Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:53 am

rafaelmm

The Diagnostic tool is designed for Joomla! 1.0.11 and 1.0.12 (using the correct Duagnostic tool and hash file for the Joomla! version) 

  1) Is your version of Joomla! supported by the Diagnostic tool?  V1.0.11 and 1.0.12 - English
  2) are you sure you are using the right Diagnostic tool version for the verison of Joomla!  ?
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
sc00zy
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9530
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:07 am
Location: Assen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by sc00zy » Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:13 pm

RobInk wrote: Moderator note; off topic message from user Muis deleted
The ones from rafaelmm are more offtopic ;)
Arjan Menger
https://welldotcom.nl - Puntgaaf Internetbureau

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Robin » Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:39 pm

sc00zy wrote:
RobInk wrote: Moderator note; off topic message from user Muis deleted
The ones from rafaelmm are more offtopic ;)
Not my day, hitting the wrong button  :P Sorry Muis, reply has been moved back

@ rafaelmm, please try to remain on topic

makiz63
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:53 pm

Joomla Diagnostic Help please

Post by makiz63 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:55 pm

I am new to Joomla
I have done an auto installation through my host on my subdomain but I can not get the screen for the administration;  I have run the diagnostic and the following are the results.  I am not sure what to do next, please can someone help.

   
Setting Advice
register_globals Register globals are turned on on your server. For security reasons you're adviced to turn this off. Read more

   
Compair file hashes against original
Warning:  file(joomla_1.0.12.txt): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/tmp/cpanel_phpengine.1181846958.140268152.46846600534 on line 393

Notice:  Undefined offset:  1 in /var/tmp/cpanel_phpengine.1181846958.140268152.46846600534 on line 396


Error Filename Type

   
Missing files
Created by Adam van Dongen - Joomla Diagnostics    © 2006 Adam van Dongen

Error Filename Type
MISSING /var/tmp/ File is missing

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22200
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Joomla Diagnostic Help please

Post by pe7er » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:05 pm

makiz63 wrote:Compair file hashes against original
Warning:  file(joomla_1.0.12.txt): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/tmp/cpanel_phpengine.1181846958.140268152.46846600534 on line 393
Welcome to Joomla!

Did you upload the diagnostics.php & the checksum.txt file to the same directory?
(btw: I don't have the right file names at hand, but you'll need to upload the two files from the package).
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

makiz63
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by makiz63 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:12 pm

yes I uploaded the 2 files:  diagnostic.php and jomla txt file

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22200
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by pe7er » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:19 pm

makiz63 wrote:yes I uploaded the 2 files:  diagnostic.php and jomla txt file
What are the permissions (CHMOD) of the file joomla.txt (the one from the diagnostics)?
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

makiz63
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by makiz63 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:02 am

the permission for joomla.txt file is:  0644
Many thanks

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22200
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by pe7er » Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:15 am

makiz63 wrote:the permission for joomla.txt file is:  0644
weird, that should be enough...
Are you sure that both uploaded diagnostics files are in the same directory?
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

makiz63
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by makiz63 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 4:05 pm

yes they are in the same folder.  My host did an auto installation of Joomla on my subdomain.

I have managed to get http://www.domain1.com/joomla or http://www.domain1.com/subdomain.com but cant get the browser to find each site using its own domain name.

I want to be able to use the url http://www.domain1.com to open up one joomla site and the url http://www.domain2.com to open a second joomla site etc

jdmbb62nr
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:25 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by jdmbb62nr » Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:05 am

OK so I may just be retarded but I can't get my FTP software to work. It keeps saying that it is timed out and I looked at the error and it said it could be due to my firewall however I made sure the program was allowed. BTW I am running vista premium upgrade. Someone help I was doing it at work and it worked but I need to make sure I can do it here at home too. TY

sweilem
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by sweilem » Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 am

This is weirred, i have joomla running ok so far, but couldnt install any components or add ons, not through backend, or even ftp, so i run this php script and i got like 300 files missing!!!
im just installing a new joomla , maybe there is a problem with the installation.

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Mon Jul 09, 2007 9:08 am

Did you upload both the diagnostic.php file and the correct version of the *.txt file for the version of Joomla! you are running?  Are they both in the " / " directory of your Joomla! instance.

If I remember correctly, the hash is only generated for English versions of Joomla!
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
Websmurf
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2230
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Websmurf » Mon Jul 09, 2007 11:37 am

RussW wrote: Did you upload both the diagnostic.php file and the correct version of the *.txt file for the version of Joomla! you are running?  Are they both in the " / " directory of your Joomla! instance.

If I remember correctly, the hash is only generated for English versions of Joomla!
jup, only for a default installation of Joomla. Localized installations will give other hashes, if you have components installed that alter the core, they will give alternate hashes as well
Adam van Dongen - Developer

- Blocklist, ODT Indexer, EasyFAQ, Easy Guestbook, Easy Gallery, YaNC & Redirect -
http://www.joomla-addons.org - http://www.bandhosting.nl

User avatar
Ivan Cardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: spain
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Ivan Cardy » Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:03 am

Websmurf wrote:
JAF Site Design wrote: I think, if I have some spare time, I will make a little script that writes your own joomla_1.0.8.txt file from the current setup which you know is uncorrupt. (chances are I'll give up, but you never know)
Actually, the code is allready in diagnostics.php

modify:

Code: Select all

generateMd5Hash();
to

Code: Select all

generateMd5Hash('/my/path/to/joomla/root');
Then call your file:
diagnostics.php?task=generate
I am trying to get this to work for me but I am missing something in my path construction to my local site please can someone tell me the right path to my local site. Does it have to be on line if the tool is on the web server ?

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:20 am

There is no way we can tell you the path to your site, this is different with every server and account.

If you look in your configuration.php, it will give you what your absolute path is.

if you continue to have problems, try using the embedded (same tool) "Diagnostic" that is in Joomla! Tools Suite, using the the "Custom Hash" option, you might find it easier.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
Ivan Cardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: spain
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Ivan Cardy » Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:24 am

RussW wrote: There is no way we can tell you the path to your site, this is different with every server and account.
yes ok I realised that but I guess I wasn't very clear with my request I am trying to compare two sites one at home and the other on line does my home site have to have web availability for this to work or can it work by giving the right path in my computer?

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:58 am

As long as your home site is running under a webserver environment then the Diagnostic tool should work as it would online.

In both cases, your configuration.php will provide you with your absolute path that is needed to build your own hash files.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
Ivan Cardy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: spain
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Ivan Cardy » Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:51 pm

RussW wrote: As long as your home site is running under a webserver environment then the Diagnostic tool should work as it would online.

In both cases, your configuration.php will provide you with your absolute path that is needed to build your own hash files.
Ok I think I am getting this so if i run this and get no result the two sets are identical? or is there some conformation? I just want to make sure I know what the result is supposed to be.

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:54 pm

You run it on one site, and make the hash, then you can run it on the other site using the hash made on the first site as reference. If you get no errors, then the files are the same.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

joomlan
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:21 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by joomlan » Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:42 pm

Hi guys,

Thanks for the tool. I ran the tool and got 430 warnings and errors. My questions are :

1- What does this mean ?
2- What about the files I modified due to language compatiblity?
3- Why it does not show the dates modified?
4- How to fix the errors and warnings?

Thanks

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by RussW » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:20 pm

If you have modified files, they will show up as having been changed, the Diagnostic Tool is designed to work with the "English" version of Joomla!, thus if you are using another translated version, it will highlight many (if not all) files as missing.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

ScrapbookSupplies
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by ScrapbookSupplies » Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:40 am

I ran the diagnostics and found three files that need this line added:

defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );

However, I am not sure where to add them.  Can anyone tell me if it should go at the bottom before the ?> or at the start of each document?

My affected files are:  ...includes/Cache/Lite.php, ...includes/domit/xml_domit_rss_shared.php and ...includes/phpmailer/class.phpmailer.php

Thanks so very much!!!
ScrapbookSuppliesDirect.com

ScrapbookSupplies
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by ScrapbookSupplies » Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:43 am

:-[ My apologies, I have a second question....

I changed our htaccess.txt file to simply .htaccess because we're running on Apache Linux and we'd like to use spider friendly urls.  But, the diagnostics tool picked this up as a missing file.  Is this okay?

Thanks once again,
Jeanne
ScrapbookSuppliesDirect.com

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22200
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by pe7er » Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:03 pm

ScrapbookSupplies wrote:I changed our htaccess.txt file to simply .htaccess because we're running on Apache Linux and we'd like to use spider friendly urls.  But, the diagnostics tool picked this up as a missing file.  Is this okay?
yes, that's okay...

In the Joomla distribution the file is called htaccess.txt because .htaccess could give problems during upload.
The site's administrator has to take action (rename the file) to get it working on the (Linux/Apache) server.
htaccess.txt is just an unimportant text file, .htaccess is a Linux system file (with commands that are used by Apache).

The diagnostics file only checks the files (and filenames) in the original distribution, and therefore the renaming to .htacecss gives an error (which can be ignored)....
Last edited by pe7er on Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

ScrapbookSupplies
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by ScrapbookSupplies » Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:00 pm

pe7er wrote:
ScrapbookSupplies wrote:I changed our htaccess.txt file to simply .htaccess because we're running on Apache Linux and we'd like to use spider friendly urls.  But, the diagnostics tool picked this up as a missing file.  Is this okay?
yes, that's okay...

In the Joomla distribution the file is called htaccess.txt because .htaccess could give problems during upload.
The site's administrator has to take action (rename the file) to get it working on the (Linux/Apache) server.
htaccess.txt is just an unimportant text file, .htaccess is a Linux system file (with commands that are used by Apache).

The diagnostics file only checks the files (and filenames) in the original distribution, and therefore the renaming to .htacecss gives an error (which can be ignored)....
Thank you for the information!  I feel much better about it now - I was quite concerned about the htaccess (I do not know much about how it works but I know it's important on our main site).  :)

Are you familiar with the "defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );" command that the Diagnostic Tool finds missing and states needs to be added to certain files?  I am not sure where to add it in the files that needed it - would I paste it into the bottom before the ?> part?

Oh!  Is it okay to leave the Diagnostics on the server or is that a security issue?

Once again, thank you so much for your help!  Everyone on this board has been so very friendly!

Jeanne
ScrapbookSuppliesDirect.com

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22200
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by pe7er » Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:58 pm

ScrapbookSupplies wrote:Are you familiar with the "defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );" command that the Diagnostic Tool finds missing and states needs to be added to certain files?  I am not sure where to add it in the files that needed it - would I paste it into the bottom before the ?> part?
The defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' ); in a file will prevent that file being opened directly (being accessed by using the full URL in the browser). Those files may only be accessed by Joomla.
You can ignore the ones (3 or 4 warnings) that are reported in Joomla core files...
(Technical background: those files only have so called 'classes' in them, and no other instructions. Therefore it does not matter that they can be accessed from outside Joomla: there's nothing that can be done with those files...).
Oh!  Is it okay to leave the Diagnostics on the server or is that a security issue?
No, you'd better delete the Diagnostics files afterwards (or change the Permission with CHMOD to 000).
Otherwise you might display sensitive information about your website / files to visitors / potential hackers...
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

Cindy Joffrion
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:47 am

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by Cindy Joffrion » Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:02 am

I know this post is very old but it contained information I needed.  Thanks.

User avatar
agentk98
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:20 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by agentk98 » Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:15 pm

http://www.joomla-addons.org is having internal server errors. Any other place I can download?

orlisgal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:00 pm

Re: Usefull tool: Joomla diagnostics

Post by orlisgal » Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:54 pm

Websmurf wrote: Hi Guys and Girls,

Today I though of a cool little tool to find corrupted files on your server. I see a lot of threads on the forum currently that are caused by files that have been messed up during installation.

This little tool will compair the file hashes on your server with what it's supose to be. Download:
http://www.joomla-addons.org/option,com ... id,23.html

Instructions:
- upload both files
- go to yoursite.com/diagnostics.php

The script should list what's wrong with the files on your server.

Adam
Hey Adam - thanks for this info.

I downloaded the tool, as I'm having problems with my system.  Just loaded newest version of Joomla.  Had to install it via FTP.  In going through each and every single darn folder, I found a bunch of files missing, so kept adding via FTP.  Still didn't work.  I get this mssg:  "500 - View not found [name, type, prefix]: frontpage,html,contentView".

So after downloading the tool, I extracted the two files (the text file and the diagnostics.php file), uploaded them via FTP...and now what?  I tried going to my site (nafmmaf.org) and typing in nafmmaf.org/diagnostics.php -- but nothing happened.  I get this mssg:  "Page not found; The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable."

How on earth do I RUN the file to have it check to see what else is missing?  And why does this happen?  Can't I just FTP the extracted Joomla files and have them all transfer?  Is it my server?  My FTP program or?

This is being setup on a pointed domain - do you think that may be the issue?

Thanks for any advice you can give me...  Katrina


Locked

Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”