[LOW:FIXED 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

User avatar
nathandiehl
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6044
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:03 pm
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

[LOW:FIXED 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby nathandiehl » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:55 pm

Description:
[USER] any url containing the ] character appends itemID to the end of the url.
I.E. If i link to the URL:
http://property.costasearch.com/index.p ... lts&pclass[]=6
is is rendered out as:
http://property.costasearch.com/index.p ... lts&pclass[]=6 &ItemID30
(notice the space preceding the & as well.

Reported on:
[USER] Joomla! 1.0.11 (duplicated on 1.0.11 Demo Site)

Classification:
[Q&T] Critical/High/Medium/Low/Enhancement

Affected functions:
[USER] Menu item of type Link-URL

Related files:
[USER]

Steps to replicate:
[USER]
1. create a new menu item of type 'Link-URL'
2. use the URL http://property.costasearch.com/index.p ... lts&pclass[]=6 (or any other valid url using the ] character)

Analysis:
[Q&T] Confirmed/Unable to confirm/Rejected
Any other comments

Proposed fix(es):
[USER]

Topic / Artifact ID:
[USER]

System info:
[USER] DEMO SITE
Last edited by miki89 on Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
If you're new to Joomla, Please read Anna's Joomla! Tips: viewtopic.php?t=5503

http://nathandiehl.com | Find out what makes me tick

User avatar
miki89
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:28 pm
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby miki89 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:34 pm

Tested and confirmed:

Q&T Note: Status -> Confirmed    Impact low

Related forge artifact: http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf6779?nav=1

But I can't notice the space between the itemID and the link.
Imagination is more important than knowledge... (Albert Einstein)

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: [LOW:TRACKER 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby Predator » Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:19 pm

So to clear things it happens only:

a) with Menu item of type Link-URL where [] is in the URL
b) under IE?

Is that right?
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D

User avatar
miki89
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:28 pm
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: [LOW:TRACKER 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby miki89 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 2:59 pm

Tested in the SVN and it's all right.

Artifact closed. Topic moved to the "solved" forum
Last edited by miki89 on Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Imagination is more important than knowledge... (Albert Einstein)

User avatar
spike00
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: Busto Arsizio (VA) - Italy
Contact:

Re: [LOW:FIXED 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby spike00 » Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:58 pm

Hmmm...

sorry to bother but.... where's the fix?

I'm using 1.0.13 with Itemid compatibility to 1.0.12 and next

I created an external link this way: store/index.php?main_page=products_all

And with both FF and IE I get the ItemID appended
Paolo De Dionigi
Moderator of Zen Cart Italy

http://www.atfriends.net

User avatar
spike00
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:56 pm
Location: Busto Arsizio (VA) - Italy
Contact:

Re: [LOW:FIXED 6779:1.0.11] Link-URL containing character ] breaks

Postby spike00 » Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:32 pm

Weird...

My external link is external to Joomla, but not to site domain (this is the reason why I used a relative path).

I thought to re-type the url specifying http://.....

Now it works.

So I think that the bug has been fixed with something like a search for http over the url and in that case not appending the itemId.

As my situation pointed out, I believe this is not a perfect solution (I'm developing the site on localhost and this way I'll must re-type every 'external' link when I'll go on production, not considering that before going on production I'll go on development server online, so another re-typing).

Thanks
Paolo De Dionigi
Moderator of Zen Cart Italy

http://www.atfriends.net


Return to “Q&T 1.0.x Resolved - Archived”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest