Page 1 of 1

[MEDIUM:DUPLICATE:1.0.11] Login problem in frontend

Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:19 am
by aliakbari
The Problem is: Entering my username and password I don't get user menu although i appear online in Who's Online module.

Well I installed a fresh copy of Joomla 1.0.9 on my PC (localhost) and it has NO problem with logging in. I also updated it to Joomla 1.0.10 and still it works fine.
I have a website that is Joomla based. That is 1.0.10 too. (So as it is obvious I have 2 Joomlas - One is installed on my pc (localhost) and another is hosted in internet)  You see? I CAN login in my localhost Joomla but I can't login in my website through the same browser. So the problem should not be about cookies although I make my browser to accept all cookies but is still does not work. The oddest thing is: other users of my website on other computers has no problem with Login module. So it seems the problem is not about Joomla module.
So what is the problem from?  :o Someone help me because I've got into paradox.

Also here I have noticed somethings that can be some kind of clue: (Crossed out words are not important anymore)

First: I entered both http://www.domain.com and domain.com as redirect URL in Login module. Still it does not work. And the note is here that when I try to login in my live site as domain.com, the "redirect URL" that I entered in Login module DOES NOT work at all but with www prefix it redirects me to the given URL properly. However the login problem still exists and user menu does not appear.

Second: After entering username and password, "Who's Online" module adds one to GUESTS not MEMBERS. So as far as i can see it considers me as a guest not a member.

Third: Both IE and FireFox act the same and both of them occurs the same problems I described above.

To show you what I exactly mean I created a Registered user as "test" with the password "123456". I would be glad if you login both into http://javaforce.com and http://WWW.javaforce.com and see the results. I left the redirect URL blank in login module configurations.

Thanks for your consideration.
Ali

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:44 am
by infograf768
I can login whatever the url.
I can't check the Who's online module as it does not show.

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 am
by toubkal
I can login on both, no problems.

To ensure correct operation ( especially with wysiwyg editors ) you should always access the site with the exact same url as specified in your configuration.php. i.e. if your url states http://www.domainname, then you should access the site with the http://www.domainname.

generally, if a site has the url specified with www. and you access it without, the site frontend will appear to work ok but not all functions work correctly.

to help troubleshoot, I would access the site using a different browser on your PC to see how that works.

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:25 pm
by aliakbari
Thanks for testing the website.
This was another issue about htaccess file that I solved. So to conduct my purpose better to you, I modified my first post and crossed a line on the paragraphs that are already solved and they're not important anymore. Could you please read the remaining paragraphs in my first post and diagnose this bug? (scroll up to read the first post)
I think some other users have the same problem as me.

take a look at where some users complain about this bug --> http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,67290.0.html and read my last post there too.

Thanx

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:21 am
by internutdpl
I've been frustrated and seeking a solution for months for this problem, I decided to do a clean install with .11.

I was in happy happy, joy joy land for a few hours. Then the nasty login problem has returned. I wanted to vomit.  >:(

I'll buy a beer / send $5 bucks (via paypal) to the person who solves this problem before Sept. 30.

- David 
david ah-t dlundberg d.0t c0m

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:33 am
by internutdpl
toubkal wrote: I can login on both, no problems.

To ensure correct operation ( especially with wysiwyg editors ) you should always access the site with the exact same url as specified in your configuration.php. i.e. if your url states http://www.domainname, then you should access the site with the http://www.domainname.

generally, if a site has the url specified with www. and you access it without, the site frontend will appear to work ok but not all functions work correctly.

to help troubleshoot, I would access the site using a different browser on your PC to see how that works.
You are right, it will show the user menu depending on how you have it configured in configuration.php. In FF, if I try to access the site without the www; I don't see the user menu. If I add it the www prefix, voila.

But this is a serious usability problem as my users will expect to be able to access the site with or without the www.

Is there some kind of .htaccess workaround so that e.g. somesite.com automatically gets changed to http://www.somesite.com.

- Dave

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 3:28 am
by aliakbari
Good for you that your website works with one of www-prefixed or non-prefixed. Mine does not work in either situations.
Anyway you can redirect your URL to whatever URL you want by this rule in you .htaccess file:

Rewriting the URL


    * Unlike Redirect, the client is unaware of any server-side rewriting of the URL.
    * Rewrite rules are applied repeatedly to the URL to change it into another URL.
    * Example:

          RewriteEngine on
          RewriteBase /psych

          RewriteRule test/printenv(.*) cgi-bin/printenv$1

    * The bracket-dot-star-bracket has special meaning: it is a regular expression
For further information visit: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/mod/mo ... ewriterule
Also a similar topic is under discussion in: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php?topic=67290

Cheers,
Ali

Re: Login problem in frontend

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:11 pm
by Robin
Hi All,

Please read my note here; http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg479924

Can everyone please post there webserver details? Thanks.

Re: [MEDIUM:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] Login problem in frontend

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:02 pm
by Robin
There is a proposed fox for this issue here http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,106665.0.html

Going to close this report as DUPLICATE and link it to the other similar report(s). Moving to Resolved

Re: [MEDIUM:DUPLICATE:1.0.11] Login problem in frontend

Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:22 pm
by yanle
I had the same problem. I solved by:
create a sub folder ie joomla in your hosting space
redirect http://www.yourdomain.com to http://www.yourdomain.com/joomla
So the windows will not confuse with the cookies

Here's a doozy

Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 2:23 pm
by pmisner
I have a VM on my computer. Can't login through the front end on the guest machine, but on the host machine, it works fine. I've done everything, upgraded to 1.0.2, changed the URL information in the config file. I could really use some help on this one. It's for my church website, and I recommended Joomla.

Paul Misner
paul@paulmisner.com
http://www.smartchive.com