Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a referen

Need help installing Joomla!? For all Joomla! installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bravebear
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:30 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby bravebear » Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:55 am

Thank you so much! Worked flawless on Joomla 1.0.15, PHP 5.3.19, Apache/2.2.23 on Unix.

aruedas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:58 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby aruedas » Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:02 am

A mi tambien me ha funcionado. Muchas gracias artista!!!

Lifesupporters
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Lifesupporters » Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:55 pm

Excellent fix man, thank you!

estefa_7777
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby estefa_7777 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:19 am

Hi Guys,
I did the changes and my web site looks blank with this changes :S
Joomla version . legacy mode: 1.0 -
Php version is: PHP 5.3
Note: this path includes\Cache\Lite\Function.php does not exists in my joomla :S, I created the path and copy the file but does not work
Someone could provide me a solution? :D
Thanks!

Estefa

Hola
Hice los cambios y mi sitio web se ve en blanco
Mi version de joomla es: modo heredado 1.0
Version php: PHP 5.3
nota: este path (includes\Cache\Lite\Function.php) no existia en mi joomla, lo cree y coloque el archivo pero no funciona
Alguien puede ayudarme con otra solucion? :D
Graciass:D

Estefa

djeedoubleu
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:27 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby djeedoubleu » Tue May 14, 2013 7:34 am

Thanx, im glade i found this solution!!

derCarlo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:15 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby derCarlo » Fri May 17, 2013 12:24 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.



YOU ARE MY HERO !!!
Kjell you ROCKZ !!! My SITE WOrxx after update to PHP 5 with ur help !!!
THANK you very Much !!!

edijkxh
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:04 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby edijkxh » Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:01 pm

In one word: GREAT !!!! This saves me time and a headache.
Very glad there are people like you !
Thank you very much !:D

xmetal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 11:10 am
Location: Solihull, England

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby xmetal » Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:26 pm

After my hosting company updated their server software (without notifying me) to PHP 5.3.25 and caused the errors, I did a search and found this thread. Your fix worked like a charm.

Many thanks kjellhahlen. :)

sergei37
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:35 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby sergei37 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:06 am

Thanks!
Worked fine for me too!

md540i
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:45 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby md540i » Wed Jul 31, 2013 5:53 am

Thanks sooo much this saved me A$$!!

PHP 5.3.16

eivinde
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 6:41 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby eivinde » Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:23 pm

Great fix, thank you:-)

User avatar
Flasher
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 6:24 pm
Location: Sinaloa, Mexico.
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Flasher » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:39 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Thanks a bunch kjellhahlen!!!! It Worked like a charm!!!!

barcajoomla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 8:37 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby barcajoomla » Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:20 pm

Superb fix! This made my day

Pixelate
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:34 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Pixelate » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:34 pm

Thanks for the fix. I had a couple of old Joomla sites that would be difficult to upgrade, so the fix is a great option to keep using them!

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.

SimonUK
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:18 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby SimonUK » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:33 pm

All sorted thanks a million.

SimonUK
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:18 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby SimonUK » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:01 pm

m3ali_103 wrote:A very simple solution to this problem (without any extra code):
In Function.php file line 92
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
with $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);
In line 100 of the same file
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
with : $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);

the solution is very simple put '&' before $arguments.


Sorted it perfectly for me. Haven't a clue why it worked, but thanks so much! :D

djolepiv
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby djolepiv » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:33 am

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.



Thanks! You helped me a lot.

moebiusly
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:05 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby moebiusly » Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:18 am

just made an account so I could download and try this fix to an old site I made for a client after my host upgraded php. Thank you so much- saved me from having to rebuild the site from scratch!

tdudko
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:43 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby tdudko » Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:49 am

Thank you!

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.

Oculomasbello
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Oculomasbello » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:34 pm

Hi:

This is an ancient issue, but still people like me have old installations for Joomla. In my case, 1.0.15.

The solutions is OK. My site is showing again the CONTENTS. :laugh: :laugh:

Thank you very much and regards
.



kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.

Ducass
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:29 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Ducass » Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:37 pm

[quote="kjellhahlen"]
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip


It's perfect for my old Joomla 1.0.12!

Thank you!!

tme-Mark
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:15 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby tme-Mark » Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:09 am

Thank you very much kjellhahlen, your patch has fixed my issue also.

User avatar
j2o
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby j2o » Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:55 pm

hi kjellhahlen,

I just want to say thanks for the fixed function.php that fixed my clients issue and the site is now working again.

Anyone still having the same error on the homepage content needs to edit the article and re-save it, that worked for me..!

I just wish my client would let me upgrade joomla on the site :-/ !

Fox6new
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Fox6new » Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:15 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Yes man it works ! Thanks !!

jlandrith
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:31 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby jlandrith » Sun Dec 21, 2014 6:37 am

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


I just wanted to thank you for this fix. I just used it on my ancient Joomla installations and it got me back in business immediately. You are a life saver!

slaughter2000
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:56 am

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby slaughter2000 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:56 am

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


Thanks a lot for that fix of ancient version of Joomla! It worked and saved me a lot of time!

BTW for those people having issues, make sure you cleared the cache in joomla backend after replacing the files.

Cheers ;)

monlike
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:57 am
Location: sweden

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby monlike » Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:59 am

the best fix is migrating to new version for security and features

Brenny1965
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:19 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby Brenny1965 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:24 pm

Thanks kjellhahlen!

goatlady
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:19 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby goatlady » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:38 pm

kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))

In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);

The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.


MY Version Joomla! 1.0.15 Stable
Bless you Bless you.. I have been panicking on what to do with my OLD and popular site thinking of recreating for WP and then thought of all the broken links due to the .../content/view/20/87 style links.. Years ago I tried to use something that would make them more user friendly but it never worked.. THIS FIX was a God Send.. You are MY Angel THANK YOU

dxamir
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Postby dxamir » Wed Mar 02, 2016 7:52 pm

[quote="kjellhahlen"]
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip

I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

Many Thanks ! This works and it saved me time.


Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests