla wont work on earthlink?

thanks!

Re: installing on earthlink?

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:54 pm
by jmacdoug2005
I am having the same issue with my client. I have been dealing with earthlink for 2 days now. They say they have a fix and to add this line at the top of your .htaccess file AddHandler php5-script .php

It does not work for me. Then they told me I had to rename every .php file to .php5

Earthlink is obviously not a proper host for the needs of Joomla. Now I have to get my customer to switch hosts. That is always a real joy as well.

Let me know if you gain any insight to this issue and I will recipricate.

Jeff

Re: installing on earthlink?

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:13 am
by gmcgilli
I have no experience with earthlink but loudsign offers an automated installer so that it makes it simple. a proper hosting company as you say

Re: installing on earthlink?

Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:26 am
by computerprojoe
I think the problem I have on earthlink is the mysql version is old 4.1.2 on a php version 5.0.5. What version of joomla would run on such a host? 1.5.X? or back to 1.0.12? Any Idea would be welcome.

Re: installing on earthlink?

Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:20 am
by sajan_r_shakya
I guess the issue is related with the short tag. Please check the configuration for shorttag. if it is disabled, enable the short tag.

http://www.simplemachines.org/community ... c=201049.0