Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
jumpink
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:44 am

Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Post by jumpink » Wed Feb 13, 2008 2:57 pm

I have installed joomla sucessfully on another server with no problems. I wanted to try out the new Joomla 1.0.14 on an earthlink server that I have an account with. I made a folder of the root dir called Joomla and copied the decompressed files into it. The server is running Unix by the way. When I point my browser to the address I don not get the Joomla install page I get the following code. Please help if you can. Thnaks

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
* @version $Id: index.php 9937 2008-01-13 23:22:26Z eddieajau $
* @package Joomla
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
* @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL, see LICENSE.php
* Joomla! is free software. This version may have been modified pursuant
* to the GNU General Public License, and as distributed it includes or
* is derivative of works licensed under the GNU General Public License or
* other free or open source software licenses.
* See COPYRIGHT.php for copyright notices and details.
*/

// Set flag that this is a parent file
define( '_VALID_MOS', 1 );

// checks for configuration file, if none found loads installation page
if (!file_exists( 'configuration.php' ) || filesize( 'configuration.php' ) < 10) {
	$self = rtrim( dirname( $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] ), '/\\' ) . '/';
	header("Location: http://" . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . $self . "installation/index.php" );
	exit();
}

require( 'globals.php' );
require_once( 'configuration.php' );

// SSL check - $http_host returns <live site url>:<port number if it is 443>
$http_host = explode(':', $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] );
if( (!empty( $_SERVER['HTTPS'] ) && strtolower( $_SERVER['HTTPS'] ) != 'off' || isset( $http_host[1] ) && $http_host[1] == 443) && substr( $mosConfig_live_site, 0, 8 ) != 'https://' ) {
	$mosConfig_live_site = 'https://'.substr( $mosConfig_live_site, 7 );
}

require_once( 'includes/joomla.php' );

//Installation sub folder check, removed for work with SVN
if (file_exists( 'installation/index.php' ) && $_VERSION->SVN == 0) {
	define( '_INSTALL_CHECK', 1 );
	include ( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/offline.php');
	exit();
}

// displays offline/maintanance page or bar
if ($mosConfig_offline == 1) {
	require( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/offline.php' );
}

// load system bot group
$_MAMBOTS->loadBotGroup( 'system' );

// trigger the onStart events
$_MAMBOTS->trigger( 'onStart' );

if (file_exists( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/components/com_sef/sef.php' )) {
	require_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/components/com_sef/sef.php' );
} else {
	require_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/includes/sef.php' );
}
require_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/includes/frontend.php' );

// retrieve some expected url (or form) arguments
$option = strval( strtolower( mosGetParam( $_REQUEST, 'option' ) ) );
$Itemid = intval( mosGetParam( $_REQUEST, 'Itemid', null ) );

if ($option == '') {
	if ($Itemid) {
		$query = "SELECT id, link"
		. "\n FROM #__menu"
		. "\n WHERE menutype = 'mainmenu'"
		. "\n AND id = " . (int) $Itemid
		. "\n AND published = 1"
		;
		$database->setQuery( $query );
	} else {
		$query = "SELECT id, link"
		. "\n FROM #__menu"
		. "\n WHERE menutype = 'mainmenu'"
		. "\n AND published = 1"
		. "\n ORDER BY parent, ordering"
		;
		$database->setQuery( $query, 0, 1 );
	}
	$menu = new mosMenu( $database );
	if ($database->loadObject( $menu )) {
		$Itemid = $menu->id;
	}
	$link = $menu->link;
	if (($pos = strpos( $link, '?' )) !== false) {
		$link = substr( $link, $pos+1 ). '&Itemid='.$Itemid;
	}
	parse_str( $link, $temp );
	/** this is a patch, need to rework when globals are handled better */
	foreach ($temp as $k=>$v) {
		$GLOBALS[$k] = $v;
		$_REQUEST[$k] = $v;
		if ($k == 'option') {
			$option = $v;
		}
	}
}
if ( !$Itemid ) {
// when no Itemid give a default value
	$Itemid = 99999999;
}

// mainframe is an API workhorse, lots of 'core' interaction routines
$mainframe = new mosMainFrame( $database, $option, '.' );
$mainframe->initSession();

// trigger the onAfterStart events
$_MAMBOTS->trigger( 'onAfterStart' );

// checking if we can find the Itemid thru the content
if ( $option == 'com_content' && $Itemid === 0 ) {
	$id 	= intval( mosGetParam( $_REQUEST, 'id', 0 ) );
	$Itemid = $mainframe->getItemid( $id );
}

/** do we have a valid Itemid yet?? */
if ( $Itemid === 0 ) {
	/** Nope, just use the homepage then. */
	$query = "SELECT id"
	. "\n FROM #__menu"
	. "\n WHERE menutype = 'mainmenu'"
	. "\n AND published = 1"
	. "\n ORDER BY parent, ordering"
	;
	$database->setQuery( $query, 0, 1 );
	$Itemid = $database->loadResult();
}

// patch to lessen the impact on templates
if ($option == 'search') {
	$option = 'com_search';
}

// loads english language file by default
if ($mosConfig_lang=='') {
	$mosConfig_lang = 'english';
}
include_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/language/' . $mosConfig_lang . '.php' );

// frontend login & logout controls
$return 	= strval( mosGetParam( $_REQUEST, 'return', NULL ) );
$message 	= intval( mosGetParam( $_POST, 'message', 0 ) );

// Get the information about the current user from the sessions table
$my = $mainframe->getUser();

if ($option == 'login') {
	$mainframe->login();

	// JS Popup message
	if ( $message ) {
		?>
		<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
		<!--//
		alert( "<?php echo addslashes( _LOGIN_SUCCESS ); ?>" );
		//-->
		</script>
		<?php
	}

	if ( $return && !( strpos( $return, 'com_registration' ) || strpos( $return, 'com_login' ) ) ) {
	// checks for the presence of a return url
	// and ensures that this url is not the registration or login pages
		// If a sessioncookie exists, redirect to the given page. Otherwise, take an extra round for a cookiecheck
		if (isset( $_COOKIE[mosMainFrame::sessionCookieName()] )) {
			mosRedirect( $return );
		} else {
			mosRedirect( $mosConfig_live_site .'/index.php?option=cookiecheck&return=' . urlencode( $return ) );
		}
	} else {
		// If a sessioncookie exists, redirect to the start page. Otherwise, take an extra round for a cookiecheck
		if (isset( $_COOKIE[mosMainFrame::sessionCookieName()] )) {
			mosRedirect( $mosConfig_live_site .'/index.php' );
		} else {
			mosRedirect( $mosConfig_live_site .'/index.php?option=cookiecheck&return=' . urlencode( $mosConfig_live_site .'/index.php' ) );
		}
	}

} else if ($option == 'logout') {
	$mainframe->logout();

	// JS Popup message
	if ( $message ) {
		?>
		<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
		<!--//
		alert( "<?php echo addslashes( _LOGOUT_SUCCESS ); ?>" );
		//-->
		</script>
		<?php
	}

	if ( $return && !( strpos( $return, 'com_registration' ) || strpos( $return, 'com_login' ) ) ) {
	// checks for the presence of a return url
	// and ensures that this url is not the registration or logout pages
		mosRedirect( $return );
	} else {
		mosRedirect( $mosConfig_live_site.'/index.php' );
	}
} else if ($option == 'cookiecheck') {
	// No cookie was set upon login. If it is set now, redirect to the given page. Otherwise, show error message.
	if (isset( $_COOKIE[mosMainFrame::sessionCookieName()] )) {
		mosRedirect( $return );
	} else {
		mosErrorAlert( _ALERT_ENABLED );
	}
}

// detect first visit
$mainframe->detect();

// set for overlib check
$mainframe->set( 'loadOverlib', false );

$gid = intval( $my->gid );

// gets template for page
$cur_template = $mainframe->getTemplate();
/** temp fix - this feature is currently disabled */

/** @global A places to store information from processing of the component */
$_MOS_OPTION = array();

// precapture the output of the component
require_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path . '/editor/editor.php' );

ob_start();

if ($path = $mainframe->getPath( 'front' )) {
	$task 	= strval( mosGetParam( $_REQUEST, 'task', '' ) );
	$ret 	= mosMenuCheck( $Itemid, $option, $task, $gid );

	if ($ret) {
		require_once( $path );
	} else {
		mosNotAuth();
	}
} else {
	header( 'HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found' );
	echo _NOT_EXIST;
}

$_MOS_OPTION['buffer'] = ob_get_contents();

ob_end_clean();

initGzip();

header( 'Expires: Mon, 26 Jul 1997 05:00:00 GMT' );
header( 'Last-Modified: ' . gmdate( 'D, d M Y H:i:s' ) . ' GMT' );
header( 'Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate' );
header( 'Cache-Control: post-check=0, pre-check=0', false );
header( 'Pragma: no-cache' );

// display the offline alert if an admin is logged in
if (defined( '_ADMIN_OFFLINE' )) {
	include( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/offlinebar.php' );
}

// loads template file
if ( !file_exists( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/templates/'. $cur_template .'/index.php' ) ) {
	echo _TEMPLATE_WARN . $cur_template;
} else {
	require_once( $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/templates/'. $cur_template .'/index.php' );
	echo '<!-- '. time() .' -->';
}

// displays queries performed for page
if ($mosConfig_debug) {
	echo $database->_ticker . ' queries executed';
	echo '<pre>';
 	foreach ($database->_log as $k=>$sql) {
 		echo $k+1 . "\n" . $sql . '<hr />';
	}
	echo '</pre>';
}

doGzip();
?>

robbielink
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 3:45 am

Re: Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Post by robbielink » Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:13 pm

I don't think you can do this. I have not seen where Earthlink gives you an account where you can set up a database and run software like this but maybe it's something new. At any rate - did you create a database for Joomla? I don't think the server is even running the scripts so you probably can't do this.

apjoomla
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:13 pm

Re: Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Post by apjoomla » Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:21 pm

Greetings, I am just following up with this post. Have anyone any luck on troubleshooting or correcting settings for the installation process of Joomla onto Earthlink hosting server? Any input on getting me towards figuring this out would be great.

jumpink
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:44 am

Re: Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Post by jumpink » Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:39 pm

apjoomla,

The solution for my problem was corrected by calling Earthlink tech support. They installed some server script that acknowledged php files. It took all of two seconds. Once the script was installed, the Joomla installation interface was there.

Hope this helps,
Kevin

computerprojoe
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:02 am

Re: Trouble installing on Earthlink server

Post by computerprojoe » Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:21 am

in your htaccess file you have to tell the server to run php5.
Code
"AddHandler php5-script .php"
Code
its version 5.0.5 btw


Locked

Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”