[FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

User avatar
khan2002
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:13 pm

[FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby khan2002 » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:42 am

Hello

I upgraded to joomla 1.0.8. and erverything was fine, so i thouhght. Now i recognized, that the blog-content categoriy archive menu point doesen't work anymore. I got only the message, you're not authorized to see this content (i'm not sure if this is the right text in english - because my joomla runs in german frontend ;-) ). Ok, i logg in as admin and nothing changes - so who is allowed to see it, if not the admin? ;-)

but what can i do????
Last edited by stingrey on Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Admin auf joomla.at

User avatar
lavo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 8:19 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby lavo » Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:49 pm

I got the same problem with the same message and I can't figure it out how to solve the problem. I tried to create a new link, but with the same result.

I also missed the link to the gallery (gallery2) in the main menu, it stopped working, but that was easy to repair - I just created a new link to the main menu and deleted the old one.

User avatar
khan2002
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:13 pm

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby khan2002 » Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:41 pm

Hy

I've found a quick and very dirty  ;) solution:
I just cpoied the files of the 1.0.7. in the component/content/ directory and the archive works again - so i think this is really a core problem and not an installation problem from my side....
Admin auf joomla.at

User avatar
basic612
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:41 am

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby basic612 » Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:10 am

Hi, we've not looked too much into where this bug appeared from, but a quick fix for this in 1.0.8 that has worked on our site is:

edit /components/com_content/content.php

add the following code at line 727 after:

Code: Select all

   $check = ( $id ? $id : 0 );


add this:

Code: Select all

   $myCheck = $check;


change line 799 from:

Code: Select all

      $secCheck->load( $check );


to:

Code: Select all

      $secCheck->load( $myCheck );


after line 844:

Code: Select all

   $check = ( $id ? $id : 0 );


add this:

Code: Select all

   $myCheck = $check;


and change line 913 from:

Code: Select all

      $catCheck->load( $check );


to:

Code: Select all

      $catCheck->load( $myCheck );


alternatively just replace the file with the one attached to this post. [edit - deleted useless attachment, find patched file a bit further down :)]

:)
Last edited by basic612 on Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
"A lie can travel halfway around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes”, said Mark Twain. Modern communications help the lie travel even further, although Velcro having replaced lace-ups, the truth is not all that slow anymore in getting ready – mainly thanks to the internet.
Dr S Bleher

Zharvek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:52 am

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby Zharvek » Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:35 pm

I have the same problem, I have edited my file, and now I can get to the page... But when I choose another 'page' at the bottom because of Pagination, I get...

There are currently no Archived Entries for this Category, please come back later.

I know there are entries, because I wrote them all, and I have around 50 articles total.

This only happens when SEF is enabled though.

User avatar
lavo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 8:19 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby lavo » Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:30 pm

I change my content.php as you said and it works perfect.  :) . Thanks,  but I think your attached file is an "old" one without any changes.

User avatar
basic612
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:41 am

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby basic612 » Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:30 am

Zharvek wrote:I have the same problem, I have edited my file, and now I can get to the page... But when I choose another 'page' at the bottom because of Pagination, I get...

There are currently no Archived Entries for this Category, please come back later.

I know there are entries, because I wrote them all, and I have around 50 articles total.

This only happens when SEF is enabled though.


to fix the SEF / pagination problem, around line 1186 you will find this:

Code: Select all

            } else {
               $link = 'index.php?option=com_content&task='. $task .'&id='. $id .'&Itemid='. $Itemid;
            }


change to this:

Code: Select all

            } else {
               $link = 'index.php?option=com_content&task='. $task .'&id='. $id .'&Itemid='. $Itemid;
            }
            $link = sefRelToAbs ($link);


Now your pagination and SEF will work.

Alternatively - just use the attached file .. and yes, I'm making sure I attach a modified one this time! ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by basic612 on Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
"A lie can travel halfway around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes”, said Mark Twain. Modern communications help the lie travel even further, although Velcro having replaced lace-ups, the truth is not all that slow anymore in getting ready – mainly thanks to the internet.
Dr S Bleher

User avatar
silvianieto
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:31 pm
Location: Salamanca

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby silvianieto » Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:35 am

Thank you very much basic612, I've been reading the forum during 2 days and no solution was found, now my web works perfectly with your help :D, thanks!

Silvia.
Escribiremos nuevas reglas, esta es la primera de ellas: Está prohibido prohibir.

Zharvek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:52 am

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby Zharvek » Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:12 pm

Sorry guys, still no fix. I have applied the code patch, and even put your file over mine, no changes. Still get the same error, I now get more variables in the address bar...

http://www.archaicbinary.net/content/ar ... mitstart=3

instead of

http://www.archaicbinary.net/content/ar ... 2/2006/02/

But same error, I will play some more with the code...

Example:  http://www.archaicbinary.net/content/archivecategory/1/2/    choose February 2006 from the List and then choose antoher page at the bottom of the content that loads.

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby stingrey » Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:55 am

Fixed in SVN
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

User avatar
kachete
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:29 pm
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby kachete » Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:57 pm

Masters

Can yopu please show us where and how solve the issue to this problem

Please show us the ligth

Best Regards
No hay preguntas tontas solo tontos que no preguntan
There is no foolish questions there are only foolish that do not ask questions

mosey
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby mosey » Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:01 pm

Thanks :) The patched content.php worked wonders!
However the actual 'leading articles' etc. aren't displaying for me at present despite the settings being as should be.
Last edited by mosey on Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla site in development...
Meanwhile Zetahelp.net continues...

(Unavailable end of Sept/start of Oct)

User avatar
kachete
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:29 pm
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby kachete » Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:57 pm

Hi MOSEY

Can you please tell me how you achieve what you say here

Please
No hay preguntas tontas solo tontos que no preguntan
There is no foolish questions there are only foolish that do not ask questions

mosey
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby mosey » Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:27 pm

Hi Kachete,
I downloaded the content.php from the latest thread and uploaded it to the folder. I also tried using the CVS copy/SVN on JoomlaForge. HOpe this helps. :)
Mosey
Joomla site in development...
Meanwhile Zetahelp.net continues...

(Unavailable end of Sept/start of Oct)

User avatar
kachete
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:29 pm
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby kachete » Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:12 pm

I downloaded the file

Rename the one in my site

And dont work any i receive a RESTRICCTED ACCESS warning

Also see that it have 4 files in the SVN and in the original instaled file i only got 2

Please
No hay preguntas tontas solo tontos que no preguntan
There is no foolish questions there are only foolish that do not ask questions

mosey
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby mosey » Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:10 pm

I'm under the assumption that the one in the SVN (content.php - the latest revision) and the attachment is the post with

basic612 wrote:
Zharvek wrote:I have the same problem, I have edited my file, and now I can get to the page... But when I choose another 'page' at the bottom because of Pagination, I get...

There are currently no Archived Entries for this Category, please come back later.

I know there are entries, because I wrote them all, and I have around 50 articles total.

This only happens when SEF is enabled though.


to fix the SEF / pagination problem, around line 1186 you will find this:

Code: Select all

            } else {
               $link = 'index.php?option=com_content&task='. $task .'&id='. $id .'&Itemid='. $Itemid;
            }


change to this:

Code: Select all

            } else {
               $link = 'index.php?option=com_content&task='. $task .'&id='. $id .'&Itemid='. $Itemid;
            }
            $link = sefRelToAbs ($link);


Now your pagination and SEF will work.

Alternatively - just use the attached file .. and yes, I'm making sure I attach a modified one this time! ;)


I'm sorry to hear it's not working for you. This is the way I've done it and it may or may not apply to other people. Good luck!
Joomla site in development...
Meanwhile Zetahelp.net continues...

(Unavailable end of Sept/start of Oct)

yankashing36335
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:35 am

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby yankashing36335 » Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:26 pm

thanks for sharing the solution of the archive
the archive can work now
however, I have the same problem as Zharvek's
under sef, it didn't work for pagination
either use the second solution or not

after use the second solution
even the content that are not archive, the pagination can't work
could anyone help me? thanks a lot!
Last edited by yankashing36335 on Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sterlingpace
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 3:03 am

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby sterlingpace » Sun May 28, 2006 3:11 am

Hi
I tried changing the code as suggested by basic612, but that didn't seem to solve the problem for me.

I did what khan2002  suggested though and it worked.  I copied over the current content.php file with the content.php file from 1.0.7. into the component/content/  folder.  All is now wonderful so thanks khan2002.

I just thought I would share in case it helps someone else.

libin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:38 pm

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby libin » Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:44 pm

Hi, I tried both the ways still its not working. The public pages are not displayed to the public  :(

sterlingpace wrote:Hi
I tried changing the code as suggested by basic612, but that didn't seem to solve the problem for me.

I did what khan2002  suggested though and it worked.  I copied over the current content.php file with the content.php file from 1.0.7. into the component/content/  folder.  All is now wonderful so thanks khan2002.

I just thought I would share in case it helps someone else.


calvink
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:03 pm

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby calvink » Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:05 pm

libin wrote:Hi, I tried both the ways still its not working. The public pages are not displayed to the public  :(


check the system time of your server... if the time and date are behind the publishing date, this message will occur...

rgds

unsilentartradio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby unsilentartradio » Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:36 pm

Hello! I'm new on this forum! I just want to say that i did everything you recomment to do, editing the content.php file [didn't work], implementing your patch file [didn't work]. SO i just want to know what can i do more to solve my problem. When I press [2] page on archives, in every month just shows a page containing nothing than "You are not authorized to view this resource.".
You can check it out at http://www.unsilent-art.com [left menu below] on archives!
Can you anyone please try and see what can i do more to solve it!? Thanx!  :-[
Last edited by unsilentartradio on Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ2090
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:26 am
Location: England, UK

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby JJ2090 » Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:45 am

Hi,

The patch didn't work for me either.

Khan2002 mentioned that replacing the content.php with the one from version 1.0.7 worked, but where would I find that file to try it?

JJ

JJ2090
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 9:26 am
Location: England, UK

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby JJ2090 » Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:59 am

ok, its the next day and now it's working. Strange but excellent!!!

Thanks for making the patch available as I'm sure thats what did the trick.

I'm always amazed by the level of coding knowledge people like you have, thanks for sharing it  ;D

JJ

unsilentartradio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby unsilentartradio » Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:58 pm

JJ2090 wrote:ok, its the next day and now it's working. Strange but excellent!!!

Thanks for making the patch available as I'm sure thats what did the trick.

I'm always amazed by the level of coding knowledge people like you have, thanks for sharing it  ;D

JJ


Well guys my problem is still unsolved! Can anyone help me on this case! Pleaseeeeeee........... :P

I did everything that is previous posted and nothing worked!

unsilentartradio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby unsilentartradio » Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:08 pm

:'( Omg! I need help on this... 'cause is driving me nuts! I thought that this forums could help me on this issue... but... no, no one can solve or even reply my posts...  :( too bad for me! So let me post this last one and let's see if anyone could help me on this!

unsilentartradio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby unsilentartradio » Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:12 pm

It's not fixed for me...
I have to choose not to show the archive module instead until i have this proble solved
So can someone help me on this too?

Herb
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: [FIXED] content archive breaks after upgrading on 1.0.8

Postby Herb » Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:30 pm

I am having this problem in 1.1.0
any advice?


Return to “Q&T 1.0.x Resolved - Archived”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests