Page 2 of 4

Re: Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:21 am
by leolam
RobInk wrote: @ all others, can you please provide me with your webserver details. I need to know apache/mysql and most important php versions.
So it's important to verify what you are using.
please post a link..i am not going to post customer data online ;) and you pm box does not provide enough space for that.... :P

cheers
Leo

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:29 am
by Robin
Hi Leo, will send you a pm with private email. Thanks.

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:40 pm
by Kampp
Database Version:  4.0.27-standard-log 
PHP Version:  4.4.4 
Web Server:  Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) Sun-ONE-ASP/4.0.2 PHP/4.4.4 mod_throttle/3.1.2 FrontPage/5.0.2.2623 mod_psoft_traffic/0.1 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.6b 

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:00 pm
by internutdpl
I did a clean 1.0.11 install and am also having this same issue from the previous version 1.0.10.

My server Deets:

My PHP info is attached in .pdf form - PHP Version 4.3.11
MySQL - 4.1.21-

my .htaccess:

##  Can be commented out if causes errors, see notes above.
#Options FollowSymLinks
#
#mod_rewrite in use
#Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
#  Uncomment following line if your webserver's URL
#  is not directly related to physical file paths.
#  Update Your Joomla/MamboDirectory (just / for root)
RewriteBase /
########## Begin - Joomla! core SEF Section
############# Use this section if using ONLY Joomla! core SEF
## ALL (RewriteCond) lines in this section are only required if you actually
## have directories named 'content' or 'component' on your server
## If you do not have directories with these names, comment them out.
#
#RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
#RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
#RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^(/component/option,com) [NC,OR] ##optional - see notes##
#RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.htm|\.php|\.html|/[^.]*)$  [NC]
#RewriteRule ^(content/|component/) index.php
#
########## End - Joomla! core SEF Section
########## Begin - 3rd Party SEF Section
############# Use this section if you are using a 3rd party (Non Joomla! core) SEF extension - e.g. OpenSEF, 404_SEF, 404SEFx, SEF Advance, etc
#
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^(/component/option,com) [NC,OR] ##optional - see notes##
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.htm|\.php|\.html|/[^.]*)$  [NC]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule (.*) index.php
#
########## End - 3rd Party SEF Section

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:42 pm
by aliakbari
Here is the infomation you asked, Robink:

PHP 4.3.11, Apache 1.3.31 and mysql 4.0.16. What's your opinion?

Thanks,
Ali

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:07 pm
by POH
My  site is hosted with siteground

Database Version:  4.1.21-standard-log 
PHP Version:  5.0.5 
Web Server:  Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a PHP-CGI/0.1b 
WebServer to PHP interface:  cgi 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC 
User Agent:  Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) 

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:52 pm
by aliakbari
I just did a simple test and got an interesting result that may be useful.

I used Lynx Text Browser and entered my joomla based website. Then i logged in with my username and pass and it worked. "User menu" appeared and i successfully logged in. So the problem maybe is not something related to PHP version or something like that. I think it the problem rises from some conflicts between Joomla! and browsers (like IE and FF). (but lynx is the simplest browser I've ever seen for expample it works with Command Prompt)

Just give it a try and see the results.
Thanx,
Ali

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 8:55 am
by Kampp
In my mind it has always been a question of browser as I never got an error in FF but only in IE. I would think the hint is in joomla 1.0.7 as it was after this release the problems started?

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:17 am
by internutdpl
Apologies for dupe posting. Booze.  :P

Over time (6 mos.) and various versions (dev. on xampp/live), I have seen similar login problems with both IE and FF. c/ 1.0.10 had probs. thru  both user agents. The back-end ALWAYS works without fail (at least pour moi). !?!?!?!?!

But, now after a clean 1.0.11 install, IE seems to work flawlessly (with and without .www-prefix), but FF 1.5.07, works improperly in the previously noted manner via this thread.

:'(

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:54 am
by leolam
System Information (rochen)
PHP built On: Linux newport.directrouter.com 2.6.9-34.0.2.ELsmp #1 SMP Fri Jul 7 19:52:49 CDT 2006 i686
Database Version: 4.1.21-standard
PHP Version: 4.4.4
Web Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.4.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
WebServer to PHP interface: apache

----------------------------------------
System Information (lunar)
PHP built On: Linux izar.lunarpages.com 2.6.9-42.0.2.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed Aug 23 00:17:26 CDT 2006 i686
Database Version: 4.1.19-standard
PHP Version: 4.4.4
Web Server: Apache Web Server
WebServer to PHP interface: cgi

Leo

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 12:24 pm
by ford
Experiencing the bug. I'm running PHP 4.4.4 and MySQL 4.0.24 on a Debian box (Linux srv19 2.6.12.6-vs2.0) My Joomla is an update 1.0.11, not a fresh 1.0.11. I have CB 1.0 installed and using the CB login module.

!! Problem resolves when clicking "Remember me" upon first attempt at login !! (but hardly an acceptable solution)

www/no www in mos_config_livesite has been checked.
Time offset / Server offset has been checked.

Interesting observation : I use FireFox primarily. When FireFox is started, login issue arises. When logged in after 2nd attempt, subsequent log out and log in succeeds if the browser remains open. BUT : when FireFox is shut down and started again, problem comes back.

Just saw something else whilst snooping around in the backend of Joomla:

1) Session Directory /tmp/ is UNWRITEABLE
2) SAFE MODE is ON.

Ford

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 8:02 pm
by aliakbari
[quote="ford"]Problem resolves when clicking "Remember me" upon first attempt at login !! (but hardly an acceptable solution)[/quote]
God bless you Ford,
Nice shot. It worked for me. Now I can login and user menu appears and everything works well just by checking REMEMBER ME box.

Thanks man,
Ali

Re: Login form problem

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:00 am
by littlejus
RobInk wrote: @ all others, can you please provide me with your webserver details. I need to know apache/mysql and most important php versions.
littlejus is running Joomla on:
  • Windows 2000
  • IIS (with FastCGI)
  • PHP Version 5.1.4
  • MySQL version 5.0

Re: Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:29 am
by legitimus
windward wrote: Well, I retreat from my previous (as in a hour ago) statement that "it's fixed" with the redirect in the login module.....it's doing this again.

My setup is not overly complicated and only a week old.  I did 1.10 fresh and then did the security upgrade a couple days ago. All the development I've been doing kept me busy, and it's only in the last day that I've been testing functions, etc.

Any ideas or help are really appreciated.  I'm assuming that a fresh install isn't really the answer.  HELP !!
So at fisrt sorry for my bad english.

i solved the problem with this way :

-always eliminate the www prefix

to do this, add this code to you .htaccess :

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.+)$
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]


Hope this will help you

p.s : of course in configuration.php, $mosConfig_live_site is 'http://domainname.com'

Regards

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:29 am
by jtylek
I am experiencing the same problem. I checked all forums everywhere for a fix, played with lowering security settings - it has no effect. The problem again is:
  • When login from the front end it requires to login and then login again
  • Remember me box has no effect
  • After login in the first time the back end shows that the user logged in
  • Something is being processed because when changing redirection in login module it tries to redirect but asks for login again
  • It happens always when the browser is restarted.
  • I tested in on Linux server and Windows with version 4.X and 5.X of PHP.
  • I tested it on several client computers.
  • Changingto show login/logout greeting has no effect.
My server info:
PHP built On:  Windows NT HSPCMS 5.0 build 2195 
Database Version:  4.0.17-nt 
PHP Version:  5.1.4 
Web Server:  Microsoft-IIS/5.0 
WebServer to PHP interface:  cgi-fcgi 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC 
User Agent:  Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 4.0) 

Re: Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:43 am
by internutdpl
legitimus wrote:
windward wrote:
-always eliminate the www prefix

to do this, add this code to you .htaccess :

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.+)$
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]

Thanks for the post for tweaking the .htaccess to always eliminate the www prefix. But, I had to change the configuration.php to add the www to the livesite because without it, I was receiving javascirpt "access denied" with TinyMCE and JCE when embedding content via the html button. Grrr.  Any attempts to add custom html markup fails (at least for me) (e.g. allvideo) This didn't happen before. Adding the prefix eliminated these problems (new for 1.0.11 for me).

Do you have the code to do the opposite, to always add the www prefix? I'd be interested to see if this workaround fixes the problem. This is what I was hoping to do before seeking help, but configuring the .htaccess made my eyes go crossed.

Cheers,
Dave

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:14 am
by legitimus
Forcing the www :

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}/$1 [R=301,L]

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:40 pm
by joonoob
More Server Details:

Server: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix)
mod_throttle/3.1.2
DAV/1.0.3
mod_fastcgi/2.4.2
mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a
PHP/4.4.2
mod_ssl/2.8.22
OpenSSL/0.9.7e
MySQL Version 4.1

Using the standard joomla core login module.  The first user account I set up worked until I foolishly commented out the remember me code in the module while experimenting.  No frontend login has worked since, even after replacing the module with the original, setting up a new user and checking remember me on the very first login for that user.

Also, have corrected the session->Guest bugs in Joomla.php to see if that played a role.  No effect. 

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:47 pm
by aliakbari
For me modifing htaccess for eliminating WWW does not work.  :-\

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:02 pm
by internutdpl
legitimus wrote: Forcing the www :

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}/$1 [R=301,L]
Setting the configuration.php file WITH the www prefix for the livesite and forcing the www in the .htaccess seems to be working for me (so far). Legitimus, you are a gentleman and a scholar! Yay! Thanks a lot!

My new .htaccess:

########## Begin - 3rd Party SEF Section
############# Use this section if you are using a 3rd party (Non Joomla! core) SEF extension - e.g. OpenSEF, 404_SEF, 404SEFx, SEF Advance, etc
#rewrite update
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www.
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}/$1 [R=301,L]

#end rewrite update
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^(/component/option,com) [NC,OR] ##optional - see notes##
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.htm|\.php|\.html|/[^.]*)$  [NC]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
#RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.(.+)$
#RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]
RewriteRule (.*) index.php
#
########## End - 3rd Party SEF Section

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:29 pm
by jruthe
Some of my AOL users cannot login from the frontend, but it shows their are logged on in the backend. I changed the secruity setting to 1 the lowest and still the same problem. All my other users do not have this problem. They are using the standard default login module that came with Joomla 1.0.11 version. I do not have Community Builder installed on the site. I also have www for the live site in the config file.

My information:
PHP built On:  Linux linhostjava12.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net 2.4.21-27.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed Dec 1 21:59:02 EST 2004 i686
Database Version: 4.0.27-max-log
PHP Version: 4.3.11
Web Server: Apache
WebServer to PHP interface: cgi-fcgi
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC

Relevant PHP Settings: 
Joomla! Register Globals Emulation: OFF
Register Globals: OFF
Magic Quotes: ON
Safe Mode: OFF
File Uploads: ON
Session auto start: OFF
Session save path: /tmp
Short Open Tags: ON
Output Buffering: OFF
Open basedir: none
Display Errors: ON
XML enabled: Yes
Zlib enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: none

Any help solving this issue would be appreciated.

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:17 pm
by davidgal
Hi,

Can someone who is able to replicate this please try to delete cookies and then see if the problem continues.

Thanks,

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:30 am
by aliakbari
I did delete not only cookies but also all the chached files and every single saved information in forms. The problem still exists...

Thanks,
Ali

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:11 am
by joonoob
ditto.  no effect.

Thanks for your efforts.

Jeff

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:16 pm
by lowens
I started having this problem after I upgraded to 1.0.11 (from 1.0.10)

- Remember me doesn't make it work
- I use http://www.mysite everywhere not http://mysite
- All users (admin and others) have the same problem
- Doesn't work first time or any subsequent attempts.

I'm using mosLock (by Phil Taylor)

- Lee

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:39 pm
by lowens
I fixed the problem I was having simply by replacing the login module from a download of the complete copy of 1.0.11...

- Lee

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 2:06 pm
by joonoob
This has worked for me too!

Still not convinced because the login worked initially the first time I tried it and then stopped working.

I'll give it a little time and post results.

Jeff

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:53 pm
by beano
Front End LogIn problem

On my small web site I'm getting users registering, then emailing to say they cannot log in.
Not a great first impression.

Has anyone checked out this thread as a possible cure? http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,92425.0.html

(Credit to Phil Taylor for spotting it!)

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:37 pm
by ihadmeavision
I have Joomla 1.0.11 - IIS 6 - PHP 5.1.6 - MySQL 5.0.22.
There seems to be two problems here and I had one of them and a friend gave me a "not bad" solution so I'll post it here.
Problem 1. Something about the login form dissappearing, sorry can't help with that.
Problem 2 (I think some can be helped). If someone logs in using h?tp://www.xxxxx.com it doesn't work, but if accessing the login form from h?tp://xxxxx.com it works. As most of you know, it depends on the live site config settings. What people are trying to do is redirect to the live site address so this problem doesn't occur. While there are better solutions this works for me. Stick the following in your index.php file and you should be ok.

Added code goes below the first line -->>>>>>/**
* @version .......

****That's the main index.php file and not the one in your template folder.
****I've placed a question mark instead of a "t" in http so that it wouldn't link to a porn site somewhere.
This should be ok for most visitors and what it seems to do is remove the www from the url people enter. It's not the best solution but until the developers find one or allow more than one "live site" it's good enough for me. This makes people go to the live site in configuration.php and people are able to login.

I'm a total newbie so please don't ask me PHP related questions as I won't be able to answer them. I'm super happy with Joomla but this bug needs to be fixed. Can anyone tell me if 1.5 fixes this? Ciao. ::I::

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.9>] Login form problem

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:49 pm
by TheWagner
I can't emphasize how devastating this problem has been to my site. I' tried all of the proposed options on this thread to no avail.
Does anyone know when or if the problem will be fixed?