Merging Two Sites

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bubaphex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Merging Two Sites

Post by bubaphex » Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:36 am

I was wondering if any one knew of a tool which would merge two joomla sites together some how. Currently i have a site on 1.0.11 and i want to merge it with a site thats on 1.0.15.

Even if there is a database tool which would merge these two databases that would also be great.

x126
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Merging Two Sites

Post by x126 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:20 pm

you ever find a solution to this?

I am facing something similiar - I had a live site - which broke - it had other aspects to it - which required me to basically disable the site.

So I created a copy of the site without the functions that broke ( I assigned that original site to a new url - so I could have our developers fix it )

So I continued moving forward with the temp site I made - which was identical to the other.

Now that the site is fixed - I want to take the content that went up on the temp site - over to the broken site that has been fixed.

I have attempted to create a SQL dump of just one article - and imported it into the fixed site - the article shows up - but when you click the title - to view the full article I get a "You are not authorized to view this resource.
You need to login." message

Does anyone know of a good way to at least duplicate and copy the articles from one DB to another -???

Desperate!

bubaphex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by bubaphex » Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:41 am

hey there,