FAQ - converting ASP/Access site to Mambo & transcoding the character set

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jpetrov
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

FAQ - converting ASP/Access site to Mambo & transcoding the character set

Post by jpetrov » Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:58 pm

I had a pretty simple setup.

On the starting point I had a ASP/Access CMS that had similar news structure (header, introductory text, main body, published, date...) as mambo. The tricky point was that it was Windows 1251 and I needed to translate the content into UTF-8.

1. Install MySQL from http://www.mysql.com. Somehow the integrated versions in the bundles gave me headaches. I figured out that vanilla MySQL install was working fine for me.

2. Install vanilla Mambo in a new database. Set encoding to your template / config into UTF-8. Use phpmyadmin or similar tool and enlarge all varchar fields from 100 / 150 to 255 (you will need this since UTF-8 will eat more space). Text type is not a problem.

2b. Download and install MySQL migration toolkit (available on MySQL). Follow the road, we will convert the old database in MySQL. Set all flags as UTF-8 / multilingual if possible.

3. Now that you've got the database in MySQL use some of the programs (some are free - like web based phpmysql) to browse trough the database and check out if the data was converted regullary. If you get a mess instead of the expected text - don't worry - probably your DB Browser encoding is not set up. BUT if you get ? ? ? ? ? ? (question marks for every non-us letter) instead of text then you are in trouble. Check (1).

4. Now use your browsing tool or command line to generate the SQL dump file.