Page 1 of 1

PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:15 pm
by mperkel
I tried upgrading to Fedora 12 yesterday which had PHP 5.3,0 and it broke Joomla. Are there any plans to do a 1.0.x maintenance release to be PHP 5.3 compatible?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:22 pm
by dhuelsmann
The following link is found in the announcement at the top of each of the 1.0.x forums titled Support for Joomla 1.0.x series stops after July 22, 2009 http://community.joomla.org/blogs/community/509-an-old-friend-comes-of-age.html

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:37 pm
by mperkel
It would be nice however to do at least one more upgrade so that it doesn't totally break when upgrading the underlying operating system. Does Joomla 1.5 work with PHP 5.3?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:54 pm
by dhuelsmann
mperkel wrote:It would be nice however to do at least one more upgrade so that it doesn't totally break when upgrading the underlying operating system. Does Joomla 1.5 work with PHP 5.3?

It does as of version 1.5.15

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:42 pm
by mperkel
What was it that changed in PHP 5.3 that broke so many applications? How difficult was it to make 1.5 Joomla work with it?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:44 pm
by mperkel
Also - how difficult is it to upgrade an existing site to 1.5? What I'm wondering about is not just the look of the site but also the compatibility of compunents and mambots?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:10 pm
by mperkel
This is not a trivial issue. I'm not sure my site will port to a newer version of Joomla. I'd really like to see a new 1.0.x version of Joomla that at least works with PHP 5.3. What would it take to make it happen?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:33 pm
by dhuelsmann
mperkel wrote:What was it that changed in PHP 5.3 that broke so many applications? How difficult was it to make 1.5 Joomla work with it?


http://techportal.ibuildings.com/2009/06/30/migrating-to-php-5-3/

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:37 pm
by dhuelsmann
mperkel wrote:This is not a trivial issue. I'm not sure my site will port to a newer version of Joomla. I'd really like to see a new 1.0.x version of Joomla that at least works with PHP 5.3. What would it take to make it happen?


Unless you interest or pay a developer to work on it, Joomla 1.0.x series is not supported - which simply means as it sounds - no further development, security fixes, etc. will be conducted by the Joomla developers. I suggest you set up a test server on your local PC. Import your present site and Joomla series and then start the migration process as soon as possible.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:03 pm
by linkr
I came here with a similar question just to realise it's about time to go to 1.5.x :p

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:45 pm
by luis23045
This sounds to me like people working on Windows XP not wanting to upgrade to Windows 7. But if you want to keep with the technology, upgrade is a must.

It is a pain or probably you will need to expend some time to upgrade, but as dhuelsmann said
Import your present site and Joomla series and then start the migration process as soon as possible.

By the way, I am already developing Joomla 1.5.15 sites with wampserver and PHP 5.3. They work great.

If you want to download wampserver use this link http://www.wampserver.com/en/download.php

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:17 pm
by mperkel
OK I'm am seriously considering funding a PHP 5.3 compatible version of Joomla 1.0.16. I'm looking for bids to do this. I am also looking for other people who might want to share the expense. Post your bids and responses here.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 2:02 pm
by mperkel
Yes - I read that. That's why I'm thinking about funding it myself if someone gives me a reasonable quote.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:02 pm
by alexis_nomine
My host has also decided to take the move to php 5.3. Sadly, this causes the same problem with the websites I designed with joomla 1.0: content disappears everywhere!

Here is a simple solution to fix it, for free ;) :
Open /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php and replace at line 74:

Code: Select all

$arguments = func_get_args();

with:

Code: Select all

$arguments = func_get_args();
$numargs = func_num_args();
for($i=1; $i < $numargs; $i++){
$arguments[$i] = &$arguments[$i];
}


Hope it will help :-)

Alexis

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:41 pm
by Linjo
Thanks Alexis for the tip. It solves the "non displayed content" problem caused by the new php version. ;)

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:49 pm
by beerallica
My site (www.beer.gr) sits on 1.5.15 but the PHP upgrade to 5.3 broke it, so my host had to downgrade it to 5.2. I no longer have those error messages so I can't provide any further info about this, but the fact is that it wasn't working on 5.3. I recall that the error displayed was fired by a file inside the /library/ directory, so it wasn't a matter of some outdated template.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:17 pm
by dhuelsmann
beerallica wrote:My site (http://www.beer.gr) sits on 1.5.15 but the PHP upgrade to 5.3 broke it, so my host had to downgrade it to 5.2. I no longer have those error messages so I can't provide any further info about this, but the fact is that it wasn't working on 5.3. I recall that the error displayed was fired by a file inside the /library/ directory, so it wasn't a matter of some outdated template.
First of all this is a 1.0.x forum. Second, the 1.5.15 series works just fine on php 5.3 thought there were some third party extensions that had not been made compatible with php 5.3.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:44 pm
by beerallica
@dhuelsmann: Looking for a solution to the issue I landed here and my post was in reply to yours ("It does as of version 1.5.15"), so I thought I had to voice my experience. The error originated from the core joomla code (/libraries/joomla/html/parameter.php), not a template or add-on.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:28 pm
by dhuelsmann
dhuelsmann wrote:The error originated from the core joomla code (/libraries/joomla/html/parameter.php), not a template or add-on.


From the technical requirements page in the documentation wiki:
Joomla! versions 1.5.15 + are compatible with PHP 5.3. Note that the OpenID library is not yet compatible with PHP 5.3.

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:55 am
by beltshassar
A big thankyou to Alexis!

Your little fix just saved me hours!

/Daniel

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:14 am
by beefystu
Hi There

Totally green to Joomla as someone built my site on Joomla years ago and now I need to know for myself.

I had the same problem with my site, hence I found this post after a good googling.
We inserted the code and boom there it was, the login page to the backend.
Found out that the site was running version 1.0.12.................. :eek: time to upgrade!

Installed an older joomlapack on 1.0 on ther server to prepare migration to 1.5 created a back up and sql file.
I Installed 1.0 and 1.5 locally, on my pc to start to make sense of it all so i didn't mess up the live site.
I installed mtwmigrator on 1.5 to shift across from 1.0. Im a little stuck connecting with the database to perform the task..............(remember, its my 1st time :( ) I then went to log in to the backend on the live site and low and behold I can't see the the joomla log in page again. Ahhhh! Any pointers would be great.

The live site is generating a rather large error log which keeps chewing up my bandwidth, so the sooner I can get this fixed the better.

Cheers

Stu

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:43 pm
by beefystu
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE, expecting ';' or '{' in /home/deconomi/public_html/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php on line 73


oops what have i done?

Re: PHP 5.3x compatibility?

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:56 am
by URAGANU
Here is a solution:

http://www.kpsystems.com.au/fixing-joom ... p-53x.html

It's fully working and you can keep your J1.0 website.