Page 1 of 1

[LOW:FIXED 6751:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:04 am
by diri
Using most recent SVN of Joomla! 1.0.x I tried to upload two banners for a client while managing one new banner.

First image was saved in /images/banners.
Second image was saved in /images/stories.

Second image should have been save in /images/banners as well, shouldn't it?

cu, diri

Re: banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:07 am
by Robin
Hi diri,

You are correct, looks like it's still a bug. I'll put it under review again.

Regards Robin

Re: banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:08 am
by Robin
Q&T Notes;

Original forum report: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,90020.0.html
Artifact: http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf5756?nav=1

Status > Under review

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:16 am
by Robin
Diri,

I just tested with the following steps:

Logged in on Administrator > Components > Banners > Manage Banners.
From there, I used the Upload feature 3 times, and 3 times with success uploaded images to the /images/banners/ folder.

Is this a different method from how you did this? Since your second image went to /images/stories/ ?

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:23 am
by diri
I did following:

1. Added new Client
2. Added new banner and uploaded two images one after the next.

Any difference?

PHP5, mySQL5, Apache2, Windows.

cu, diri

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:30 am
by diri
Ok, tested it again.

I did the very same like mentioned above on Plattform Linux with PHP4, Apache1.x and mySQL4.

It worked correct.

cu, diri

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:55 am
by Robin
Hi,

Ok, so it's actually no bug then anymore? I can change the status to NOT BUG?

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:16 am
by diri
???

It still doesn't work on this other system here. Code of Joomla! is very same.

btw, while digging into banners related code I found some issues in /components/com_banner/banner.php:
Alt text for banner is a hardcoded string (Advertisement), width and height of image are not set, title of link is missing.

cu, diri

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:31 am
by Robin
I did following:

1. Added new Client
2. Added new banner and uploaded two images one after the next.
Did you save the new banner, and then uploaded the images? Or did you upload the images before saving.

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:34 am
by diri
Upload happened before saving.

edit:
It's difficult enough to understand for trivial user to have the need to save and edit same item again.

cu, diri

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:03 am
by Robin
Diri,

Thanks for the extra info. I'll make sure to test this again, using your method.

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:12 pm
by alexhokamp
@Robin

I checked it out, and it works (or works not) like described. When you want to create a new banner and click on NEW in the Banner Manager, you get to the Banner:new screen. When you then upload a banner using the button UPLOAD button, it is uploading the banner into the banners folder in the image directory of the installation.

I even uploaded several banners one after the other and it worked. Of course, when you then click on the Banner Image Selector of the Banner:new screen, the newly uploaded banners cannot be seen, since the screen was loaded before the banners were uploaded.

That seems to be the problem. When you reload the page, you will see that the newly uploaded banner will appear in the Banner Image Selector. Maybe there is a way, that once an image is uploaded through the Banner:new screen, that the Banner Image Selector gets refreshed.

Putting that Upload Banner Button on that screen might not have been the best idea, since obviously it can lead to confusion. But if there is a way to just refresh the Banner Image Selector after uploading an image, that problem will be solved. Then there would be only one question left. Why not having also a button for creating new Banner Clients there too?  ;)

Alex ...

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:33 pm
by Robin
Hi Alex,

Thanks for confirming, I was also under the impression there was no bug. It's a good suggestion, to reload the page, but Development is not adding any new features to the 1.0.x series currently. So I'll be closing this report, status NOT BUG

Re: [NOT BUG:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 7:59 am
by diri
Even when it's not working correct (my description is confirmed)?  :'(

Re: [NOT BUG:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:50 am
by Robin
Hi,

The way it is intended to work is not showing any bugs for me or for Alex. I'll ask a third person to verify, just to make sure.

Re: [CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:18 pm
by RobS
I was able to replicate this bug by following these steps.

1. Upload a banner as one would do normally using the banner manager.
2. Attempt to upload a banner with an illegal name or file type.  This will cause the upload window to reload but stay open.
3. Now, upload a banner with a properly formatted name and file type and it should try to upload it to images/stories.

I think the key to this bug is the failure in between that causes the upload banner popup to reload.

I have attached a screen shot as well.

Re: [LOW:INFO REQ:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:47 am
by Robin
Rob,

I have tested both 1.0.11 and latest SVN. The problem can be replicated on 1.0.11 with the steps provided by you. However, it can not be replicated on latest SVN ! There the image does get uploaded to the banner directory, so it is working correct in SVN. As I stated before, http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf5756?nav=1 must have fixed this.

Please advise on closing this topic or not. Alex Hokamp is also unable to replicate the issue.

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:54 pm
by RobS
When I reproduced the problem it was on the latest SVN as of yesterday.  The artifact you mentioned was changed 6 weeks ago so I doubt it has changed since then.

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:21 pm
by Robin
Hi Rob,

Maybe we need a few other Q&T members to test this, since it seems to be working for me. Ping me on skype if you are available so we can determine what to do with this issue.

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:31 pm
by tevike
Hi,

I have some similar problem. Whenever I try to upload a banner from the banner component, it uploads to the images/stories folder instead of images/banners. Any fix for this?

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:18 pm
by Robin
Hi tevike,

Thats fixed in the next release, see http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf5756?nav=1

Regards Robin

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:21 pm
by cerillion
I just ran into the same problem.  Tried 3 times to make sure I wasn't crazy.

In Banner Manager, while making a new banner, I used the Upload feature.  The image was saved into images/stories instead of images/banners, and the Banner Manager couldn't see the file.

Unless the Banner Manager can upload into its own directory, my client will not be able to use this feature on their own.

Where can I go to change the target directory of the Upload feature in the Banner Manager?

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:26 pm
by angelusplus
Try this

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg456035

I have tested right now and works fine ! :P

Re: [LOW:CONFIRMED:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:18 am
by Robin
Q&T Note; tested on:

PHP built On:  Windows NT 5.1 build 2600
Database Version: 5.0.24a-community-nt
PHP Version: 5.1.6
Web Server: Apache/2.0.59 (Win32) PHP/5.1.6
WebServer to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1) Gecko/20061010 Firefox/2.0

I am able to replicate the bug, if you follow Rob Schely his steps so the upload goes wrong (reloading upload screen), the next time the image gets stored in /images/stories/

Artifact link: http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf6751?nav=1

Re: [LOW:TRACKER 6751:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:22 pm
by cerillion
angelusplus,

Thank you for the reply.  The fix you've referenced works fine.  Now the Banner Upload  feature works as expected.

Will this change propogate to Joomla updates, or will I have to replicate the fix?

Re: [LOW:TRACKER 6751:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:23 pm
by Robin
Will this change propogate to Joomla updates
The fix you are referring to will indeed be in the next release (1.0.12)

Re: [LOW:TRACKER 6751:1.0.11] banner upload target directory?

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:13 pm
by miki89
Tested in the SVN and it seems working (I followed RobS' steps)


Artifact closed. Topic moved to the "solved" forum.