Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.x ?

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla!?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
pedmajungne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:20 am

Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.x ?

Postby pedmajungne » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:42 am

Hi,

I have a simple website using Joomla 1.0.15, just having articles in some categories. As i want to install or remove components from admin area, i got : "You are not authorised to view this resource" or something like that.

I think my website is hacked ??
I have set safe_mode = off in php.ini, turn of sh404sef, removing .htaccess file etc ... and it still does not work.

Then i try to upgrade to Joomla 2.5.x / 3.x . I found that i must migrate to Joomla 1.5.x first, then from there to 2.5.x.
I got problem installing "migration.zip" component in my Joomla 1.0.x (always alert/err message pop up is shown).

Is there another way to migrate the website ? May be just get the article section, category, article id and the content of Joomla 1.0.x , then import it to Joomla 2.5.x / 3.x ?

I don't need components, modules, mambots (if any) of the old site. How to do it ?

Thanks

Aidan38
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1347
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:51 am
Location: France Grenoble
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby Aidan38 » Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:41 pm

Hello,

if you have only few articles, the simplest could be maybe to copy past the html of these articles.
Books and tutorials about Joomla! http://cinnk.com
Create your online shop with Joomla! & HikaShop : http://cinnk.com/en/shop/create-your-on ... -paperback

pedmajungne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby pedmajungne » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:12 pm

Hi Aidan38,

Thank you for your reply. Simple website i mean is just article + images. No video, no forum discussion, no calendar, etc .... There are more than 1000 articles on the website (about 5 years).

May be converting the SQL from old Joomla to Joomla 2.5/3.0 ? Any idea how to do that ?

Thanks

Aidan38
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1347
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:51 am
Location: France Grenoble
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby Aidan38 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:51 pm

Books and tutorials about Joomla! http://cinnk.com
Create your online shop with Joomla! & HikaShop : http://cinnk.com/en/shop/create-your-on ... -paperback

pedmajungne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby pedmajungne » Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:15 am

Aidan38 wrote:Hello,

have you seen this post:
http://www.ostraining.com/support-forum ... -10-to-17/


Hi Aidan38,

Thanks for the link. The problem is that i can't install any component, mambot, module from admin page. I think it must be done manually to same table in sql. But i still can not find any php script to do that. Or i must edit the table manually, do you know may be the difference of Joomla 1.0 database structure vs. joomla 2.5.x or joomla 3.x database structure ?

Thanks

pedmajungne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby pedmajungne » Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:24 am

I found this : http://rselvakumar.[URL banned].com/2012/03 ... -or15.html

will try to look at it.

Thanks

pedmajungne
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to migrate from Joomla 1.0.x to 2.5.x /3.

Postby pedmajungne » Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:02 am

pedmajungne wrote:I found this : http://rselvakumar.[URL banned].com/2012/03/update-joomla-article-database-10-or15.html

will try to look at it.

Thanks


Hi,
After read that article, i tried without success. I realized that i have changed my "administrator" directory to other name. Then i changed the path of "migration.zip" file, and successfully upgrade to J1.5.
But at this new J1.5 platform, i can not install any components (including Jupgrade). After click at upload & install button, nothing happend. No error msg or success message can be seen at backend.
I have checked that the directory under "administrator" , the "tmp" directory etc is own by apache daemon, so i think the directory permission is ok.
Also all permission is writeable under Help => System Info => Directory Permission.
My platform is LAMP (Linux + Apache + Mysql + Php). There is no special error msg at apache error log file, except: strtotime() , date(), mktime(), strftime() .
Any body know ... what the problem could be ?

Thanks
-pedma


Return to “Upgrading - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests